Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good book to reference than anything else
I have read many Business Analyst like books and article, this is one definitely far better than others. It does tell you how to use the best practices per project and lets you use you own judgment as BABOK is concerned. One word of caution, the Table of Contents of this is out of sync especially the Template section (actually starts at Page 241 not 231), so you have to...
Published on Dec 30 2008 by Muhammad A. Anwar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference
I think its a very good book that tells you what to do but unfortunately it does not tell you a lot about how to do it.
Published on July 8 2009 by M. Walia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good book to reference than anything else, Dec 30 2008
By 
Muhammad A. Anwar "A Anwar" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
I have read many Business Analyst like books and article, this is one definitely far better than others. It does tell you how to use the best practices per project and lets you use you own judgment as BABOK is concerned. One word of caution, the Table of Contents of this is out of sync especially the Template section (actually starts at Page 241 not 231), so you have to hunt the right pages to read up on something which is a very minor error. I would still recommend this book to anyone who needs quick reference to BA knowledge material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal illustrated reference for BA domain modelling and more, Oct. 1 2009
By 
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
Rely on Howard Podeswa's BA Handbook as a one-stop shop to decipher any new semantics you encounter in the definition of change requirements to be implemented in a software solution. The author cautions that it's not an easy read cover to cover...he's right! BUT, it's invaluable for reference. Say, you're new to UML and your Tech Analyst says: "Oh! boy...we'll need a polymorphic design to implement that lot." No prob...it's in there. You'll be able to say "Right!" and know why. Stick this book where you store your most important BA process assets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference BA Book, April 19 2009
By 
G. Bryson "Red Bearded Dragon" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
A great reference book. It has numerous templates, guidelines & checklist. It also supports both ITIL and UML. Artifacts are well defined: What, When, Where. Why, Alternatives are clearly illustrated. It references IIBA BABoK Version 1.6 (note Version 2 was issued on March 31, 2009).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have tool for any BA!, May 25 2010
By 
C. Ashton (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource for any BA at any level. If you are just starting your career or an experienced BA this handbook is a must have in your library. It is clearly organized and to the point providing the knowledge you need while on the job. It has helped me daily in my job responsibilities as a quick refresher on what tool to use when working on a particular phase of a project. The layout is clear and easy to understand. The templates provided are very adaptable to any enviroment and have become a standard at my place of work. Overall this text is the best reference I have read for the growing field of Business Analysis. It is a great compliment resource to the BABOK and for anyone studying for the CBAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good book, April 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
Content pretty usefull even for beginers and advanced. Am starting my first steps as a business analyst, this book helps me a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great handbook, Feb. 13 2012
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
This book is a must have for anyone that is starting out in this field. Explains in a very clear manner, the terminology, allowing the reader to get a firm grasp.
I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference, July 8 2009
By 
M. Walia "IT BA" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
I think its a very good book that tells you what to do but unfortunately it does not tell you a lot about how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it needs to be, Feb. 22 2014
By 
Joy L Nott (Caledon Village, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
If Business Analysis interests you, this book is a must addition to have in your library as a valuable reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Oct. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
Its a detailed book with explaining Business Analyst activities along with templates and examples. Easy to read and has a good flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best BA Handbook I have ever seen, Jan. 3 2009
By 
Eric Roy (Ottawa, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business Analyst's Handbook (Paperback)
This book is definitely one of the best handbook for any Business Analyst. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Business Analyst's Handbook
The Business Analyst's Handbook by Howard Podeswa (Paperback - Dec 8 2008)
CDN$ 53.99 CDN$ 33.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews