Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars still one of the best lessons for everyone to learn.
The Chinese have lived by these lessons for centuries and they still are using them to create a dynasty for the future. Don't believe it? Look what's going on in the financial world today. The Chinese are preparing and the rest of the world is destroying their currency and losing all jobs that actually produce goods to the Chinese. This is a book about strategy more than...
Published 2 months ago by chris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few grains of truth in a lot of chaff
Today many of Sun Tzu quotas are floating around mixed with Shakespeare and the Bible. And as with many of the quote they are out of context and misleading. The quoter usually thinks repeating the word is some sort of magic.

Most versions of this work spend more time trying to identify and qualify Sun Tzu's writings than just quoting them. I will not go through...
Published on July 21 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Thinkers Only, April 6 2014
By 
fredamans (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
What a different book. I picked it up, knowing it had been around forever and I had a mild curiosity what it had in it. I've quoted Sun Tzu often enough, especially in the old Quote meme I used to host, but felt weird having never read the book.
Amazon had it free and that was my golden opportunity to read it and see exactly what I had been missing.
Philosophy.
Aren't most philosophical statements just common sense told in parable? That's how I see them, and that was especially true in this book. Most of the points or statements Sun Tzu made, I felt were common sense if you just sat and thought about it.
I took time after each point/statement and thought hard about what it meant. Sometimes you didn't have to think hard at all, it was plain as day. Each one rang true, and each one was different from the last.
Look, I know we are not a world where every country is at war. But this book isn't just about fighting a war on land, it also touches on the wars we have within ourselves.
Sadly, I don't think everyone will 'get' this book. Nor will everyone enjoying reading it, but I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "Incomplete" edition, March 31 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very basic edition without any meaningful comments or preface. You get the text, but not much else: should not be surprised, I suppose, considering the very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still one of the best lessons for everyone to learn., Jan. 22 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Hardcover)
The Chinese have lived by these lessons for centuries and they still are using them to create a dynasty for the future. Don't believe it? Look what's going on in the financial world today. The Chinese are preparing and the rest of the world is destroying their currency and losing all jobs that actually produce goods to the Chinese. This is a book about strategy more than it is about war. It's how to use your brains not your brawn. Really read the title. War is an art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
did not read this book yet but at 99 cents it is worth having on my kindle. Will read eventually, as it is a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of War, May 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The Art of War by Sun Tzu

Written in the 6th century B.C., The Art of War remains the ultimate guide to combat strategy. Sun Tzu explains when and how to engage opponents in order to prevail in difficult situations. Instead of describing the logistics of warfare, he shows the reader how to succeed by motivating soldiers and leveraging tactical advantages. In short, he explains how to win the battle of wits. Though it was written for the battlefield, The Art of War contains valuable advice for other endeavors as well. Tzu's work has been lauded by sports coaches, business executives, and other leaders of the 21st century. This edition contains the translation of Lionel Giles, widely considered the most faithful and authoritative translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A few grains of truth in a lot of chaff, July 21 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Today many of Sun Tzu quotas are floating around mixed with Shakespeare and the Bible. And as with many of the quote they are out of context and misleading. The quoter usually thinks repeating the word is some sort of magic.

Most versions of this work spend more time trying to identify and qualify Sun Tzu's writings than just quoting them. I will not go through all the arguments as to who "wrote what when" or "translated what when" as you can read this for yourself.

Another distraction is the attempt to show how the book was applied or not applied in recent wars. This may be interesting to someone whose intention is to apply the theories of Sun Tzu; however it is not his writing but someone else's interpretation of its application.

Now let's finally get to Sun Tzu. It is easy with hindsight and a closer look at the future to dismiss Sun Tzu as his practical tactical knowledge is of a time and place long gone. He spends a lot of time on the use of weapons and information gathering techniques of the time. This can be interesting in a historical context; other wise it is quite amusing.

Oh yes those grains of truth I mentioned, well they may sound like clich's but they are still viable. "Know your enemy and know yourself". Others are just practical sense and statistical outcomes that you learn in any military training. I could go through the list, but again that is why you buy the book.

Now just as you decide that the book is outdated for any practical purposes today we have artillery and now stealth and precision, the reminder that "no two wars are alike" and "it is flexibility that makes a difference" is being shown today to still be true. Even in today's wars there is a need for good intelligence and deception. We put a lot of time and energy into Psy-Ops. Sun Tzu shows the advantage in specialized units and crack troops.

I have spent several years in the military and in business and can say this book is a nice addition to history, otherwise of very little value to today's world for war or business.

The most abuse of this book is trying to use it for projects as project management is a science that that was in its infancy at the time this book was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Applicable on more than just the battlefield, April 8 2004
The Art of War, a military treatise written by Sun Tzu around 500 B.C. in ancient China, teaches many good lessons to anyone who will ever have to command a group of people, in the workplace, in school, or on the battlefield. This is the only translation I have read, and it is easy to understand without being boring, so I assume that it is a good translation. A very useful and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should know about Sun Tzu..., Oct. 29 2003
By 
J. Kowalski "mumon" (Camas, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I take a star off because, frankly, alot of the geography/history is a bit too arcane for the Western reader.
But it's a great book nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic translation, Feb. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Art of War (Paperback)
This is the classic translation by Lionel Giles, formerly of the British Museum, of Sun Tzu's great military treatise. It includes numerous footnotes and explanatory notes. It is a 'straight', translation with many of the more interesting and amusing anecdotes that have come to surround Sun Tzu - such as the 'drilling the concubines' story, in which Sun Tzu beheads the Emperor's favourite concubine to demonstrate the efficiency of discipline, and the requirements of leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just instructional, July 18 2001
By 
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
I read this book out of pure interest. While the book's main purpose was to instruct on the proper actions involved in warfare, it really does portray war as an art. The book reveals human strenghts and weaknesses and their place in warfare. Regardless of how you feel about war, everyone should read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb29563fc)

This product

The Art of War (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)
The Art of War (Barnes & Noble Classics Series) by Sun Tzu (Mass Market Paperback - May 1 2003)
CDN$ 4.95 CDN$ 4.70
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews