Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guidebook for Gardeners
I've been puttering around with my vegetable garden for four or five years now, picking up pieces of advice from books, radio programs, the web, etc. but this is the first source I've come across with such simple, easy to use tips from a Canadian perspective. Want to know what zone you live in? What's the best way to improve your soil? What veggies will grow best and how...
Published on May 26 2009 by Brad Saunders

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic.
I found the content of this book to be pretty sparse, and it's strictly for in-ground gardening. It is definitely not an all-inclusive guide for a beginning gardener, but then there's not much information for a moderate level gardener either. Most of the vegetables have information limited to two pages, and some of the selections are downright esoteric. I have never...
Published 15 months ago by A. Radcliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guidebook for Gardeners, May 26 2009
By 
Brad Saunders (Waterloo, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
I've been puttering around with my vegetable garden for four or five years now, picking up pieces of advice from books, radio programs, the web, etc. but this is the first source I've come across with such simple, easy to use tips from a Canadian perspective. Want to know what zone you live in? What's the best way to improve your soil? What veggies will grow best and how should I space them in a small garden plot? All these questions and more will be answered by author Doug Green.

Another significant feature is the When To Plant, Where To Plant, and How To Plant sections for everything from Asparagus to Watermelon. Care & Maintainance and Additional Information sections that round out the individual vegetable breakdowns are helpful to new and experienced gardeners alike.

An overall useful, educational, and fun read. Green is a serious gardener but doesn't take himself overly seriously and his primary piece of advice for us novice gardeners is have fun. I like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of information in this book!, Jan. 11 2011
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
My wife enjoys gardening so I gave her this little gem for Christmas. After reading it she told me that even though she has been gardening for many years she was still able to learn a number of valuable pieces of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So great for Canadian gardeners - esp first-timers!, July 10 2011
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
I decided to have a vegetable garden for the first time this year. I got introduced to gardening as a child with my grandparents and parents, but lived in cities during and after university. So, started flower/plant gardening 3 years ago. This was my first foray into veggies. So I got about 4 books to help me and combined that with my grandmother's tutoring and mother's help.

This book was terrific for many reasons.
- Easy to read
- Laid out super well by vegetable with detail for each vegetable and with great photos
- Actual advice and instructions that spoke about what was easy to grow, intermediate, and hard

And it spoke to Canadian climates, which is so helpful as the season is so short here, esp if you don't have a greenhouse to start seedlings in. I started with small plants bought at the nursery and even at Canadian Tire and did just fine. I ended up with an 8 by 9 foot garden this year, enclosed with a wood and chicken-wire fence. Have growing 4 types of lettuces (great advice about how to pick it to keep it growing longer), cucumbers, 4 different kinds of tomatoes, 2 different types of onions, zucchini. The only 2 I have which are not doing as well are spinach and Japanese eggplant - but the book warned these could be tricky. Also have a container full of herbs which I use daily.

Great advice about type of soil to use - which makes a huge difference. How to plant flowers in garden and which kind to help with pest control. And innumerable pieces of advice I've been using. Would totally recommend this for the beginner gardeners, but even for the intermediate, as there's some great tips in here. And soft cover makes it easy to read, use, and highlight within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic., May 22 2013
By 
A. Radcliffe (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
I found the content of this book to be pretty sparse, and it's strictly for in-ground gardening. It is definitely not an all-inclusive guide for a beginning gardener, but then there's not much information for a moderate level gardener either. Most of the vegetables have information limited to two pages, and some of the selections are downright esoteric. I have never even heard of kohlrabi much less seen it in the grocery store or in the garden center. It was nice to have some of the region-specific information without having to piece it all together, but Canada's tendency towards microclimates still makes it a bit of a crapshoot. The thing that I really wish had been included was some troubleshooting. There is a small amount of information on ailments of your garden plants, but not a great deal, and not for every plant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patio Garden Book Review:, March 7 2011
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
If you have a patio garden, let's be honest, you need advice. Even the seasoned patio garden expert can benefit from another point of view. The greatest source of knowledge comes from the experience of other patio garden experts. They have been there before. Take advantage of their years of knowledge and learn from there mistakes.

One reliable source is Douglas Green and his book " Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening ". He promotes " fun " as a garden lifestyle, and uses a simple, common sense approach. Let's take a look at some of the categories that are covered in the book by Douglas Green in " Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening ".

Grow Herbs And Vegetables In Less Space

Have you ever asked yourself: What can I grow in a container? Well, Douglas Green answers: " Anything you want. In fact, there is no reason why you can't have your entire garden in containers ". This opens the possibility for small space solutions, like balcony or patio gardens. Douglas Green goes on to describe other space saving garden solutions like: multiple cropping, underplant, and intercropping.

Ensure Your Food Is Safe From Pesticides

As simple as it sounds people still put poison on their patio garden vegetables, and then eat them. Douglas Green is screaming a warning here. " Please read the label on any pest control product ". He then goes on to give examples in " Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening " of how people ignore these warnings, and what the results could be.

Save Money By Growing Your Own Vegetables

Everyone knows you can save money by growing your own patio garden vegetables. The reason they don't do it is because of all the hard work. On top of that there's no guarantee of a healthy or good tasting crop. That's why it's essential to aquire knowledge from experienced gardeners like Douglas Green. The book " Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardeing " gives you common sense solutions to having a productive patio garden. Have patience and learn your craft, and then you'll see great results. Don't forget that it has to be " fun " to be productive.

I found the book " Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening " by Douglas Green very informative, light-hearted, and inspirational. There is also a complete patio garden vegetable guide that covers amazing growing and maintanance tips for 37 different patio garden vegetables.

To get more gardening information go to garycanie.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have a focused, Canadian guide, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Canada is a big country with very many different climatic regions, from severe cold to tropical paradise. The Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening is a very handy book written specifically for Canadians and answering many questions that some gardeners in this country may not be able to find without some digging.

The book is easy to read, covers many of the plants you might want to try and offers many tips that will help gardeners get the most out of their plot of land, whether it's in Fort McMurray or Windsor.

Only thing that would be better than the Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening would be one focused specifically on southern Ontario, but that would be a bit too much to ask!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Great book for Canadian gardeners wanting to grow their own vegs. Great advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have to say I love this book as well, July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 10 year old Granddaughter who loves to garden. I have to say I love this book as well. Covers your basic vegetables etc. with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book on how to successfully grow our own vegetables!, June 13 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Lots of great info on methods to keep your soil healthy over the years. Healthy soil = great harvest. Each vegetables gets 2 pages of information on them(4 pages for tomatoes). We are told, for each vegetables, when to plant, how to plant, how to feed and how to care for them. And also, which are good options to start inside the house and transplanted outside at the end of may. Really nice. There is also a section on herbs.

Yes, the author included kohlrabi in the vegetable section, but that's because they do grow nicely in Canada! And here in Québec, we see them alot now for sale in public markets, as they catch people's eyes. Really great to know we can actually grow them easily in our own garden!

There is also information on how to maximize your garden space, like growing cucumbers on stakes while putting salads under them. Or growing bush beans under tomatoes plant, etc. I only wish the section on controlling insects organically would have been bigger.

All in all, this book is an awesome resource for us Canadian home garderners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good info, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Lots of details. I found the tips very good. I have never done a garden before and I got some good advise here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening
Guide To Canadian Vegetable Gardening by DOUG GREEN (Paperback - April 1 2009)
CDN$ 20.95 CDN$ 15.12
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews