Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!
Those of us fortunate enough to be a part of the Browncoat Cruise in 2007 have been waiting nearly 3 years for this book to finally come to fruition. The day has come at last and, in my opinion, it was well worth the wait!

We'd been given 4 little clues; tiny nuggets of information that spoke to what this backstory would eventually tell us about Joss Whedon's...
Published on Dec 5 2010 by Sue A. Maynard (Carving The Light)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but disappointing
Just about every Firefly fan has been waiting for this history in some format from the start of the series. The little teaser in the movie when they mentioned it but didn't elaborate just furthered the desire to learn more. This delivers what it promises, important events that led to Shepherd Book's place on Serenity.

However, the story itself feels rushed...
Published on Feb. 13 2011 by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, Dec 5 2010
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Those of us fortunate enough to be a part of the Browncoat Cruise in 2007 have been waiting nearly 3 years for this book to finally come to fruition. The day has come at last and, in my opinion, it was well worth the wait!

We'd been given 4 little clues; tiny nuggets of information that spoke to what this backstory would eventually tell us about Joss Whedon's Firefly man of mystery, Shepherd Book's, past. The final result does not disappoint.

Weaving together the bits of information fans could glean from the television series, its feature film offspring, Serenity, and the final tidbits that had been revealed about the upcoming comic book, the outcome is an intriguing, emotional read from start to finish.

And it doesn't go the way any of us expected it to.

Which is part of what makes it great - possibly the best Serenity comic edition so far, in point of fact! ;)

Grab your copy today! You'll want to read it over and over...and possibly backwards...just to make sure you've taken it all in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but disappointing, Feb. 13 2011
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Just about every Firefly fan has been waiting for this history in some format from the start of the series. The little teaser in the movie when they mentioned it but didn't elaborate just furthered the desire to learn more. This delivers what it promises, important events that led to Shepherd Book's place on Serenity.

However, the story itself feels rushed and lacks any real oomph. This often happens when mysterious pasts are finally revealed in one fell swoop. Sometimes it's impossible for the reality to live up to the imagination. The book does raise a couple continuity questions and seems abrupt as expecting you to just follow along and accept everything shown to you without question.

I'm glad I read it but I was disappointed. Joss Whedon didn't actually write this but did create an outline for it. I just wonder if the Firefly series had been allowed to continue if we wouldn't have gotten a better more intriguing history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest tale, March 28 2011
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
You know he has a story, and it is amazing!

The tale itself is fabulously written, but it is also greatly structured. The story is told backwards, starting with his demise, and ending with the beginning, his childhood. Each tale is told in a few pages, perfectly linked, like a series of flashback events.

I highly recommend it, and you do not need to have read the previous 2 volumes to read this one, so go right ahead and pick it up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great but about 100 pages too short, March 28 2011
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Nice to see into Book's past, and as always, great to have more firefly based work, but waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too short. I could watch and read this stuff for days and be fine with it. It may not actually bee too short, but I am still sad it's gone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shepherd Revealed!, Oct. 2 2014
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
An excellent preamble to a fuller understanding of Shepherd Book. TGhe story works chonologically through his life, but backwards in time. Ties on a lot of episodes, such as when Jubel Early says "That's not a shepherd" in the last episode of Firefly. You'll like the way the ccharachter is developed. WEll drawn and beautifully told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly, the comic books, June 19 2014
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Joss Whedon's Firefly is wonderful in all it's formats. The comic book series adds to the tv series. The artwork is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity The Shepherd's Tale, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Not normally a follower of graphics but Book's character has always intrigued me. This realistically completes the story that needed the telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, too short, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
great story, I just wanted it to go on longer though as I was having a great time with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Feb. 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Great book. I mean, yes, it's totally heart-wrenching, but a must-read for any Firefly/Serenity fans. Leaves you with rather more questions than you started with, but in the good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Questions finally answered, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Shepherd Book was such a great character who very clearly had a past story that the show wanted to tell one day. Unfortunately the show never had the chance to do so.
This book provides the back story to the enigmatic Shepherd that I had wondered about since the show's cancellation.
The reason for four stars as opposed to five is likely more due to my own excitement going in. The book answers the questions I had, but it felt anti-climactic. I don't really know why, but I feel that it fell just short of my (admittedly high) expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale
Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale by Joss Whedon (Hardcover - Nov. 16 2010)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews