Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you like to read interviews...
What is this book?
Jack D. Schwager interviewed some of the best traders in 1992 and compiled edited transcripts in this compelling book.
---------------------------
Who is interviewed?
From the currency market: Bill Lipschutz .
In Futures: Randy McKay, William Eckhardt, The Turtles, Monroe Trout and Al Weiss.
Various market times and fund...
Published on March 6 2004 by ReedFloren.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars General insights into successful traders/investors...
Through a series of interviews, Jack Schwager introduces the readers to traders he deems to be Market Wizards. He talks to people trading in different markets, employing different methodologies, and exhibiting different strengths and weaknesses. In spite of the differences, Schwager identifies some commonalities. Schwager sums up the book by offering his takeaways for...
Published on July 3 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you like to read interviews..., March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
What is this book?
Jack D. Schwager interviewed some of the best traders in 1992 and compiled edited transcripts in this compelling book.
---------------------------
Who is interviewed?
From the currency market: Bill Lipschutz .
In Futures: Randy McKay, William Eckhardt, The Turtles, Monroe Trout and Al Weiss.
Various market times and fund managers: Stanley Druckenmiller, Richard Driehaus, Gil Blake and Victor Sperandeo.
Traders who play several markets: Tom Basso and Linda Bradford Raschke
"The Money Machines" such as: CRT (Chicago Research and Trading), Mark Ritchie, Joe Ritchie, Blair Hull and Jeff Yass.
Psyschology: Zen and the art of trading (person didn't want his name mentioned), Charles Faulkner, Robert Krausz.
---------------------------
I didn't recognize many of those names, probably because of these reasons:
* The book was written in 1992.
* I'm not into really into trading.
---------------------------
Nevertheless I think the book is a great learning experience. You won't learn how to trade from this book but it gives you insight into the trader's psyche. I like learning about people who have been successful, (think Leader's & Success page, of IBD) since I feel it motivates me to learn more and work harder towards reaching my goals.
My favorite chapter in this book is entitled "Closing Bell" and it is a recap of all lots of trading advice mentioned over and over by these trading experts. I feel reviewing this chapter over and over is worth the price of the book.
Reed Floren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turtles & Trends Galore, July 20 2002
By 
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
This is the BEST of the 3 volume series. This book was absolutely outstanding and worth not only buying but keeping. I did not like volume #1 at all; there was really nothing in that & I doubted whether the traders interviewed had anything of value to give the reader. This book though is of a much higher quality as it delves more into Trading Systems & their psychology than previously.
A key thing you will learn from these interviews is best exemplified by Mike Carr a Turtle: Don't care what the market will do, Care what you will do when the market does it.
The gem in this series is Warren Eckhardt. In the first book the Ritchie Dennis & Will O'Neil interviews were the real gems. The others in vol#1 were totally without value including the GREAT Ed Seykota who is just a wise-acre with flippant answers and a juvenile sense of humour. Here in volume 2 even minor traders have more to say, perhaps Jack got better in getting information out of them?
Anyhow, remember more than HALF of these people have since gone the way of Livermore and blown up and those that haven't are RETIRED and teach at high costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original but still worth buying, July 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
Jack Schwager is a great author. He asks very intelligent questions and seems to have a deep though un-intuitive knowledge of the futures game. (See the CRT interview, overly analytical people mask intuitive traits). The William Eckhardt interview is incredible and should be re-read many times over. This interview alone is well worth the price of the book. I have one major gripe with the author however. Schwager seemed to have had a serious lapse in judgement by including some of the traders that he did. There is no doubt that all the traders interviewed in the book are of high caliber but some definetly cannot be thought of as "Market Wizards". Who am I talking about? Linda Raschke, Tom Basso, Charles Faulkner maybe even Trader Vic. Who is very underrated? Jeff Yass, the man is the best options player around. Druckenmiller, Trout, and Eckhardt are as good as it gets.These legendary names should not be sullied by the inclusion of the above mentioned traders. Schwager left out some amazing traders, what about the people at Kenzie, Niederhoffer ( I know he blew out), Louis Bacon, John Henry, Willem Kookyer and Grenville Craig? Anyone ever heard of Jullian Robertson? Please Jack, if you ever write Market Wizards 3, try to include all or even some of these people. Not traders that you speak with at "Omega" conferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Competent sequel which doesn't quite match the original, Oct. 14 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
This book effectively takes the same format as the original Market Wizards. I do not rate it as highly, firstly because I don't think the quality of the traders is quite as high (although they are still very good), and secondly I found the book did not add enough original concepts above and beyond those covered in the first volume. However, this book still contains some excellent interviews; William Eckhardt's discussion of trend-trading systems, and Stanley Druckenmiller's recollections on running the Quantum fund are particularly interesting. Interestingly, Schwager does cover some new ground by interviewing some arbitrageurs and options traders - although these sections are informative, they provide only limited information of use to the position trader/speculator. One grouch I have with this book, and the previous "Market Wizards", is its bias towards trend-following trading. Whilst this has proven an extremely profitable concept for many traders, i would have liked to hear more from contrarian speculators, as well as short-term traders in markets like US T-Bonds, where trend-following techniques are often not as effective as counter-trend trading. Also I would have liked to have seen interviews with some foreign traders - the thoughts of big traders at the Japanese banks on their stock/bond market turmoil in the 80s/90s, or the experiences of traders on the relatively new London Futures Exchange (LIFFE) would have added an interesting international perspective. Despite this I think Schwager has produced another good book, one well worth reading. Don't be put off if you are a novice - this was the first trading book I ever read, and although it didn't all sink in at once, I found it extremely interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A candid glimpse into America's top Traders!, Oct. 9 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
This follow up to his best seller "Market Wizards" includes many more insights into many more of America's best Futures and Stock traders. Through candid interviews these self-made mulit-millionaires explain the discipline and strategies involved in trying to wrestle with the financial bull that comprise our capital markets.

We novices who have ever dreamed about becoming a full time investor or just wanted to know how these financial wizards do it, have in this book further proof that fortunes can be made given enough discipline, patience, and sheer stamina.

Each interviewee explains how they place trades, what they look for, and when they exit. The 4 tenets that come up over and over again is: 1) Follow the Trend 2) Cut your losses short 3) Let your profits run 4) Manage risk.

One thing each professional points out is the sheer naivette of the inexperienced trader or investor who comes into the tumultuous financial jungle expecting to make 50 to 100% a year. They are undercapitalized and inexperienced but most importantly do not know themselves.

This is a fantastic book if you want to know how the best of the best tackle our financial markets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars General insights into successful traders/investors..., July 3 2002
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
Through a series of interviews, Jack Schwager introduces the readers to traders he deems to be Market Wizards. He talks to people trading in different markets, employing different methodologies, and exhibiting different strengths and weaknesses. In spite of the differences, Schwager identifies some commonalities. Schwager sums up the book by offering his takeaways for being a successful trader. Some of them are quite obvious (e.g. have a passion for trading and examine your reasons for trading, have an edge) while other are more subtle (e.g. match your trading style with your personality, have a method).
Having attended a lecture given by him, Schwager will be first to tell you how he had to modify his trading style and methodology to a quantitatively-driven one. Before the change, he felt that he lacked the discipline to exit his positions subjectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, too. As excellent as the first, Jan. 12 2001
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
Some readers comment that "The new" is not as good as the old. I strongly disagree with that. Schwager had tried to get the rest of the best in the market at the time to be interviewed and written about, like Vic Sperando, Stanley Druckenmiller, Richard Driehaus and some other big names. The problem is: the "stars" in the first book are just too bright, amongst all else, Paul Tudor Jones and Richard Dennis. Perhaps Schwager should have got Soros to meet the market expectation. BTW, two more tips: First, buy and read the Market Wizards before this. Second, dont get too carried away by the rosy pictures posed by these top traders and dont copy a bit from each of them. Know yourself and develop the trading strategy that fits you most unless you want to be those footstool of these wizards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who said trading wasn't fun and profitable!, March 3 2003
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
I read this book ... I was thoroughly impressed.
I had read Schwager Technical books on trading in the past. And although I liked them, I found them to be quite tedious. With his Market Wizards series I was thoroughly impressed. You read the real life accounts of the top traders in the world and all you can say to yourself is I can do it too.
In no way does Schwager's voice interfere with the wisdom and message that these top traders try to get across. This is one of the most inspirational financial books of the decade, solely because it doesn't try to inspire, it simply gives the average trader a glimpse of what others call the impossible, beating the market, and the hope that you may be in the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why reinvent the wheel?, Sept. 15 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
Many novice traders spend small fortunes buying books
discussing how to predict stock or commodity prices.
Unfortunately, once they begin real-time trading, they
find themselves losing large sums of money. Schwager's
New Market Wizards condenses the experiences of many of
America's best traders into one very readable volume.
Learn how traders such as Bill Lipschutz approach the
markets, and how they deal with adversity.

Why "reinvent the wheel" when you can read New Market
Wizards and learn from the experiences of the best
traders in the world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, Jan. 6 2002
By 
AAA "bookman777" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Market Wizards The (Paperback)
Insightful interviews with the greatest traders & investors of our time. This one is much better than the Money Masters books. Market Wizards taught me that success in trading was more than just luck, as the efficient market people would say and my finance classes at Brown taught. There is skill, education, and a level of learned maturity involved.
This is another book I re-read constantly to get inspiration and tips to succeed as an investor. I like this one better than the first book, since it's more applicable to today's markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Market Wizards: Conversations with America's Top Traders
The New Market Wizards: Conversations with America's Top Traders by Jack D. Schwager (Hardcover - Sept. 30 2008)
CDN$ 33.95 CDN$ 21.28
In stock on August 29, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews