Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a colourful and busy universe
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:20 Mins
The first Mass Effect art book, The Art of Mass Effect, was quite good. The Art of Mass Effect Universe is even better.

This handsome 184-page hardcover art book covers art for Mass Effect 1, 2 and 3. Yes, you'll be able to get a sneak peek at the upcoming Mass Effect 3, that's if you don't mind a little spoiler.

The book is...
Published on Feb. 22 2012 by Parka

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it!
I was extremely disappointed by this artbook. I expected so much for it, but its just a ripoff. Artworks are not what you expected them to be. Its like someone put it together in a hurry. The price is fair but in my opinion, its not worth it.
Published 20 months ago by ttusman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a colourful and busy universe, Feb. 22 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:20 Mins

The first Mass Effect art book, The Art of Mass Effect, was quite good. The Art of Mass Effect Universe is even better.

This handsome 184-page hardcover art book covers art for Mass Effect 1, 2 and 3. Yes, you'll be able to get a sneak peek at the upcoming Mass Effect 3, that's if you don't mind a little spoiler.

The book is packed with concept art for characters, creatures, environments, props, weapons and vehicles. There are a few sketches but most are just gorgeous fully coloured designs. The art is top notch, the environment paintings are spectacular.

There's some overlap of content with the first art book that features the first game. Here, there are additional content which makes you wonder why they weren't in the earlier book. Anyway, the first art book is already out of print so it makes more sense to get just this one.

As all the designs come with insightful commentary, there will be a bit of a spoiler when you're reading the last chapter on Mass Effect 3. If you're just looking at pictures, then it should be alright and it'll give you a nice idea of what to expect visually in the next game.

Unfortunately for a book this good, the artists aren't credited, not even with a page on the list of names like they did in the first art book. In many instances, I wanted to find out who these artists are and their websites. This is a silly exclusion, a downer.

Overall. this is a great art book for fans of the game and sci-fi art. It should be one of the top art books for 2012.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for Mass Effect fan., Feb. 17 2012
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Hardcover thick pages with high quality art make this a must buy.
Contains art from Mass Effect 3 so some spoilers until March.
has art from Characters Locations Missions and scraped projects.
One thing that could have made it better was more notes from Bioware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, April 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
I was really amazed with all the details in the artbook. I already had the ME2 artbook that I bought from the Bioware Store, but it was so tiny and I was very disapointed. All the arts that were missing were in this book, and I'm so glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art! Worth the price, but doesn't come wrapped in plastic (new)., June 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
This art book is absolutely gorgeous. The quality is great and it gives some information about the development of various things in the games. This covers the first two Mass Effect games and also has stuff from ME3. The ONLY thing that was a little off was that it didn't come wrapped in plastic like I'd expected (I bought it new), and there was a grease smudge on the cover. The smudge came off with alcohol but slightly wore out the ink on that spot (despite how careful I was being). I'm picky with those kinds of things though (I like to keep my books looking new) so if that doesn't bother you, don't worry about it. Otherwise, the book was in flawless condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars was a gift, June 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Luckily the friend that this was bought for loves it! He saw it and was quite impressed with the pages/format of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Art Book for Mass Effect fans, Aug. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Those of you who can't get enough of Mass Effect and want to learn more about the Universe will want to get this book. It contains concept art from all three Mass Effect games and it also provides early sketches of what the various characters looked like before they were finalized. The book also includes some fun facts and notes about each sketch.

If you haven't finished the Mass Effect games beware about possible spoilers in the book.

Also, book stores often have this book priced at around $40 so it would be a good idea to get this online instead of in stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing artwork!, July 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
A necessary addition to any fan of the Mass Effect series! Large pages, fantastic artwork, and descriptions about the development of the game. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A steal at the price, May 19 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Was amazed this was under $30 for what it delivers. Yes, must buy as a fan, and yes, must buy as a sci-fi art fan as well. Books i character centric, but thats a given since the game is all about them, but it does surprisingly give a fair amount of space to the environments used to shape out the world. Content wise i give it 4 stars, but due to its price, its an easy 5 for value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, June 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
The art of this game an little bits of detail this book shares is just fantastic and really gives insight into the artists point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Mass Effect Universe (Hardcover)
Best artbook yet. This book is so good that it inspires me to make an art/design book of my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of The Mass Effect Universe
The Art of The Mass Effect Universe by Casey Husdon (Hardcover - Feb. 7 2012)
CDN$ 43.99 CDN$ 27.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews