march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2012
I loved this book ! It obviously was not as good as the first one, but when is anything ever better then the first.. I found it just as gripping as the first one, i could not put it down, and the minute it was over I was off to the book store to get mockingjay. Very very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
If you watch the movie and loved it, you will heart this book to the centre of your soul. This book brings the movie into even more detail. The plot can be fully understood with this book. Whatever the movie left out this book covers from top to bottom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2012
If you thought Katniss and Peeta were safe now that they are home in District 12 after the 74th Hunger Games, then think again. Catching Fire is the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. It's filled with as much excitement and action as the first instalment and won't disappoint if you are already a fan.

The book begins with President Snow's dislike for Katniss for what he sees as a blatant act of defiance against the Capitol. She had been the one who thought to end both her and Peeta's life with the selfless act of double suicide at the end of the 74th Hunger Games. It was not quite a Romeo and Juliet moment but close. They would have rather died together than kill each other as the Capitol had wished. However, without a winner, the Hunger Games could not be seen as successful, forcing the Capitol to accept both tributes from District 12 as victors.

Even though the 74th Hunger Games are over and Katniss and Peeta are both home with their families, their nightmares are far from over. Unrest has settled over the districts, and in President Snow's eyes, it's all due to the victorious couple. He had tried to use them to supress the people of Panem. Instead they had risen up against unthinkable odds and given hope to people who had none. This reminded me of the story of Spartacus. He was a gladiator, doomed to die in the arenas fighting for the pleasure of the rich and spectacle for the people. However, this all changed when he led a rebellion and became the leader of the slaves who worked to free the oppressed. A stylized adaptation can be seen of this story in Spartacus: Blood and Sand (2010).

In order to not give the story away, I can't go into much more detail. However, in Catching Fire, a new Hunger Games is about to commence, this being the 75th games also known as the Quarter Quell. Every twenty fifth year the games are celebrated in a new way with varying rules, giving President Snow the opportunity to right what he has seen as wrong.

I would definitely recommend this book, and if you liked the first instalment then, it's a must. Katniss keeps up her portrayal of a strong female protagonist having a good head on her shoulders and determination that can't be broken. It's nice to have a young girl that is smart and skilled rather than ditsy and reliant on a boy. If you haven't picked up this book yet, give it a try; you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
This book held my attention from start to finish. It was suspenseful, exciting, touching and captivating throughout. The ending was a bit abrupt, but leaves one tantalizingly yearning for the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2009
This book continues and even surpasses all the suspense, page turning qualities of the first book. Don't hesitate to purchase this novel. IT is a MUST READ! I very highly recommend this novel to teens and adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
Who can you trust? Know you enemy? Words to live by. This fast paced book is a pleasure to read. It's nicely written. And, you never really know what's next. Looking forward to be last book in the trilogy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
This is my favorite book of the series and it has changed my life!:)this is a romantic and tragic love stories that also includes some violent parts but everyone is on their toes at every part of this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
If its possible, this book was better than the Hunger Games. I read this book very quickly because it was impossible to put down. If you are looking for a fantastic read, Catching Fire will not disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
I love this book, it is the third time I have read it. I would recommend this book to anyone. This book leaves you on such a cliff hanger, but that just encourages you to read the next book of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
The future of our world after we have exhausted its resources and destroyed its surface with our wars is something that many novelists have explored. This book is no different in that respect however the style that Suzanne Collins has employed is different from most. Instead of focusing on the adults in a post-apocalyptic world, Collins has chosen to focus on the children in a story that will have you flipping pages at lightning speed.
Katniss Everdeen is 'The Girl on Fire'. She's known for her amazing intellect, her strong sense of family and her survival instincts. After all, she and her friend Peeta have won the 74th Hunger Games by outsmarting The Capital itself. They were able to succeed by using their love for each other as a ruse to save their own lives. But The Capitol isn't pleased with what they've done. Now it's time for the 75th Hunger Games and The Capitol has a nasty habit of getting back at its enemies and those who seek to outsmart it.
Catching Fire is the second book in the Hunger Games Trilogy and its focus on what could become of our world will leave you stunned. Collins has a hit on her hands with this trilogy and we can only wonder what will happen to her and to Katniss after reading this second book. The Girl on Fire has a lot at stake during the next games and a lot of other people have much to lose if she doesn’t succeed as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse