biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars31
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$28.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2016
It's boring
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
As described. Good delivery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Essential teading
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2014
I enjoy this book to the level that i bought it again as E-book when i purchase my Kindle E-reader
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
Mind reading is exactly what you are doing when you read any book.

The better the mind, the better the book.

What a pleasure it is to read Mark Steyn's mind!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
I wouldn't buy them if I didn't want them. Always good. Especially this author. I need to add more words so. There.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
It takes a lot of guts to tell the truth and Steyn is as gutsy as they come. This book is a sequel to America Alone, but updates the sad decline of unique American values. This is a picture of how America is losing its way and the vision of the founding fathers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
Mark Steyn is back at it again. Hard hitting, funny and factual. How could you not get a chuckle or two reading this book? Oh, at the same time it will drive you angry about the crazy ways that America's politicians have acted in the past decade or so. Mark Steyn has packed this book with facts and just that makes it even more valuable. His previous book "America Alone" was about the decline of the western world sans USA. "After America" is about the impending decline of the United States due to massive spending and growing debt. Steyn warns that fall of the USA will be a catastrophe for the whole world and it will be a nasty thing. Mark Steyn provides the reader with substantial facts and anecdotes that can not be denied. The problem with the US economy is not lack of spending or regulations. He proposes a variety of remedies that might prevent the collapse of the sole super power. This book is an excellent (yet depressing) read for every one. Leftist or right wing, this book is for you. Read it, devour it and give it to your friends and colleagues. I want a strong America and a strong America is good for the world. The current path the US has embarked upon will lead all of us in the western world to agony and collapse. This must not happen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
Makes you scared for the future of your children. The way the welfare state is destroying all virtue and how extreme ideologies will fill the gap when Western liberalism fails. After reading it, the only consolation you get is that it is worse in Canada and the UK.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
The author, obviously an intelligent and well read person has chosen to demonstrate his absolute disdain for his American reader, or any person with any knowledge of life, for that matter.

I was cringing, reading entire chapters as if they were a collage of 15 sec sound bits, suitable for TV ads, selling "whatnots".

He is right, America is loosing its standing in the world, and the quality of life for most of its citizens.

He is wrong, screaming "socialism" and various euphemisms for "the other" political party.

Message received, you are sinking but have absolutely no clue of how to arrest it.

Now, worry about the personal selfishness of your poorly chosen leaders, who all live by the same calendar:

-- This month.

-- Next month.

-- Eternity.

It's been two months now...
0Comment1 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse