Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any Apple enthusiast.
I eagerly bought Apple Confidential 2.0 after reading a positive article about it on a well known computer news web site. This book doesn't disappoint - I read the entire thing cover to cover in about three days, although in retrospect, it would have been fun to spread it out a bit more to enjoy it longer.
The book is well written and easy to read, and very...
Published on June 22 2004 by rjpryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But
I read "The Second Coming of Steve Jobs" prior to this, so it was a tad redundant at times. To someone who knows little about Apple, this is a good book, and I would recommend it. However, unlike The Second Coming, Apple Confidential is written in a less lively format. It is, at times, interesting, but gets long in the tooth and boring as well.

While the...
Published on Oct. 13 2008 by Amazonman


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But, Oct. 13 2008
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
I read "The Second Coming of Steve Jobs" prior to this, so it was a tad redundant at times. To someone who knows little about Apple, this is a good book, and I would recommend it. However, unlike The Second Coming, Apple Confidential is written in a less lively format. It is, at times, interesting, but gets long in the tooth and boring as well.

While the author has packed the book with many interesting facts and tidbits not readily available on the Internet, the book quickly becomes bogged down and scattered. It jumps from one year to the next, and then back again. For instance, after reading through the demise of Apple's former CEO Micheal Spindler and then Gil Amelio (1997), the author pans back to 1995 and discusses how Spindler handled Apple's OS licensing debacle.

If the book was more structured and lively, I would give it 4.5 stars, but in its current form, it deserves 3 stars, mainly for its content, and not much for the quality of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any Apple enthusiast., June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
I eagerly bought Apple Confidential 2.0 after reading a positive article about it on a well known computer news web site. This book doesn't disappoint - I read the entire thing cover to cover in about three days, although in retrospect, it would have been fun to spread it out a bit more to enjoy it longer.
The book is well written and easy to read, and very importantly in this often heated subject matter, it appears to be genuinely unbiased. Featuring the story of Apple Computer Inc. from its inception to the present, the book not only gives a general overview of the good and bad times at Apple, but also presents many juicy tidbits. Sidebars throughout the text present numerous quotes from well known players - Steve Jobs, Wozniak, and many others. Pictures of some of the early machines are provided as well as timelines for various products and CEO's.
As another bonus, the resignation letters of several of Apple's CEO's are included in the text.
On the downside, the latter part of the book is not quite as good with several omissions such as mention of the wildly popular XServe and the Virginia Tech supercomputer cluster made with XServe's. This seems like a fairly glaring oversight considering how important the enterprise market is to Apple these days.
Overall, I think any Apple history buff would find the book fascinating, and I can even imagine that the book would be interesting to people who don't know much about Apple at all. The history of Apple is quite interesting and should provide engaging reading material for nearly anyone.
What are you waiting for? Buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apple unpeeled, June 16 2004
By 
David McKinlay (Melbourne, Vic. AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
This is primarily a history of the computer company, not the Macintosh operating system. It's a catalogue of the trials and tribulations of a set of computer pioneers who were then and are still now miles ahead of their peers.
It is a compulsive read because although you may think you know the story, the deeper you get into the book the less you know.
We have come a long way in 30 years of computer history, and Apple has always been at the cutting edge. This is what makes this an exciting read, and the story is still unfolding. Another edition is assured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book! But i expected more!, May 24 2004
By 
Graham S. Brunk (Lake Worth, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
Well i will say that this book is much better than the first one and does supply much information about Apple. The onle thing that i was dissapointed in was that it did not really talk much about any operating systems prior to System 6. It also never talked about the Cameras Apple use to make the Apple Quicktakes. Apple also made a huge series of printers and scanners and NONE of them are mentioned at all in this. Apple also and still does make servers too and all these thing provide or provided apple with a big market in the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IF YOUR A MAC FANATIC, YOU MUST READ IT, May 18 2004
By 
"wazchris" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
Linzmayer did a great job. I could not put it down -- like eating popcorn.
The book is well researched, and includes all the dirt and glory regarding Apple and Jobs. I really appreciate how the book documents and provides a context for all of Apple's media/news events. The book's non-linear chapter structure --- chapters are based on subject -- plus its sidebar quotes work really well. If your a Mac fanatic or a computer industry "nerd," you must read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars APPLE (MACINTOSH) FOLKS REJOICE!, May 5 2004
By 
Benjamin Streit (Herbster Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
This new edition is awesome! Very Up to date! Great pictures! Whether you read the first edition or not you really need to get 2.0 if you love Apple Computers, or even for those who are just curious! The author will even autograph it if you want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and interesting!, April 29 2004
By 
N. Sharp "Audioholic" (Texas, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
Great book that is an easy read. Lots of information and side-stories that keep it very interesting. The author did a good job in his research and presents it well.
Recommend buying if you are at all interested in the saga that is Apple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even for non-native readers, April 26 2004
By 
Ernst de Moor (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
My native language is Dutch. And although my English is not bad, English books need to be more interesting, to keep the concentration. This book just has it! It is hard to lay it down, once you start reading it, even for foreign readers.
If there is any book that gives an objective view of what happened with Apple, it is this book, and it is written in a very attractive way!
Mr. Linzmayer has done a great job in collecting so much information about the history of apple, and writing such a great book about it!
Thank you, Owen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apple Confidential - A Must Have, April 26 2004
By 
DAVID T CRAIG (SANTA FE, NM United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
Owen Linzmayer's "Apple Confidential 2.0" book is a must have for people interested in the history, culture, people and technology behind Apple Computer Inc.
This book (and Owen's previous Apple histories "The Mac Bathroom Reader" and "Apple Confidential [1.0]") has been meticously researched and uncovers many facts about Apple Computer, its people, and systems that other books don't come close to touching. Instead of rehashing comments from other books which tend to be inaccurate, Owen has spent a tremendous amount of time finding and verifying facts. Instead of just relying on a comment about some aspect of Apple Computer, Owen has taken the time and put forth the effort to communicate directly with those involved with the facts in question. This results in accurate facts, something that many technology computing books about Apple don't always have.
I've been involved with Apple systems since the Apple ][ of the later 1970s and am constantly suprised by the information Owen has uncovered. At one time I thought I knew a lot about Apple's history, but Owen has proven me wrong in a beneficial way.
The end result of Owen's work is an almost definitive book about a fascinating and quirky company that any Apple computer user must have in their book collection.
I'm looking forward to the next Apple Confidential version if such a book will exist in the future.
-David T Craig ( shirlgato AT cybermesa DOT com )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Definitive" accurately describes this book!, April 19 2004
By 
Alan/Karen (Great Falls, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company (Paperback)
Owen Linzmayer's Apple Confidential 2.0 is a great book that gives the reader a fascinating look into the successes and failures of a company that has thrived, survived and continues to make a significant impact on the computer industry.
Linzmayer entertains and educates readers by taking them through pivotal points in Apple's history. From the initial collaboration between tech guru Steve Wozniak and assertively business-minded Steve Jobs, through the development of the Macintosh computer, to the inner workings of Apple's corporate culture, Linzmayer looks around every corner to give many perspectives on the development of the company. Timelines are also presented at the end of most chapters, aiding readers in understanding the pace at which important milestones took place.
"Definitive" accurately describes this book! Apple Confidential 2.0 offers readers a deeper understanding of the company, and shows the complete story of how this shining apple helped turn the fruit orchards of Cupertino into what we now call Silicon Valley. Readers will clearly see how Apple created a revolution by the development of the personal computer industry, and fought to make a significant dent in a technological market that continues to grow at a pace unequal to any other advancement in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company
CDN$ 31.95 CDN$ 16.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews