Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest tale
You know he has a story, and it is amazing!

The tale itself is fabulously written, but it is also greatly structured. The story is told backwards, starting with his demise, and ending with the beginning, his childhood. Each tale is told in a few pages, perfectly linked, like a series of flashback events.

I highly recommend it, and you do not need to...
Published on March 28 2011 by Superfan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but disappointing
Just about every Firefly fan has been waiting for this history in some format from the start of the series. The little teaser in the movie when they mentioned it but didn't elaborate just furthered the desire to learn more. This delivers what it promises, important events that led to Shepherd Book's place on Serenity.

However, the story itself feels rushed...
Published on Feb. 13 2011 by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest tale, March 28 2011
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
You know he has a story, and it is amazing!

The tale itself is fabulously written, but it is also greatly structured. The story is told backwards, starting with his demise, and ending with the beginning, his childhood. Each tale is told in a few pages, perfectly linked, like a series of flashback events.

I highly recommend it, and you do not need to have read the previous 2 volumes to read this one, so go right ahead and pick it up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great but about 100 pages too short, March 28 2011
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Nice to see into Book's past, and as always, great to have more firefly based work, but waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too short. I could watch and read this stuff for days and be fine with it. It may not actually bee too short, but I am still sad it's gone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly, the comic books, June 19 2014
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Joss Whedon's Firefly is wonderful in all it's formats. The comic book series adds to the tv series. The artwork is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity The Shepherd's Tale, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Not normally a follower of graphics but Book's character has always intrigued me. This realistically completes the story that needed the telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, too short, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
great story, I just wanted it to go on longer though as I was having a great time with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Feb. 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Great book. I mean, yes, it's totally heart-wrenching, but a must-read for any Firefly/Serenity fans. Leaves you with rather more questions than you started with, but in the good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Questions finally answered, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
Shepherd Book was such a great character who very clearly had a past story that the show wanted to tell one day. Unfortunately the show never had the chance to do so.
This book provides the back story to the enigmatic Shepherd that I had wondered about since the show's cancellation.
The reason for four stars as opposed to five is likely more due to my own excitement going in. The book answers the questions I had, but it felt anti-climactic. I don't really know why, but I feel that it fell just short of my (admittedly high) expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A concentration on Book and interestingly done., Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
It certainly took my concentration to follow this story and how it is told but it was so satisfying to get to the end of this series of flashbacks and tales and find my knowledge of Book/the Shepherd so fleshed out. It explained so much of how he acts and why and where he came from. A rather astonishingly rich tale, given I've seen so many poorly done comics and graphic novels out there. These are not in that class. These books are top flight in production values, depth of story telling, staying true to the characters and the excellence of the art work. They are as unflinching as the series was, perhaps even more so and make for a fascinating read. Highly recommended for all Serenity/Firefly fans. Joss Wheedon does not disappoint, nor those working with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an awesome book!, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
I can't wait to finish purchasing the whole collection, I wish that the show was still on the air. LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Was Great!, Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale (Hardcover)
The item was as described, was received within a reasonable amount of time and it was just what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale
Serenity Volume 3: The Shepherd's Tale by Joss Whedon (Hardcover - Nov. 16 2010)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews