Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, May 29 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:57 Mins

This is a wonderful art book for a spellbinding animation series. Making the series took 6 years, hundreds of artists, and hundreds of thousands of drawings. This book showcases a selection of some really beautiful illustrations.

There are loads of character and background designs inside, in sketches and in their finished coloured form. The main characters like Aang and others come with cool animation sequences created with pencils. Also included are many of the discarded concepts which were difficult to animate or doesn't suit the story. Appa had some really awesome spiral horns but were discarded, unfortunately. The character drawings are superb. Just by looking at their different expressions you can pretty much guess their characteristics.

Besides the characters which includes the town folks and soldiers, there are also drawings for many miscellaneous stuff like storyboards, airships, hybrid animals, wanted posters, promotional posters, chibi (or super deformed) style and random doodles from meetings.

Did I mention the background paintings? The world created is so beautiful!

The whole book is annotated heavily by Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino. They talk about everything on production, from creating the pilot episode to Nickelodeon approving the final season. You can see and read about their influences and inspiration everywhere, from Buddhism, Studio Ghibli, Gainax, Chinese martial arts, etc. It's very interesting to see how they apply what they learned from research to their drawings and animation.

This is a fantastic art book for the series and fans, which should appeal to anyone who hasn't watch the series. Good art appeals to all.

Highly recommended!

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, and equally great artbook, May 27 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
I love this book! It's great for anyone with passion for the series or anyone with artistic interests. There are many stories from the creators depicting the long process of creation starting from the very beginning. There are some stunning finished pieces of art, as well as a lots of pre-production sketches, series bible bits, and even animation tests and studies. The text isn't boring at all either, to me, it seems as if the creators are telling the story of their adventure instead of just writing an article about it. They also point out their inspiration which, in return, gives great inspiration and ideas.

Another thing I really liked is that they didn't put anything about the upcoming live action movie in it. I love the series, but I have doubts on the movie, so I wanted something from the SERIES, and I got what I wanted. There's not even a promotional page!

As a graduated animation student and as a big fan of the series, I definitely recommend it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, Sept. 2 2010
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
This art-book is an excellent collectible for any fan of the Avatar series. It's full of gorgeous colour artwork on every page and the behind the scenes tidbits, especially from before the show hit the air, make for a very interesting read. The one strike against this book however, is if you are already very knowledgeable about the show, then the chapters about the actual aired Seasons 1-3 will be very same old same old without much new information or never before seen images. Despite that, this book is a detailed account of the Avatar world as a whole and is a great way to support the creators of the original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar the Last Airbender art of the animated series, Aug. 16 2010
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
This book is an amazing book. It is one of the most epic, and best art books i have read partly because it has huge scope on backgrounds. The backgrounds are amazing, and the book is chock full of them. It has alot of stuff in the book based on how they came up with the ideas and drawings, and not so much on the story that everyone knows anyway. So, Mike and Brian, awesome book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, Oct. 8 2010
By 
Kuni (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations, and a neat glimpse into the creative process behind this thoughtful series. The book is packed full of colour illustrations and sketches, and insightful comments about the series creation. I am blown away and recommend this book to any Avatar fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
I have been waiting for some kind of continuation as to what happened after Ozai was defeatede in the series, and this is a great way to tell the rest of the story afterward. If you're a fan of the animated series, and you have $30, buy this, and the search. They are excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Tastic, April 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Great book a must own for any avatar fan. Lots of beautiful art and concepts too look at, and a great read aswell with behind the scenes info and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absoulutley Awesome., March 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
This book is a true Treasure. A Gift to the fans of the series. It's a must own for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, May 3 2012
By 
Sean Yang (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to in this case. The artwork is beautiful, the written entries give you an intimate peek into the creative process behind this inspired work, and the whole book has an elegant, poetic feel. If you like Avatar at all, you must look at this book. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, July 19 2010
By 
Calgary Flames fan (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
What everyone else says is true: This is one book you MUST have! AMAZING art. Even if you're not an Airbender fan (how could THAT be??), the art is so fantastic. It's truly stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series
CDN$ 38.99 CDN$ 24.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews