Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godin's most important book...thus far
Others have their own reasons for praising this book. Here are five of mine. First, this is by far Godin's most personal book in which he reveals more of his emotions and "soul" (for lack of a better term) than he has in any of his previous books. Also, from the beginning, he establishes a direct and personal rapport with his reader. I felt that he had written this book...
Published on Jan. 26 2010 by Robert Morris

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars would have made a great article
he has one idea, it would have made a great article, but it is not worked through enough to be a book. It needs a serious editor. It repeats and repeats and repeats the same information, there is no real research.

no worth the money, just get a used copy, or a 0.99$ ebook copy.
Published 5 months ago by Michele


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godin's most important book...thus far, Jan. 26 2010
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
Others have their own reasons for praising this book. Here are five of mine. First, this is by far Godin's most personal book in which he reveals more of his emotions and "soul" (for lack of a better term) than he has in any of his previous books. Also, from the beginning, he establishes a direct and personal rapport with his reader. I felt that he had written this book specifically for me. Although he and I have never met, I felt as if he were speaking to me and discussing ideas with me as if we were engaged in a face-to-face conversation.

Moreover, unlike in most of his previous books, Godin does not climb up into a pulpit and launch a tirade, engaging his audience with a confrontational tone and Old Testament vehemence. He obviously cares deeply about the thoughts and feelings he shares but is at all times respectful of his reader. He repeatedly explains that everyone has several choices and urges his reader to make those only choices that are in her or his long-term best interest.

In addition, meanwhile, Godin creates a multi-dimensional context, a frame-of-reference, in which to anchor his insights and recommendations throughout the narrative. He skillfully uses what I describe as a bi-polar strategy: passively but alertly observing what is happening (and not happening) in order to recognize and understand the ever-changing realities of the world that we share and then actively challenging whatever demeans and diminishes anyone's dignity. Finally, Godin utilizes the manifesto genre as a means by which to celebrate humanity at its best, not as an ideal beyond human fulfillment but as an attainable destination if (HUGE "if") vision, faith, courage, integrity, and commitment are sufficient to the formidable challenges that await each pilgrim.

Near the downtown area here in Dallas, we have a Farmers Market at which some merchants offer complimentary slices of fresh fruit as samples. In that spirit, I now provide three brief excerpts from Godin's book.

On becoming indispensable to customers: "Here's the win (actually, there are two).

"If you want customers to flock to you, it's tempting to race to the bottom of the price chart. There's not a lot of room for profit there, though...In a world that relentlessly races to the bottom, you lose if you also race to the bottom. The only way to win is to race to the top. When your organization becomes more human, more remarkable, faster on its feet, and more likely to connect directly with customers, it becomes indispensable....

"Second, the people that work for you, the ones you freed to be artists [i.e. creators of unique, compelling, and substantial value], will rise to a level you can't even imagine. When people realize that they are not a cog in a machine, an easily replaceable commodity, they take the challenge and grow. They produce more than you pay them to, because you are paying them with something worth more than money....

"As a result of these priceless gifts, expect that the linchpins on your staff won't abuse their power. In fact, they'll work harder, stay longer, and produce more than you pay them to. Because everyone is a person, and people crave connection and respect." (Pages 35-36)

On résumés: "If you don't have a résumé, what do you have? How about three extraordinary letters of recommendation from people the employer knows or respects? Or a sophisticated project an employer can see or touch?
Or a reputation that precedes you? Or a blog that is so compelling and insightful that they have no choice but to follow up? Some say, `Well, that's fine, but I don't have those.' Yeah, that's my point. If you don't have these things, what leads you to believe that you are remarkable, amazing, or just plain spectacular? It sounds to me like if you don't have more than a résumé, you've been brainwashed into compliance. Great jobs, world-class jobs, jobs people kill for - those jobs don't get filled by people e-mailing in résumés." (Page 73)

On the power of being genuine and transparent: "Virtually all of us make our living engaging directly with other people. When the interactions are genuine and transparent, they usually work. When they are artificial or manipulative, they fail.

"The linchin is coming from a posture of generosity; she's there to give a gift [no-strings support of your efforts to succeed]. If that's your intent, the words almost don't matter. What we'll perceive are your wishes, not the script.

"This is why telemarketing has such a ridiculously low conversion rate. Why corporate blogs are so lame. Why frontline workers in the service business have such stress. We can sense it when you read the script because we're so good at finding the honest signals." (Page 214)

For various reasons previously indicated, I hold this book in very high regard and conclude my review of it with one more observation: The person whom Godin characterizes as "indispensable" is defined by what is indispensable to that person. It could well be, for example, a sincere desire to be of service to others. Or it could well be a sincere desire to offer unconditional "gifts" of trust, faith, respect, and candor. Those whom Godin characterizes as "artists" possess the vision, faith, courage, integrity, and commitment needed to create -- in collaboration with others -- a "post-commercial world that feeds us, enriches us, and gives us the stability we've been seeking for so long." That said, it would be a serious mistake to underestimate or ignore the importance of self-interests. Those who create the world to which Godin refers also feed and enrich themselves as well as those whom they serve and with whom they share a community of faith. Only then can they obtain for themselves as well as others the stability they have been seeking for so long. That should be our vision and Godin challenges us to fulfill it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want To Ensure You Can Always Find Work?, Sept. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
Read this book. A college or university education isn't enough anymore in the new economy. You need to stand out, be indispensable. This book breaks it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Look at Changing Your Approach to Work, March 25 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
"I must work the works of Him who sent Me while it is day; the night is coming when no one can work." -- John 9:4 (NKJV)

Seth Godin painstakingly explains in Linchpin how the world of work has shifted so that "just doing your job" is a recipe for being dead while you still live . . . and having lots of job insecurity. His solution is for you to care about the results of your work, to reach out to others with your genuine emotions, and to innovate in ways that create something others appreciate . . . whether or not it has immediate economic value. Basically, he's suggesting you become a human being rather than a cog in a bureaucracy or complex process. He calls this being an artist.

I found this aspect of the book to be its main strength: A lot of people don't realize that they need to be innovating in ways that delight other people . . . rather than just pretending they are still in high school and trying to get along by fitting in.

I dislike mechanical metaphors as a way to encourage people to be less machine-like. Linchpin as a metaphor didn't work that well for me. His point is that since everyone else is just going through the motions of following orders, your humanity in seeking to make things better will make you indispensable. It's nice to think that's true, but the book doesn't contain any evidence beyond some anecdotes . . . many of which are about people I've never heard of or read about.

The writing style suggests that a lot of the book is mostly a cut-and-paste job from blogs. If that's the kind of choppy writing that appeals to you, you'll like this book better than I did. I thought it could have used a good editor. Why? You have to read a long time before he gets around to defining a lot of his concepts. In the meantime, you are wondering what he's trying to tell you.

A solution for this lack of orderly development of his ideas is to start with the drawing on page 230 and go on to read the summary that follows. Then, go back and read the book from front to back. It will make a lot more sense that way.

Despite the book's weaknesses, if you haven't decided to make the world a better place by being a caring innovator, you need this book. Get a copy and read it . . . and keep reading it until the point sinks in. I think it eventually will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars would have made a great article, July 7 2014
By 
Michele "in Montreal" (Montreal Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
he has one idea, it would have made a great article, but it is not worked through enough to be a book. It needs a serious editor. It repeats and repeats and repeats the same information, there is no real research.

no worth the money, just get a used copy, or a 0.99$ ebook copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Fit In AND Stand Out - Another Great Godin Read, July 4 2014
By 
I've had this book for awhile but I've read so many other Seth Godin books I didn't feel like reading this one until recently ... I should have read it sooner. This is a very inspiring and practical book for employees and entrepreneurs. If you want a raise, you want to grow your business or you want to have a greater impact on others - this book is for you.

He talks about the hierarchy of value. It's very thought provoking for you to consider where you fall in that and what you can do to make sure you're always moving up in the hierarchy because the work gets easier and the pay gets higher (the financial and emotional rewards of what you'll do).

And it was an excellent reminder to SHIP. Picasso painted many paintings ... you can probably only name 3. Picasso shipped.
The habit of producing to ship is huge. More than anything else it leads to success. It's easy to scare yourself out of shipping because you're not ready though. Saturday Night Live goes on each week whether they are ready or not. This section of the book was excellent for anyone that has taken their foot off the gas pedal in their job. He also explores the reasons we do this (fear!) and why it's happening.

Yesterday's remarkable is today's really good and tomorrow's mediocre.
No good ideas? Ok tell me your bad ones. You don't need more genius. You need less resistance.
You can't fit in AND stand out.
There were lots of great nuggets in this book.

If you've never read anything from Seth Godin this is a GREAT place to start. If it was my first time reading his books I probably would have given it a 5 but because I've read so many others by him (The Dip is probably my favourite) his message was very similar and therefore has a slightly reduced impact for me. If you've also read a lot of his books you'll find this one is rather lengthy in comparison and well worth the read. It really feels personal ... there's more Godin in this book.

If you're feeling bored or uninspired but what you're doing - read this book. If you feel like you should be doing more in your life and your career read this book. You'll be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, Are You Indespensible?, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If not, then you will be replaced by someone who goes the extra mile to be! A Linchpin. Someone who holds it ALL together. Whether it be an employee or a self made person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read!, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an awesome book! I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone :) Very informative and written very well. I love Seth Godin :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be different, be valueable - without quitting your job, Nov. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
This book gives an interesting perspective on our current economic structure and does a great job and pointing the reader in many different directions. It promotes independent thinking, tackles how to redefine yourself from a "cog" in the system, and offers insights on how to build something completely separate from what you are now doing.
This book is a great read for anyone feeling stuck or looking for new ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seth Godin's Best, Aug. 19 2013
By 
John Miewald (Carlsbad, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is really a great book with important ideas for anyone in the working world. It is a short read. Perfect for new graduates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thin Gruel, March 14 2010
By 
Paul P. Alisauskas (Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? (Hardcover)
There are some awfully forgiving reviewers who've commented on this book before me. I won't be. In fact, this book is SO bad, it's the first time I've been driven, perhaps from a spirit of public service, to write a review of ANY work I've purchased from Amazon (and that number is in the hundreds).

From the old saw about fat books and thin books, this one, thin already, has about a page worth of (questionably) original thought vying to be noticed. If you've read the reviews above, you've already read all you have to. (Personally, I think he lifted the conceptual premise of this book from a small section of Thomas Stewart's Intellectual Capital and then riffed on the concept for a couple of hundred pages.)

The author notes in the book that this is his twelfth effort since 1999. Something about the tone of this book suggests to me he's travelling in a well broken-in saddle. However, you'll perhaps derive some unintended enjoyment from his half-baked theories on economics, social organization, politics and (don't miss it) neurophysiology. Just don't pretend there's any serious scholarship here. (Oh, and careful your "lizard brain" doesn't eat your homework.)

Want some advice as to how to actually BECOME a so-called "linchpin"? You'll find him quoting from a plethora of sources, but not a single original idea on the "how?".

The only possible utility of this book for me, was to cross off the list of credible endorsers, the people who gushed eloquently about its greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linchpin: Are You Indispensable?
Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? by Seth Godin (Hardcover - Jan. 26 2010)
CDN$ 32.50 CDN$ 20.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews