Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you like to read interviews...
What is this book?
Jack D. Schwager interviewed some of the best traders in 1992 and compiled edited transcripts in this compelling book.
---------------------------
Who is interviewed?
From the currency market: Bill Lipschutz .
In Futures: Randy McKay, William Eckhardt, The Turtles, Monroe Trout and Al Weiss.
Various market times and fund...
Published on March 6 2004 by ReedFloren.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars General insights into successful traders/investors...
Through a series of interviews, Jack Schwager introduces the readers to traders he deems to be Market Wizards. He talks to people trading in different markets, employing different methodologies, and exhibiting different strengths and weaknesses. In spite of the differences, Schwager identifies some commonalities. Schwager sums up the book by offering his takeaways for...
Published on July 3 2002 by G. Shiau


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you like to read interviews..., March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
What is this book?
Jack D. Schwager interviewed some of the best traders in 1992 and compiled edited transcripts in this compelling book.
---------------------------
Who is interviewed?
From the currency market: Bill Lipschutz .
In Futures: Randy McKay, William Eckhardt, The Turtles, Monroe Trout and Al Weiss.
Various market times and fund managers: Stanley Druckenmiller, Richard Driehaus, Gil Blake and Victor Sperandeo.
Traders who play several markets: Tom Basso and Linda Bradford Raschke
"The Money Machines" such as: CRT (Chicago Research and Trading), Mark Ritchie, Joe Ritchie, Blair Hull and Jeff Yass.
Psyschology: Zen and the art of trading (person didn't want his name mentioned), Charles Faulkner, Robert Krausz.
---------------------------
I didn't recognize many of those names, probably because of these reasons:
* The book was written in 1992.
* I'm not into really into trading.
---------------------------
Nevertheless I think the book is a great learning experience. You won't learn how to trade from this book but it gives you insight into the trader's psyche. I like learning about people who have been successful, (think Leader's & Success page, of IBD) since I feel it motivates me to learn more and work harder towards reaching my goals.
My favorite chapter in this book is entitled "Closing Bell" and it is a recap of all lots of trading advice mentioned over and over by these trading experts. I feel reviewing this chapter over and over is worth the price of the book.
Reed Floren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Must Read, May 19 2004
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
Great read. I've read this book so many times the pages are beginning to pull from the binding.
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is Michael Lauer still in this edition?, April 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
A great book and one that will teach you more about investing than most of the other so-called investment books that promise much and deliver little.
I'm not sure if Michael Lauer has been taken out of the book now. When I read his chapter I remember thinking he seemed a) extremely arrogant and b) extremely talented. Not sure what went wrong - maybe it was when he started trying to become a movie producer.
An essential book for any serious investor (or trader).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who said trading wasn't fun and profitable!, March 3 2003
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
I read this book ... I was thoroughly impressed.
I had read Schwager Technical books on trading in the past. And although I liked them, I found them to be quite tedious. With his Market Wizards series I was thoroughly impressed. You read the real life accounts of the top traders in the world and all you can say to yourself is I can do it too.
In no way does Schwager's voice interfere with the wisdom and message that these top traders try to get across. This is one of the most inspirational financial books of the decade, solely because it doesn't try to inspire, it simply gives the average trader a glimpse of what others call the impossible, beating the market, and the hope that you may be in the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fluctuates in accordance with volatility., Dec 17 2002
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
"Adopting a formula that limited both my profits and drawdowns by notching back the number of contracts traded in each market ... the key is that the number of contracts traded fluctuates in accordance with each market's volatility."
Tom Basso
How long is it going to take me to learn this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turtles & Trends Galore, July 20 2002
By 
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
This is the BEST of the 3 volume series. This book was absolutely outstanding and worth not only buying but keeping. I did not like volume #1 at all; there was really nothing in that & I doubted whether the traders interviewed had anything of value to give the reader. This book though is of a much higher quality as it delves more into Trading Systems & their psychology than previously.
A key thing you will learn from these interviews is best exemplified by Mike Carr a Turtle: Don't care what the market will do, Care what you will do when the market does it.
The gem in this series is Warren Eckhardt. In the first book the Ritchie Dennis & Will O'Neil interviews were the real gems. The others in vol#1 were totally without value including the GREAT Ed Seykota who is just a wise-acre with flippant answers and a juvenile sense of humour. Here in volume 2 even minor traders have more to say, perhaps Jack got better in getting information out of them?
Anyhow, remember more than HALF of these people have since gone the way of Livermore and blown up and those that haven't are RETIRED and teach at high costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars General insights into successful traders/investors..., July 3 2002
By 
G. Shiau "grumpychicagoguy" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
Through a series of interviews, Jack Schwager introduces the readers to traders he deems to be Market Wizards. He talks to people trading in different markets, employing different methodologies, and exhibiting different strengths and weaknesses. In spite of the differences, Schwager identifies some commonalities. Schwager sums up the book by offering his takeaways for being a successful trader. Some of them are quite obvious (e.g. have a passion for trading and examine your reasons for trading, have an edge) while other are more subtle (e.g. match your trading style with your personality, have a method).
Having attended a lecture given by him, Schwager will be first to tell you how he had to modify his trading style and methodology to a quantitatively-driven one. Before the change, he felt that he lacked the discipline to exit his positions subjectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, Jan. 6 2002
By 
AAA "bookman777" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
Insightful interviews with the greatest traders & investors of our time. This one is much better than the Money Masters books. Market Wizards taught me that success in trading was more than just luck, as the efficient market people would say and my finance classes at Brown taught. There is skill, education, and a level of learned maturity involved.
This is another book I re-read constantly to get inspiration and tips to succeed as an investor. I like this one better than the first book, since it's more applicable to today's markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as, Dec 18 2001
By 
"dwhorton5" (wheeling, wv United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
market wizards but still alot of info. Another must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book, Sept. 14 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Market Wizards (Paperback)
If you don't like this book, then you don't like the stock market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2b22760)

This product

The New Market Wizards: Conversations with America's Top Traders
The New Market Wizards: Conversations with America's Top Traders by Jack D. Schwager (Hardcover - Sept. 30 2008)
CDN$ 33.95 CDN$ 21.28
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews