summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$17.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 20, 2013
As I said in the review for Serenity: Those Left Behind, these graphic novel compilations are high quality. They have great artwork that actually looks like the actors (a relief!) and top notch stories that expand your Firefly universe. This will not disappoint if you're looking to live longer in the Serenity universe. Each book I read expands my knowledge further. Thanks to all involved!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
If you are a fan of the Firefly series, or any of the other works in this universe this is a must! I adore good graphic novels and this is no exception if you're familiar with the series or if you have already read another of the graphic novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2008
You know how it feels like when you break up with someone and a few months later you come across this person somewhere? Feels a little awkward? Well one can experience a similar feeling with this book. There was definately an "It's over" moment from fox when this show was abruptly ended and it's wonderful magic never caught on again as much as one would like. The movie couldn't bring what I loved about the show back and the same goes for this somic but for different reasons.
This book is not set after the movie, the setting would be before it, yet not a prelude like the other. This is like an episode which never aired in comic book form. So we know that whatever happens here won't have any repercussions on a grander story in the making. The good thing about this is that you get the good old feeling of the team from the TV series again. Wash is alive and kicking and Book is with them on the ship, so is Inara. It reminds you of how great the show was, but it only lasts 3 issues with nthing telling you that there is hope for more Firefly goodness later.
But, these three issues seen independently of anything else, are fantastic and if you liked the show, then you'll love these. They're written by Joss so every character sounds like they should. What I really love is how it reffers to previous episodes. For example, you'll see how far and wide the Hero of Campton's tale has been spread :) Art wise, it is the same artist as the previous comic and he makes most of the characters look very similar to the show, with the exception of Wash. Wash looks like a regular white guy. But Mal and the rest look perfect.

If you are a fan of nostalgia, then this is definately the book for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This graphic novel takes place sometime during the regular time frame of Firefly. The crew finally have themselves a heist that ends up in uncovering a huge amount of cash. As they daydream what they will do with all the money, someone is chasing them down coming to kill Malcolm Reynolds, but little does he know that it is in fact another member of the crew who he wants. Fun romp with the wonderful Firefly/Serenity characters. Nothing too special but a bit of fun to read. The artwork is fun and an introduction by Adam Baldwin (Jayne) is an added bonus.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2011
I didn't know what to expect from "Serenity Volume 2: Better Days and Other Stories", but I bought it because I'm a fan of Firefly/Serenity.

I really enjoyed the depth of story they were able to squeeze into a relatively small package. It brought me right back to the Firefly universe, and that made me happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2010
I can recommend this for hardcore fans of Firefly only. The characters are still their lovable selves, but this book is much, much, too short for the amount of money you're paying. If money isn't an issue, then by all means buy this graphic novel as I enjoyed it as much as any other Firefly story out there.
It seemed like at times they could have developed scenes a bit further or added dialogue or expanded the plot, but just wanted to get it over with. Still fun, but if money is tight I'd skip it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Another great Serenity comic, well worth the price of admission. Joss, do right by your fans, and bring back Mal and the crew!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
SInce I get my Firefly/Serenity fix with new episodes, this totally satisfies. Anything Joss touches is gold.
Loved this addition to the Firefly universe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
Great books. These books are a gift for someone else, so I am not reading them but they look great and I got great delivery. Thanks so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
Very well done indeed! The story was well developed and the artwork was amazing. I would love to see more beyond the first four volumes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse