Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prequel to the "Serenity" movie to explain the absent friends
"Firefly" was cancelled halfway through its first and only season. The final few episodes did not get aired, which seemed a fitting ending, because when the series began they skipped the pilot movie to air some other episodes first. When we finally got to see the episodes that did not air, we discovered that River Tam was something more than some sort of insane person...
Published on June 23 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Fans
Takes place between the end of Firefly but before the movie Serenity. Inara continues her plans to leave. We are shown why Shepard Book left Serenity. Begins with a typical heist that does not go right. And we meet various other characters who create havoc for our friends, Badger and the Men in Blue Gloves. Nothing terribly special but a lot of fun revisiting the...
Published on Feb. 16 2009 by Nicola Mansfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prequel to the "Serenity" movie to explain the absent friends, June 23 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
"Firefly" was cancelled halfway through its first and only season. The final few episodes did not get aired, which seemed a fitting ending, because when the series began they skipped the pilot movie to air some other episodes first. When we finally got to see the episodes that did not air, we discovered that River Tam was something more than some sort of insane person with psychic tendencies. One of the things we know about Joss Whedon television shows from watching "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and "Angel" is that there is a story arc for the first half of a season, which combines with a second half story arc to up the ante. Consequently, just as "Firefly" was getting interesting, FOX pulled the plug. Having already killed off "Dark Angel" to make room for "Firefly," it was adding insult to injury (or visa versa).

But "Firefly" fans were legion, they were vocal, and they bought enough copies of the DVD set of the abbreviated series and that gave Whedon the backing to do "Serenity," a theatrical movie that would bring some closer to the "Firefly" saga. However, the opening of the movie established that Inara and Shepherd Book were no longer aboard the good ship "Serenity." We would find out where they were in the course of the movie, but that still begged the question as to how it came to be that they left Captain Mal Reynolds and the rest of the crew behind. This would be the sort of things that fans would be able to speculate about for years, as did "Star Trek" fans filling in the gap between the original series and the first movie. However, Whedon has saved us from such fun.

"Serenity: Those Left Behind" is more a prequel to the "Serenity" movie than it is a an attempt to cover everything in between. More specifically, it is the story that explains why Inara and Shepherd Book parted company with Mal. Whedon came up with the story with Brett Matthews, who does the script, with art by Will Conrad. We bbegin with Mal, Zoe and Jayne in the middle of another sticky situation, which they manage to get out of with their lives, but not the money they were supposed to be paid. We then learn that the pair of blue gloved government agents who are after Simon and River Tam, hire an assassin with an artificial eye named Agent Dobson to find the pair. His incentive is that he will get to kill Mal Reynolds (who is, of course, responsible for the eye), so the confrontation between these two is inevitable and the meeting place is the wrecked spaceships of the Battle of Sturges.

Because of Whedon's involvement this story gets to be part of the "Firefly" canon and for that reason I round up on "Serenity: Those Left Behind." But I had to admit the story really seems like a standard "Firefly" episode, with a couple of specific things tacked on at the end to set up the situation for the film, and nothing like the film before the film. The main plot line really does not provide the impetus to justify Inara and Shepherd Book leaving "Serenity," and I would think a better job of doing that could have come from a pair of single issue stories. Still, fans will be inspired to check this out and hopefully their disappointments will be tempered accordingly. Yes, in case you were wondering, all of the variant covers of the "Serenity" crew for the three issues, half of which are really nice, are to be found within the pages of this trade paperback collection. Nathan Fillion provides an Introduction on the joys of finally becoming a comic book superhero that is a nice additon to the proceedings as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for FIREFLY fans, March 13 2007
By 
Selena Elizabeth (Parry Sound, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
There is not enough FIREFLY/SERENITY in the world, it's just a fact. SERENITY: THOSE LEFT BEHIND is wonderful just for giving fans a little bit more of this fantastic and enjoyable world and its characters. It's also wonderful on just about every other account.

The artwork is immediately gorgeous and consistent--all of the characters appear exactly as they're thespian counterparts do on television, Serenity herself is perfect inside and out, and the colours are brilliant. The story takes place between the end of the television program FIREFLY and the beginning of the motion picture SERENITY, and is a good bridge between the two, answering some questions--such as why Shepard Book was no longer travelling with the crew, and what happened to the men with the blue hands.

Our ragtag space heroes are all perfectly represented with great dialogue and action. My one complaint would be that it's too short. At only one hundred pages, this little graphic novel feels awfully rushed in some places (although it still doesn't skimp on the action.) Of course, even if it was ten thousand pages, I'd still want more. Anyways, this is a must have for FIREFLY fans; here's hoping they publish some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firefly fans won't be disappointed., May 10 2008
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
The story within this graphic novel takes place between the final episode of the Firefly series and the movie Serenity, answering some long-pondered questions regarding that time period, most notably with regards to Shepard and River. It's unfortunate that it couldn't have been longer or couldn't have answered more questions (for example, we never did find out about Shepard's past), but beggars can't be choosers. The fans had questions, and Joss Whedon gladly answered at least some of them.
Regardless of how fulfilled fans are by this filler, the book is jam-packed with gorgeous artwork and Whedon's trademark comedy. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any true Firefly fan - but it could be so much more., Aug. 2 2007
By 
J. Tupone (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
This comic is a good product and it really comes off like another episode of Firefly, which I thought was really interesting. The artwork certainly was lacking somewhat (e.g. Simon looks nothing like he does in the series) and the writing didn't have all the usual quips and witty remarks that the various characters make on the TV series. Apart from that, it was a lot like an episode of the show. I think there could have been more added to the story by expanding it into a longer series with more material. I hear that there's another comic coming out in the future; another "prequel" - I hope that there's a possibility of an expanded series. Since the TV show is not coming back, those of us who are Firefly addicts could seek our fix from an expanded comic book series. The comic is a must read for any Firefly fan because you just can't miss the opportunity to take in another Firefly episode; but it fails to satisfy the insatiable appetite of Firefly fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Fans, Feb. 16 2009
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
Takes place between the end of Firefly but before the movie Serenity. Inara continues her plans to leave. We are shown why Shepard Book left Serenity. Begins with a typical heist that does not go right. And we meet various other characters who create havoc for our friends, Badger and the Men in Blue Gloves. Nothing terribly special but a lot of fun revisiting the wonderful characters. The dialogue was written wonderfully, I could just hear the actor's voices in my head as I read. The artwork is quite good. Inara, Jayne and Kaylee are particularly close to their real live counterparts. Fun! Must read for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great artwork, amusing and stellar Whedon storylines., Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these books for my daughter, a true Firefly fan but my son and I have devoured them. Not a comics fan in general, having seen too many awful ones, I was delighted with these graphic novel compilations. They are expertly drawn, feel just like watching the series and are worthy sequels in every sense to the series. I highly recommend all 3 of these books to anyone who loves Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work, Feb. 24 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
The story might have translated into a decent episode of Firefly. However, as a comic, the whole enterprise leaves a lot to be desired. First, the artwork is poor. Second, the various nuances of the characters are completely lost. Third, the humour that made Firefly such a pleasure is absent from this work. Best to stick to the DVDS of the series and the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and awesome art to tie in the time ..., Dec 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great story and awesome art to tie in the time between the end of the TV series and the Serenity movie. The art and dialogue flowed together smoothly and made you feel like the series never ended. All of the characters came alive with the same vibe and energy. Two thumbs way up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More story from the Firefly universe., Sept. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
I prefer the hardcover editions of the Firefly graphic novels but this isn't bad either! I do love how Firefly/Serenity is continued in graphic novel form and look forward to reading many more volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 29 2014
Art style was beautiful and the typical Joss Whedon dialog was amazing. It is a must have. I cant wait to buy the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity: Those Left Behind
Serenity: Those Left Behind by Brett Matthews (Paperback - Jan. 24 2006)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews