march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 17, 2014
I had an earlier edition of this book years ago and decided to check out the updated version. The topics are covered thoroughly without coming off as preachy or overly cautious. I'll definitely be keeping my hands on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
Simply awesome, a very useful ressource for beginners (like me). The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that the schema are difficult to understand. A color edition would be great and help a lot. Also, when they're explaning how to do something with the use of different step, I feel like they're going to fast and tend to skip some parts that would have been useful (The knots section). The rest is awesome and would recommend it to everyone who dreams to climb a mountain or really anything (ice climbing, etc) in his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2010
With over 1/2 a million copies sold, Mountaineering: The Freedom of the Hills truly is "the bible" of safe and efficient climbing. With the book measuring in at over one inch thick, it would be impossible to accurately give it justice in the space provided here. Therefore, I'll hit the highlights. The 6th edition, which I have, is divided up into 6 parts:

-outdoor fundamentals...covers things such as clothing/equipment/land nav/food

-climbing fundamentals...knot tying/rappelling info

-rock climbing...footholds/shoes/leading on rock

-snow, ice, and Alpine climbing...the in's and outs of ice and snow climbs (includes various rescues)

-emergency prevention and response...leading in a crisis situation/first aid

-the mountain enviroment..mountain geology/snow cycles/cloud types (neat pics!!)

The book ends with a nice list of additional reading (like you'd really need to with all the info in this book!). As you can see, there's really one word to describe this book- COMPLETE. So, if you're looking for a mountaineering resource to put on your shelf for when some questions come to mind- GET IT! Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff if you have a shoulder problem that interferes with your climbing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
I was adviced by different outdoor publications that this book is the best on this subject and it's true.
The book has all the advices and information you need to hike and climb mountains.
I am just doing a 3 day mountaineering course (practice cource) and I found the book helpfull in understanding many of the things.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2011
Fantastic information about mountain climbing, rock climbing, equipment, readiness and everything else you need to learn BEFORE heading out on the trails or mountains. Absolutely priceless and a MUST READ for all who enjoy or want to enjoy the mountains..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
This book covers the fundamentals of mountaineering. It is very detailed, and this makes it a double edged sword. On one hand, anyone from an amateur scrambler to a seasoned back-country guide will find the information contained in "Mountaineering..." useful at some level. However, this detail can be overwhelming and at times even confusing. Bottom line; essential mountaineering book often in conjunction with other sources. Remember there is no substitute for firsthand experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
One of the best survival books out there. This is a must buy for anyone who is looking to get into the outdoors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
I love how detailed this book is. There is a lot of information about mountaineering and climbing in general. The section on anchoring is especially detailed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
Great book! Does not substitute for hands on training though. Great reference and teaching. Arguably the bible of mountaineering. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Only a little ways into the book, but it is fantastic. I love it and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the outdoors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse