Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Science that works
Timeless principles....a must read that when put into action will help you egg to your goals and dreams BUY IT
Published 1 month ago by Andrew Metcalf

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the real version of this book.
Dr. Powell has butchered this classic to the point that this copy is not useable. Instead of the clear, simple prose W.D. Wattles wrote, you are left with the mindless drivel that Dr. Powell uses as examples to illustrate Wattles' points. Wattles expressly left out examples, and it was very effective. If you want to read what Wattles wrote, your only choice at this...
Published on July 15 2001 by Blake Leverett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the real version of this book., July 15 2001
By 
Blake Leverett (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Dr. Powell has butchered this classic to the point that this copy is not useable. Instead of the clear, simple prose W.D. Wattles wrote, you are left with the mindless drivel that Dr. Powell uses as examples to illustrate Wattles' points. Wattles expressly left out examples, and it was very effective. If you want to read what Wattles wrote, your only choice at this time is to find it elsewhere on the net, as the original version is no longer in print. There are a number of versions of this book floating around, but this one has the least in common with the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why did Judith Powell rewrite Wattles' book?, June 10 2001
By 
B. Boxbangieleroerrwwerevrwrer III "inre-" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you would like to read Wallace Wattles' book I would strongly recommend you read *his* words, not Judy's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science that works, June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Timeless principles....a must read that when put into action will help you egg to your goals and dreams BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprise to Me, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had expected instruction about getting rich (money in the bank rich). This book seems to be more about spiritual enrichment, To me, it reads like a sermon. It does have lots of good advice and it is an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, Sept. 20 2013
By 
Karl - Tiny Thought Guy (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Science Of Getting Rich (Paperback)
Although there are sections of this book that I found a little tiresome, it does still contain some useful information and it is worth the read. Personally, I found his other book, "The Science of Being Great" far better overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 9 2012
This review is from: Science Of Getting Rich (Paperback)
This book really is a step by step guide for getting rich. It makes perfect sense, and makes people not feel selfish for wanting more in their life. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The anthology, Jan. 16 2009
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Science Of Getting Rich (Paperback)
If you are going to buy Wallace Wattles, you may as well get the three books in one anthology. It is only slightly more.

It (SGR)is an easy read, and it's highly useful. You can get rich by acting in a certain way, and having certain beliefs. I believe this already. The one concept that was new to to me the importance of gratitude, which activates the higher vibrations of your mind, and assists mightily in manifesting what you desire.

Currently, I am reading the science of being great. It is a very simple straightforward book that anyone can follow.

Is this the foremost book on Law of Attraction? No. Yet it is still worth a read, and highly recommended. For other recommendations, check my other recent reviews.

If you find this review helpful, please click yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET RID OF POOR PRECONCEIVED IDEAS & BECOME RICH!, Nov. 6 2009
By 
Jules Mckenzie (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is very inspiring and enlightening materials. It helped me over come the preconceived ideas that the rich are greedy and selfish. It has also helped me realize that I am worthy of becoming rich and that it will actually happen for me and my family. And further that God wants me to be rich in order that I may serve him and my community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science of getting Rich, Jan. 30 2008
By 
M. Singh (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science Of Getting Rich (Paperback)
This book has better insight to the Law of attraction than The Secret. More spiritual and realisitic approch by Mr. Wattles. The book is simple to understand with a simplistic review of the 100 year old wisdom.This book explains the secret in real terms and conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Thought Classic With Practical Application, July 2 2004
By 
Cameron B. Clark (Bristow, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
Wallace D. Wattles wrote several books but is best known for his prosperity classic, The Science of Getting Rich. Wattles is an early author within the New Thought Movement whose book is making a comeback along with Charles Haanel's The Master Key System. Those who have read both works will notice their similarities, including their use of creative visualization as the primary tool for creative application of the karmic "Law of Attraction." The element that underlies this Law and gives purpose to one's visualization is strong desire mixed with unwavering faith in Omnipotent Goodness (or God) which is omnipresent and, therefore, in residence within as one's essential Source of empowerment. One must first know what one wants and want it badly enough to do whatever it takes (within ethical limits) to get it. This idea is expounded in other New Thought publications such as "It Works" by R.H.J. and "The Ultimate Secret To Getting Absolutely Everything You Want" by Mike Hernacki. Creative visualization requires one to imagine what one strongly desires (to be, do, or have) and take what Wattles calls "the Mental Attitude of Ownership" toward everything in one's mental picture. One must persistently visualize oneself as being, doing, or having whatever one wants, and be deeply grateful for it both before and after one actually gets it. According to Wattles, "the man who can sincerely thank God for the things which as yet he owns only in imagination, has real faith."
Wattles' view of God is pantheistic (All is God), which is rooted in monism (All is One; One is All). He admits this in his preface and refers the reader to Oriental philosophies and thinkers like Spinoza, Hegel, and Emerson for the philosophical foundations of his book. He freely alternates between the personal pronoun "He" with the use of "God" and impersonal terms like "the Universe," "Nature," "Original Substance," "Formless Stuff," etc. in reference to the Intelligent "One Thing" that lives, thinks and seeks increasing expressions of abundant life through creation (including creating through us via desire, will and imagination). His intent is practical, not philosophical. The book is "intended for the men and women whose most pressing need is for money; who wish to get rich first, and philosophize afterward." The "science" in the book's title refers to the "natural law" that "like causes always produce like effects; and, therefore, any man or woman who learns to do things in this certain way will infallibly get rich." In Chapter 4, Wattles says that the first step towards getting rich is "to acquire the ability to think the way you want to think" which he defines as thinking "TRUTH," regardless of appearances. Does anybody desire poverty or disease? No; therefore, poverty and disease are considered only temporary appearances whereas the reality is abundance and health as desired by All.
Wattles sees economics from a divine perspective where scarcity isn't a problem. Therefore, he is at odds with contemporary economists like Thomas Sowell who, in his book Basic Economics, defines economics in terms of scarcity. According to Sowell, "Scarcity means that everyone's desires cannot be satisfied completely, regardless of which particular economic system or economic policy we choose - and regardless of whether an individual or a society is poor or affluent. Therefore competition among people for these resources is inherent." Wattles strongly disagrees and affirms that the supply is limitless because it transcends the visible supply in the "limitless riches of Formless Substance" out of which all things are made and continually being made. He calls his readers to "rise from the competitive to the creative plane" and bases his ethic on the creative mindset, which is without fear or haste. More life is sought for all, and every person should be given more in use value than any cash value received. According to Wattles, "you can only get what is yours by giving the other man what is his."
Although I disagree with the monistic and/or pantheistic world view, I think Wattles has some insightful things to say that may be divorced from monism but are essential to a unified concept of a personal God and His creation as essentially GOOD, not evil. Although Wattles says in Chapter 1 that he shall not speak of riches in a figurative way, it is clear that he views wealth more as abundant life than mere cash. However, one of several flaws in the book is that he doesn't discuss in detail the important question of WHEN one can expect to get one's most pressing need for money fulfilled and whether death may thwart one's quest or be overcome. Only if death is no obstacle can he boldly say, as in his preface, that "failure is impossible."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Of Getting Rich
Science Of Getting Rich by Wallace Wattles (Paperback - April 10 2007)
CDN$ 8.95 CDN$ 8.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews