Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop guessing and start buying bigger shirts.
This book is a must have for anyone looking for some solid information on how to exercise and eat properly for solid muscle gain. I am a personal trainer that has been in the industry for years and I can't think of another book that EVERYONE going to the gym should own. Even advanced lifters could benefit from the no BS approach and methods in this book. I only...
Published on Nov. 30 2005 by Kevin Manley

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all good, except
I have read this book over 3 or 4 times and it is good and Im sure anyone who follows it will put on muscle. They even greatly discuss injury prevention and the proper ways to lift for long scrawny guys. The only problem I have is in the nutritional sugestions. Like I said it will work, but the amount of heavy protein foods they want you to eat is very unhealthy and...
Published on Jan. 3 2008 by Workoutman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, easy to understand book, Dec 1 2005
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
S2B is a great book and it is very easy to understand. I am completing a b.sc in kinesiology and still learned from this book. The basic principles are there, it is explained so everyone can understand, even if you've never been lifting before. There are great practical information that everyone can put to use. I especially liked the "corrective phase" of the program...very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work will pay off, Dec 1 2005
By 
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
Of all of the workout books I have read, this is one of the best yet. The dedication to nutrition is second to none and incredibly valuable even if you are not a "hardgainer".
The detailed plans for meals and workouts make this a book for anyone who has not been able to gain size in the past.
Follow the plan, work hard at it and you'll see the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book has it all, Dec 18 2005
By 
Andrey Rogina (Kitchener, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
If you've ever had issues packing on weight and/or need help with that, get this book, it's as simple as that
Everything is laid out for you, explained in full detail and presented in a straight forward manner that is not difficult to implement in your day to day life
It's very simple: if you want to put on muscle and transform your body...........buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Things have changed for the better, Nov. 30 2005
By 
Patrick Gagnon (Saint-Eustache, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
Thanks to Mike Mejia and Dr Berardi's book, I've made gains I've been pursuing for years. They showed and explained in details their strategies and workouts, so anybody, from beginner to athletes can understand and benefit from them. Easy, comprehensive and thorough. And did I mentionned the gains?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars go for it but watch out, May 31 2006
By 
Jean-pierre Sanchez (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
This book is great and it works. I find it at time difficult to get all the messages that are dispersed in different chapters. There is a lot of information but it could have been better organised so that you don't have to flip pages here and there.

I would have liked some hints as far as possible injuries, specially if you are older than 35. The exercices proposed are hard to your body if you don't do them correctly, so I would suggest you get a trainer as well to make sure you are doing it right. I got shoulders injuries and now back injury. I understand my mistake with the shoulder injury (not reading carefully about scrapular retraction...but again until you hurt yourself you won't care about it). But i don't understand my back injury, except for the fact that I am not that young any more.

In summary excellent program, I got excellent results, but slow because this is my second injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice, Aug. 10 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
I have read other books by one of these auhtors and I knew it would be loaded with good information.I have given this book to my younger cleints who want to build size the natural way. Recommend this book and the book below for a strong overall balance to your workout program. I also recommend everyone who works out to get this book 'The Backsmart Fitness Plan' A full complete program from stretching to great dumbell exercies and balance drills.These two books have helped me out alot in getting in the best shape in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for anyone, not just skinny guys, Oct. 22 2005
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
This book has everything. Save your money buying magazines filled with pictures of oiled up steriod monsters telling you their impossible routines and buy this book instead.One thing I liked is how it details the proper way to bench press and squat, saving wear and tear on your shoulders and back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with this one, Dec 29 2005
By 
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
Let me start off by saying that it's been a long time since I last read such an informative and helpful book. In the world of confusion this book clearly presents the rules one should follow in order to get the desired results (and what I mean by that is putting on some serious weight, obviously). You can forget about endless browsing thru the Internet looking for some info on fitness matters and then trying to figure out if it also applies to you. Well, if you're kinda skinny it does not and what you need is a different approach to weightlifting.
In the first part of S2B you'll read about the proper execution of various exercises, including those heavy, compound lifts. The authors suggest that you follow a four stage plan for building muscle (from assessment of your present fitness level and a basic workout to get your body in shape all the way down to the real deal). Exercises are well described, easy to perform and there are plenty of photos to make sure you do the right thing.
The second part of the book deals with proper nutrition. I have to say that it does go into great detail about it which helps you understand the science behind the gym. Hopefully it will also convince those who think they can eat whatever they want or as little as they want and still get the results (forget it, this ain't gonna work). The diet seems healthy and the emphasis is put on gaining muscles the natural way (yes, that means no steroids). I think it's sufficient to say I put on a few kilos simply by following the dietary advice laid out in this book!
Both parts of the book are filled with practical advice you can apply the same day you read it. S2B is down-to-earth, intelligently written and fun to read (I burst out laughing several times...). It's all you need to get from where you are to where you really wanna be. Go ahead and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making awesome gains, Dec 5 2005
By 
Patrick Gagnon (Saint-Eustache, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
Dr Berardi and Mike Mejia's book is the missing link in most people's training. They were concise and well-read while still thorough and interesting. They make it not only a guide to incredible muscle, but a comprehensive course in exercise nutrition and strenght training that'll keep you going and making gains.
Dr Berardi is one of world's most renowned expert on nutrition and supplemention and he goes through all the textbook stuff straight to the real, immediately applicable information.
Mike Mejia is an outstanding coach whose thorough training is really showing in is program design. Effective and giving results in only weeks.
This is not a book for nerds from nerds, nor a brutish pile of program for brutes, but rather a guide to go from nerd to brute the intelligent way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leafy to Beefy, Oct. 3 2008
This review is from: Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way (Paperback)
As a trainer, I like reviewing weightlifting books and found this one to be most interesting. First of all, the book is written very well, interjecting humor that makes it hard to put the book down. Having said that, however, I did find it a tad bit disorganized at times- and I say that mainly because I had to flip around a bit here and there.

Anyway, the book is divided into two basic parts. The first is training to gain, which discusses the four part training phases. They're much too detailed to go into but they do give the reader a set path to follow that is well laid out. Part two? That would be "need to feed" which is the diet and eating part. Here again, its very detailed but emphasizes the reader getting enough calories- which the book says is absolutely essential to packing on the muscle.

Other goodies are interspersed throughout the book, such as discussions of determining what body type you are and determining your calorie needs. All in all, the book has a fun writing style and is clearly based on a certain amount of research that is cited here and there to back up its claims. Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff for weightlifters struggling with a torn cuff or shoulder pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrawny to Brawny: The Complete Guide to Building Muscle the Natural Way
CDN$ 25.50 CDN$ 15.99
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews