Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prequel to the "Serenity" movie to explain the absent friends
"Firefly" was cancelled halfway through its first and only season. The final few episodes did not get aired, which seemed a fitting ending, because when the series began they skipped the pilot movie to air some other episodes first. When we finally got to see the episodes that did not air, we discovered that River Tam was something more than some sort of insane person...
Published on June 23 2006 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Follow but Visually Very Good
The book is not full size and that is not mentioned when you buy it. The story is also a little scattered and hard to follow, trying to put a lot of information into less than 80 pages.
That being said the illustrations are very good and look very like the actors playing the parts in Serenity and Firefly. If you enjoyed the series or movie see the other and then this...
Published 11 months ago by Paul Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prequel to the "Serenity" movie to explain the absent friends, June 23 2006
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
"Firefly" was cancelled halfway through its first and only season. The final few episodes did not get aired, which seemed a fitting ending, because when the series began they skipped the pilot movie to air some other episodes first. When we finally got to see the episodes that did not air, we discovered that River Tam was something more than some sort of insane person with psychic tendencies. One of the things we know about Joss Whedon television shows from watching "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and "Angel" is that there is a story arc for the first half of a season, which combines with a second half story arc to up the ante. Consequently, just as "Firefly" was getting interesting, FOX pulled the plug. Having already killed off "Dark Angel" to make room for "Firefly," it was adding insult to injury (or visa versa).

But "Firefly" fans were legion, they were vocal, and they bought enough copies of the DVD set of the abbreviated series and that gave Whedon the backing to do "Serenity," a theatrical movie that would bring some closer to the "Firefly" saga. However, the opening of the movie established that Inara and Shepherd Book were no longer aboard the good ship "Serenity." We would find out where they were in the course of the movie, but that still begged the question as to how it came to be that they left Captain Mal Reynolds and the rest of the crew behind. This would be the sort of things that fans would be able to speculate about for years, as did "Star Trek" fans filling in the gap between the original series and the first movie. However, Whedon has saved us from such fun.

"Serenity: Those Left Behind" is more a prequel to the "Serenity" movie than it is a an attempt to cover everything in between. More specifically, it is the story that explains why Inara and Shepherd Book parted company with Mal. Whedon came up with the story with Brett Matthews, who does the script, with art by Will Conrad. We bbegin with Mal, Zoe and Jayne in the middle of another sticky situation, which they manage to get out of with their lives, but not the money they were supposed to be paid. We then learn that the pair of blue gloved government agents who are after Simon and River Tam, hire an assassin with an artificial eye named Agent Dobson to find the pair. His incentive is that he will get to kill Mal Reynolds (who is, of course, responsible for the eye), so the confrontation between these two is inevitable and the meeting place is the wrecked spaceships of the Battle of Sturges.

Because of Whedon's involvement this story gets to be part of the "Firefly" canon and for that reason I round up on "Serenity: Those Left Behind." But I had to admit the story really seems like a standard "Firefly" episode, with a couple of specific things tacked on at the end to set up the situation for the film, and nothing like the film before the film. The main plot line really does not provide the impetus to justify Inara and Shepherd Book leaving "Serenity," and I would think a better job of doing that could have come from a pair of single issue stories. Still, fans will be inspired to check this out and hopefully their disappointments will be tempered accordingly. Yes, in case you were wondering, all of the variant covers of the "Serenity" crew for the three issues, half of which are really nice, are to be found within the pages of this trade paperback collection. Nathan Fillion provides an Introduction on the joys of finally becoming a comic book superhero that is a nice additon to the proceedings as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great artwork, amusing and stellar Whedon storylines., Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these books for my daughter, a true Firefly fan but my son and I have devoured them. Not a comics fan in general, having seen too many awful ones, I was delighted with these graphic novel compilations. They are expertly drawn, feel just like watching the series and are worthy sequels in every sense to the series. I highly recommend all 3 of these books to anyone who loves Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 29 2014
Art style was beautiful and the typical Joss Whedon dialog was amazing. It is a must have. I cant wait to buy the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly, the comic books, June 19 2014
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
Joss Whedon's Firefly is wonderful in all it's formats. The comic book series adds to the tv series. The artwork is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this comic, April 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
This is perhaps the only comic tie-in I've ever taken as canon. The IDW comics of Beast Wars and MLP just seemed to retcon some of my all-time favorite villain deaths, Freddy vs. Jason vs. Ash has a plot hole that would make Jason X impossible, and I heard Joss Whedon screwed a few things up in his Buffy comics. This one however is set between Firefly and Serenity and fits perfectly. Also it explains where the Hands of Blue disappeared to (since The Operative is the one after Simon and River in the movie). It does retcon the death of a certain villain (not saying who but he was meant to be a recurring villain before Firefly was cancelled) but they finish him off this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Serenity, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
y is always a good thig, and I'll take as uch as I can get. I'd prefer a reboot of the series, or even an animated series, but I love comics, and I love the Serenity comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity Those Left Behind, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thoughtful, insightful. If only. It is hard to capture Whedonesque but this does it all as best as one can speculate. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Follow but Visually Very Good, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
The book is not full size and that is not mentioned when you buy it. The story is also a little scattered and hard to follow, trying to put a lot of information into less than 80 pages.
That being said the illustrations are very good and look very like the actors playing the parts in Serenity and Firefly. If you enjoyed the series or movie see the other and then this book will make more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for Firefly Fans, June 13 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
This is always a spectacular read, it's definitely something every Firefly fan needs to have on one of their book shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any true Firefly fan - but it could be so much more., Aug. 2 2007
By 
J. Tupone (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity: Those Left Behind (Paperback)
This comic is a good product and it really comes off like another episode of Firefly, which I thought was really interesting. The artwork certainly was lacking somewhat (e.g. Simon looks nothing like he does in the series) and the writing didn't have all the usual quips and witty remarks that the various characters make on the TV series. Apart from that, it was a lot like an episode of the show. I think there could have been more added to the story by expanding it into a longer series with more material. I hear that there's another comic coming out in the future; another "prequel" - I hope that there's a possibility of an expanded series. Since the TV show is not coming back, those of us who are Firefly addicts could seek our fix from an expanded comic book series. The comic is a must read for any Firefly fan because you just can't miss the opportunity to take in another Firefly episode; but it fails to satisfy the insatiable appetite of Firefly fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity: Those Left Behind
Serenity: Those Left Behind by Brett Matthews (Paperback - Jan. 24 2006)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews