Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing sequel to an amazing story
In Dragonquest, Anne Mccaffrey continues her stroy from dragonflight, bringing back all the wonderful characters and places from the first book. Once again, she has created a masterpiece that is very intersting to read. Her writing is extraodinary, and this is a book to read time and time again.
Published on Sept. 9 2006 by YancysMom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay.
I must say, the book was okay. But not exactly what I expected from my favorite author. No offense intended. I just feel, as some others, that Lessa's role IS diminished in this book, whereas she was my favorite character in DRAGON FLIGHT. I do like F'nor's role, though. Quotes my friend: "F'nor is cool"! I have been a sci-fi buff since my mother let me...
Published on June 12 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing sequel to an amazing story, Sept. 9 2006
In Dragonquest, Anne Mccaffrey continues her stroy from dragonflight, bringing back all the wonderful characters and places from the first book. Once again, she has created a masterpiece that is very intersting to read. Her writing is extraodinary, and this is a book to read time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Pern books, June 7 2004
By 
Sarah Sammis "Avid BookCrosser" (Hayward, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dragonquest is the best of the Dragon Riders of Pern series. I remember being so engrossed in the story that I managed to read the entire book on the way home from camp one summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Dragonriders of Pern book, Aug. 8 2003
By 
Miriam (Provo, UT, USA) - See all my reviews
Before you read this book, you should read Dragonflight to get to know background info and characters, but it isn't extremely necessary.
This book starts seven turns after Dragonflight.
Lessa and F'lar (the Weyrwoman and Weyrleader of Benden Weyr)are having difficulties with the Oldtimers. A lot has changed in four hundred years and some of the Oldtimers won't accept that change. Most of the Oldtimers don't want to have anything to do with the modern world and try to isolate themselves. Some even try to pick fights with Benden Weyr and take things that are not part of the tithing of the Holds.
Fire lizards are rediscovered in this book and F'nor and Brekke both Impress.
The Dragonriders must unite together to save Pern from the deadly Thread. The Thread is falling out of pattern thus becomes unpredictable. None of the Oldtimers are telling the other Weyrs about unpredictable Threadfall in their Hold and Weyr areas.
F'lar knows he must do something before Pern is destroyed.
Some events in this book lead to other key events in other books such as The White Dragon and all the Weyrs of Pern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite in all the Pern books., June 25 2003
If you've been nosing around the reviews of the later books, you might have noticed a general feeling that Anne McCaffrey's latest efforts on Pern aren't up to par. I have to agree with that, because in my opinion, this is the book that sets the standard the later books are failing to live up to.
There's so much going on in this book--from the conflicts with the Oldtimers that show how much Pern changed in its long Interval, to the rediscovery of the fire lizards and the re-colonization of the Southern Continent, the ascendancy of Benden Weyr as the primary power on Pern, and the question of whether Thread can be destroyed on Red Star--and there's a huge cast of characters from both Weyr and Hold, along with an in-depth visualization of the world of Pern and its culture and traditions, both past and present.
Yet all this is focused through a core cast of well-defined characters whose personal stories are not neglected. There's room among all that world-changing for a tender love story, personal courage, and success against all odds. And the dragons--gotta have dragons! :)
The plot is conveyed with not only a cohesiveness, but an immediacy missing from the later books. Here, I'm right there with the Southern weyrfolk as they rediscover fire-lizards, right there with F'nor as he peers at the Red Star through that distance-viewer. Reading All The Weyrs of Pern--itself one of the best of the later books--is like reading a report about what the characters did next instead of being there. In Dragonquest, there's no question that the main characters are the movers and shakers of this planet, and that what they do will change their world--and that I care what those changes will be.
I highly recommend Dragonquest, in fact all of the Dragonriders trilogy. If you've read the newer stuff, you are sure to like this as well...and if you haven't read the newer books yet, read this first so that you'll care when you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fantasy/Sci Fi About Dragons!, May 7 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Dragonquest begins seven Turns after Dragonflight and the reader is immediately plunged back into the complex world of Pern. F'lar and Lessa are still Weyrleaders at Benden and are struggling to unite all of Pern to fight the deadly Thread. It is true that the 5 weyrs who jumped through time to come forward to aid Benden were there in Pern's time of need, but they are set in their ways and not willing to change. F'lar has heard too many complaints from Holds and Crafthalls under the protection of the Oldtimers' Weyrs to disregard them any longer. When the Weyrleaders even go so far as to keep other Weyrs uninformed of irregular Threadfall, F'lar has no choice but to take action. He immediately starts looking for alternative ways of fighting Thread and easing relations between the dragonmen and the rest of the Pernese, but it is an uphill battle all the way. Meantime, there are other problems brewing inside the Weyrs themselves. Kylara, Weyrwoman of the Southern Weyr, has caused much dissent and no end of headaches for the Weryleaders. Brekke, a new queen, is desperately afraid of what will happen when her queen rises to mate. F'nor is trying to support his half-brother F'lar in all of his endeavors, but he has many problems of his own. Outside of the Werys, the Lord Holders cannot understand why the dragonmen simply do not go to the Red Star and kill the Thread there, before it falls on Pern. Emotions are running high and F'lar and Lessa have their hands full trying to keep everything tied together, but will they be able to unite Pern?
This is the second book in The Dragonriders of Pern book and is just as good as the first one in the series. I felt that this book was a little more complex than the first because the author could spend more time on intertwining people's lives since the reader is more familiar with the world of Pern. This will make it a little more difficult for those who have not read Dragonflight, however. I simply love Anne McCaffrey's characters so it is wonderful to have a series where you get to see the characters grow and change. Even McCaffrey's supporting characters are well-fleshed out and fun to read about. If you enjoy fantasy or science fiction or dragons, do not miss out on this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS THE FIRST!, Aug. 22 2002
By 
Iris (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
First of all, read the first book in the series (Dragonflight) by Anne McCaffery before you read this one. Besides why wouldn't you want to, it's as good as this one. As Dragonflight, this book features the adventures of F'lar the Benden weyrleader, his weyrmate and Benden weyrwoman Lessa, Masterharper Roberton, F'nor (the half brother of F'lar) and many other characters.
This book, like the previous one is full of many problems for the characters to solve. It makes this a very good read! The oldtimers, the weyrfolk Lessa brought forward seven turns ago is stirring up trouble. F'lar and Lessa is trying to stop their many schemes.
Then of course there's thread to fight. F'lar also duels with an oldtimer and banishs them to the south. F'nor gets injured and was sent to the southern hold to recover where he falls in love with Brekke. Mastersmith Fanderel invents a distance writing and Flessan (F'lar and Lessa's son) finds hidden rooms in Benden. And more romance between the Benden weyrleaders. Then the dragonriders plan to go to the red star....
Want to know what happens? Then read this amazingly interesting book to find out! I tell you, you're going to stay up all night to read this! (You'll also find that parts correspond with the Harperhall trilogy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When Thread falls dragon riders will save us......, May 21 2002
By A Customer
Dragonquest is one of the three great books I read. I enjoyed these books and I always like to read the book over again. In this book Thread starts to fall in unpredictable patterns due to the orbit of the Red Star. F'nor is injured in a fight where he is placed in the expert care of Brekke. F'nor goes to a cove in southern and finds a fire-lizard clutch. Brekke and F'nor both impressed fire-lizards while wild wherries killed most of them. F'nor impressed a gold lizard and Brekke impressed a bronze. The reason why I liked this series is the dialog and the detail is great. I recommend for everyone to read this book and series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second book in the "Dragonriders of Pern" series., Dec 5 2001
"How to begin?" mused Robimton, the Masterharper of Pern. How to begin this most dazzling and wonderfully imaginative and well written novel done by the much apraised author, Anne McCaffery? Well, how about we add some new and exciting characters (and not to mention the adorable 'miniture' dragons, fire-lizards.) But of course the story wouldn't be nearly as complete without F'lar, the Weyrleader, and Lessa, the Weyrwoman, and don't forget the never-ending thread. Oh, and of course F'lar can't resist but get into another life and death threatning duel.
Their are a lot of suprises in here that you don't want to miss! It's definetly as good as The first book in the trilogy, Dragonflight. I still can't decide which one I enjoyed more. No questions asked, you have to check this book out! You'll find yourself staying up at night under your blankets with your flashlight on all night long waiting to see what happens next. So make sure you have plenty of batteries in your flashlight because this will keep you up all night. I reccomend reading the first book in this series, Dragonflight, before this one so you have a better understanding of this book. (Also check out the reprinted cover version of "Dragonquest" at a local bookstore near you.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent world-building, great characters, but not perfect, Nov. 18 2001
By A Customer
I disagree with Daniel C. Sorbal. IMO Dragonflight is far, far better than Dragonquest. But Dragonquest is still very, very good! They are both very special books.
This book does a great job of developing the Pern setting and some of the characters glimpsed briefly in Dragonflight. F'nor and Robinton both developed into great characters here and there was great further development of F'lar. Kylara was an interesting villainess. I was very disappointed not to see more of Lessa, who is still the most interesting character on Pern to me, but I ate up what I did see of her. I also liked Felessan and Jaxom (who becomes obnoxious in his own book) here. And I don't want to forget the dragons -- Mnementh remains my fave but I love Canth too! The rider-dragon relationships are a huge part of what makes the Pern books so special.
What I loved in this book were the political dynamics of Hold vs. Weyr and between Weyrs, as well as within them. It is fascinating how, because of the dragons' courtship ritual, politics and personal relationships become intertwined, and social values become different.
F'nor emerges as a romantic figure here, but I dislike Brekke & find her overly passive and co-dependent on F'nor. I did not feel sad for her, since she had neglected her responsibility to Wirenth and Pern by pining for F'nor so many years instead of giving a bronze rider a chance. She also put F'nor in a hard position, and was childish: thousands of dragonriders had sacrificed personal preferences so that human beings like Brekke could live on Pern. If Brekke had matured and got stronger, as Menolly does in the Harper books, I might have liked her better.
I thought the Wirenth / Prideth conflict was a convenient plot contrivance. I would have much rather seen the mating flight go through and found out what happened if F'nor failed, or if he succeeded. Either way, that would have been a great story! Felessan tells Jaxom that F'nor and F'lar had a major argument over this, so imagine F'lar's reaction if it had gone through. Esp. since it a F'nor / Brekke pairing would've been politically divisive, posibly fraying F'lar's alliance with the oldtimers, and certainly reflected badly on Benden Weyr. Not to mention the eggs could have been affected. I thought F'lar and F'nor's relationship here was perhaps the most interesting and central to the book, wonderfully done, so I wish there had been more conflict. I also would've liked to see Kylara try to follow thorugh on her plan in regards to F'lar. So I was sorry about the queens.
The Oldtimers became stock villains and changed too much from Dragonflight and too obviously to create a story. I would have liked more shades of gray in their viewpoint, it must be so hard to move 400 years into the future. The Red Star plot also seemed contrived to me; F'lar's impulsive rush was out of character as were Lessa's actions. It put a sour note in F'lar and Lessa's relationship I did not care for.
But I loved the other glimpses of F'lar and Lessa's relationship -- they are so romantic to me! One of my favorite couples ever, just perfect for each other. And I also found Robinton's unrequited longing for Lessa moving. Robinton is another great character here. The wedding scene was wonderful. But Perhaps the central character in the book is Pern itself, a fascinating, complex, panaoramic and well-realized world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, as always!!, June 16 2001
By A Customer
Anne McCaffrey never ceases to amaze me. All of The Dragonriders of Pern series are classics, I should think at least. This book focuses mostly on F'lar, but has a good deal to do with Lessa, the heroine of the previous book. And, that puts to mind the fact that this is not really, chronologically, the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae15b594)

This product

Dragonquest(MP3)(Unabr.)
Dragonquest(MP3)(Unabr
.)
by Anne McCaffrey (MP3 CD - Oct. 25 2005)
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 23.16
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews