Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Haunting
I absolutely loved this book! In true McCammon style, The Five was a wonderful journey of mystery and nostalgia. It brought to mind the "magic" he wrote of in Boy's Life. Beautifully penned throughout, with always another puzzle waiting to be solved, I read it in a few evenings, with a big satisfied grin on my face the entire time. The whole book was wonderful, but the...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Five Gets a Two
McCammon has entertained me in the past but The Five was a long, meandering slumber-fest. As much passion as be brings to the subjects of struggling bands and the music industry, this was at best material for a much tighter novella. It was drawn out and at times there seemed to be bits literally grafted on like a ghostly tale about an old mining town. Meanwhile the main...
Published on March 5 2012 by Jeffrey Swystun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Haunting, Sept. 3 2012
This review is from: The Five (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book! In true McCammon style, The Five was a wonderful journey of mystery and nostalgia. It brought to mind the "magic" he wrote of in Boy's Life. Beautifully penned throughout, with always another puzzle waiting to be solved, I read it in a few evenings, with a big satisfied grin on my face the entire time. The whole book was wonderful, but the ending in particular was beautiful, reminiscent of how Stephen King's It finishes: on a note of sadness, enlightenment, contentment, nostalgia and… hope. Truly he is among the best authors of this era, more than equal in talent to Dean Koontz with his powers of description and fully as gifted a storyteller as Stephen King. This is a book that should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Five Gets a Two, March 5 2012
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Five (Hardcover)
McCammon has entertained me in the past but The Five was a long, meandering slumber-fest. As much passion as be brings to the subjects of struggling bands and the music industry, this was at best material for a much tighter novella. It was drawn out and at times there seemed to be bits literally grafted on like a ghostly tale about an old mining town. Meanwhile the main plot concerning an unhinged vet began well but soon grew contrived (I know the 'real' main plot was more mystic but it did not work). Personally, I found it difficult to get behind any of the characters in the band...they were all in a state of arrested development and not in an endearing or innocent way. The whole thing was bizarre and extremely "talky" so it lacked the thrills usually developed by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, Dec 31 2011
By 
louise corkum (Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Five (Hardcover)
This book reminded me of "Boy's Life"in some aspects.A group of misfit buddys on a journey of growing up and taking responsibly for their lives and the choices they made.A story about a band trying to survive in the music business while being stalked by evil. Interesting and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Five gets 4 STARS, July 29 2011
By 
ken evans (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Five (Hardcover)
Once again Robert McCammon has crafted a well written page turning book. After a ten year absence from publishing, he came back with two incredible historical novels: Speaks the Nightbird & The Queen of Bedlam. This time he has written an exciting suspense novel that was again hard to put down. One of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Très bon!, Jan. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Five (Hardcover)
Ce livre n`est peut-être pas son meilleur mais cela demeure quand même une bonne lecture.L`Histoire renferme une part de suspense tout en traitant de désillusion et de la célébrité dans notre société.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Five
The Five by Robert McCammon (Hardcover - May 30 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews