Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Bookish Thoughts...
When during the day do judges grant the most paroles? Who reports their eating habits more accurately, dieters or non-dieters? How does someone train to hold his breath for 17 minutes (and why would anyone want to)? What defines self-control? In the fascinating and relevant "Willpower," psychologist Roy F. Baumeister and New York Times science columnist John Tierney...
Published on Oct. 17 2011 by Reader Writer Runner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK BUT ANNOYED WITH CELEBRITY CASES
The book contains alot of interesting research which readers will be able to use to improve willpower in their own lives. However, I sometimes had the impression that the author wanted to sensationalize the research by using celebrity examples. Examples are normally used to help the reader understand certain theories or principles but I think the celebrity examples were...
Published 20 months ago by Dominique Leblanc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK BUT ANNOYED WITH CELEBRITY CASES, Jan. 25 2013
By 
Dominique Leblanc (Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book contains alot of interesting research which readers will be able to use to improve willpower in their own lives. However, I sometimes had the impression that the author wanted to sensationalize the research by using celebrity examples. Examples are normally used to help the reader understand certain theories or principles but I think the celebrity examples were overdone. This I found annoying but overall I still enjoyed the book and I would recommend to anyone who wishes to have a better understanding of willpower. This book would also be useful for parents who have children who have trouble staying focused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Bookish Thoughts..., Oct. 17 2011
By 
Reader Writer Runner (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength (Hardcover)
When during the day do judges grant the most paroles? Who reports their eating habits more accurately, dieters or non-dieters? How does someone train to hold his breath for 17 minutes (and why would anyone want to)? What defines self-control? In the fascinating and relevant "Willpower," psychologist Roy F. Baumeister and New York Times science columnist John Tierney elucidate new research on fighting seemingly uncontrollable urges.

Together with intelligence, self-control emerges as the best predictor of a successful and satisfying life. But the authors neither advocate for resisting temptation by sheer force of will nor condemn those who give in as morally irresolute. Rather, they explain that willpower consists of circuitry in the brain that runs on glucose, has a limited capacity and operates by rules that scientists can reverse-engineer, thus compensating for its shortcomings. Examining case studies such as Eric Clapton, a former drug and alcohol abuser, and Oprah Winfrey, the quintessential yo-yo dieter, and citing numerous laboratory experiments, "Willpower" offers a plethora of advice: don't try to tame more than one bad habit at a time, watch for symptoms of "ego fatigue," don't diet, block out temptation as much as possible.

The authors largely appeal to evolutionary biology to explain their findings; neuroscience and economics take a back seat to human interest. Thus, the book contains no discussion of elements such as likelihood of success, temporality and evolutionary impact, which all affect goal-setting and the degree of gratification following achievement of said goals. Nevertheless, "Willpower" provides a rewarding read filled with insightful reflections on the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - but not as tactical as I had hoped, Oct. 26 2013
By 
Charles Dimov (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tierney & Baumeister do a good job on WillPower. It is definitely a very interesting read. There are various good empirical observations drawn from scientific psychology research. It is also written in an easy to read format. Despite good examples, I somehow still felt the book lacked more tactical, directives on how to strengthen your own willpower, or that of your children - through specific targeted exercises.

To improve WillPower - a strong, and very point formed summary in the last chapter is something I expected. In fact the book screams for a one sheet bulleted summary. Tierney and Baumeister discuss the importance of self control / Willpower with children. They discuss the importance of strengthening willpower amongst children, but then fall short on failing to provide express exercises which a parent could use to help strengthen their children's self-control. There are loose examples - but these really needed to be fleshed out in far more detail, being much more explicit.

It is a good initial read into the subject. WillPower treats the subject at a high overview level, but really missed on providing sufficient ground level tactical information. I was hopeful - but disappointed in this regard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Academic Study, June 13 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
The premise of this book is that willpower, or self control as the authors alternatively describe it, correlates closely to what would be defined as success or positive outcomes in an individual's life. This style of this book is that it is written in a text book type presentation. Initially willpower is considered in a historical context and then following chapters consider various aspects such as the `to do' list and decision fatigue which could otherwise be described as decision overload.`

As befits what is really quite an academically inclined book, there is a lot of discussion of the various theories and studies which have taken place. These are validated with no less than 16 pages of references to the source material at the end of the book. The final chapter includes a summary of the main lessons learned which is a useful recap for the reader.

Anyone looking for a self help book is probably going to be disappointed. The presentation does not highlight key issues in an easily digestible list form, and there is little in the way of exercises or tests which you would normally find in a self help type manual. There are, however, plenty of examples to consider. Personally I found it the sort of book where I thought it was most useful to zero in on what I considered the most interesting parts rather than reading it cover to cover in the way one would with a novel.

So to summarise, I thought this was an interesting and thought provoking academic consideration of the issue of willpower. I do not find it surprising that at least one of the authors is an academic who has written a number of text books. Potential readers need to be aware that this is really a much drier presentation of the subject than perhaps is suggested by the title but none the less a worthy study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like to read awesome new stuff...., June 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength (Hardcover)
Then this is the book for you. The authors do an awesome job of helping bring attention and intrigue to a subject that could be considered boring and uninteresting. One of my favourite reads this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insights but last chapter was disappointing., April 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some principles about willpower and how it can help one's life are presented along with easy-to-understand research evidence. They are also tied in with real-life examples which I also found helpful.

What I didn't find so helpful was the last chapter. I felt the author could have done a better job in how one could go about applying these principles.

All in all though, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who are looking to improve their life and productivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so good, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength (Hardcover)
the best book,
I recommand it for people need help in thier lives.
willpower is the secret to success. it bring eveything to you

I love this phrase" willpower more gain less strain"
willpower is "Brain muscles" that you can strength it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will power; how to save and how to spend it., Jan. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength (Hardcover)
This is the most interesting psychology book I have read in 10 years. It is a blend of anecdotal observations from high profile individuals and controlled observations from the experimental psychology laboratory. It is easy to read but nevertheless contains fully documented sources enough to satisfy the skeptical reader. An original collection of hypotheses about decision making and the ability to resist temptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top ten, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome book!! A lot of life changing ideas and insights. This book is definitely on my top ten list! I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great insight, Aug. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very eye opening book , great insight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength
Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength by John Tierney (Hardcover - Sept. 6 2011)
CDN$ 32.50 CDN$ 20.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews