Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Tahiti & a recipe for the Cooks
David Stanley's Moon Handbook, Tahiti: Including the Cook Islands, is one of the most depressing books I have read. As a travel writer myself I picked up the book to help prepare for an upcoming trip and this guide is so good, the world certainly doesn't need another one from me. However, having lived in Vanuatu and traveled many times to Fiji, I'm familiar with David's...
Published on Dec 28 2003 by Ian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An average travel guide
Comparing this guide with other guides for Tahiti, it's just great!!.. It's far more accurate then the others, but those others it's often plain bad.
Most guides are correct about weather, currency, number of inhabittants etc. But when it comes to accomendations, guiding companies etc. it's a completely different story.
I went to Nuku Hiva in the Marquesas...
Published on May 23 2004 by Christian Halle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, thorough book for planning/traveling to SP islands, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Herman Yost (Hinsdale, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Two years ago we went to the South Pacific and covered ten islands, starting in Tahiti and ending in Fiji. In the process, we were fortunate to have the opportunity to meet David Stanley. As a result, when I learned that he had issued the 5th edition of the Moon Handbook, titled 'Tahiti, Including The Cook Islands,' I was intrigued and wanted to compare my experiences and the places and establishments I was familiar with to those of this handbook. The handbook covers six of the islands I visited, three in the French Polynesia group, and three in the Cook Islands - varying from the largest, Tahiti, to the smallest, Palmerston.
I can only summarize my review by saying that I am amazed at the breadth, depth, and current accuracy of this handbook. I am particularly impressed by the manner in which David collects his data in an incognito fashion. It allows him to be factual and not influenced by preferential treatment. I, myself, can not imagine the amount of work and organization it takes to compile all of the facts and data in the book. I agree that since it is the 5th edition that a lot of the material can be brought forward from one edition to another. But the meticulous effort it takes to keep it current is amazing to me. I went through the six islands we visited and could not find an error in the data or a lack of current status.
I particularly found the history section and the sidebars well worth reading and helpful in understanding the people and their culture. Whether it was the life of Pouvanaa A Oopa in Tahiti, of Hinano Beer, or the use of Monoi Oil on Moorea, it helped to understand the culture. Someone might not care about the Tahitian Dance Movements or the Internet Resources - but the book is replete with interesting sidebars.
All of the usual handbook assets are all there, like the range of hotels and their prices, how to get there, etc. But there are added touches such as a glossary of local terms, a dual names section, suggested reading list, and contact information for information offices.
Do I have any negatives? Only a couple. David does not mention that the Papeete harbor, which is the waterfront for the Sheraton and several upscale resorts is badly polluted. I wondered why the resorts wouldn't ban together to at least hire a couple of guys and a rowboat to pickup the floating debris and plastic bottles. My other negative is the title of the book. I don't know who at Moon picked the title, but Tahiti is far from being the only island in the many beautiful French Polynesian Islands. And the Cook Islands and Easter Island should be equally recognized.
In summary, I found the David Stanley book to be the one and only handbook that I will enjoy using for learning, planning and taking for use on trips to that area of the South Pacific. Would that I could have a small, lightweight, equally great handbook for all of my regions of travel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A travel guide that takes you away to a fun adventure, Dec 23 2003
By 
M. Cheek (Morgan Hill, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Stanley's Moon Handbook: Tahiti brings this island region of the South Pacific to life for the adventurous traveler -- or even an armchair traveler like myself. The thorough research and detail of information makes this wonderful book a truly great read. It far surpasses Lonely Planet's guide on Tahiti which skimps on giving color to this tropical Eden.
It's obvious Stanley really knows the region. He gives readers a thorough and clear background on a variety of natural history subjects such as the growth of Pacific coral development and the animals of the Tahiti area such as sharks and jellyfish. We also get a profound examination of the region's human history starting from the prehistoric adventurers who braved the ocean to establish their cultures on the various islands.
Moon Handbook: Tahiti provides travelers with an extensive amount of information to make a trip to these islands memorable. It offers details on shopping tips and transportation resources, advice on how to find the best and most economical accommodations, and suggestions of the best restaurants to try out. The book also is filled with a good number of highly detailed maps that provide readers with a splendid geographic perspective of the Tahiti and Cook island systems.
I read Stanley's book during a rainy week in winter, and it definitely helped me to escape the winter grey of California to soak in the sun of this beautiful paradise on the other side of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great choice for visiting Tahiti and/or the Cook Islands, Dec 9 2003
I have enjoyed Moon Handbooks guides in the past, and this updated 5th edition of Tahiti is no exception. There are obviously other choices out there on the marketplace such as Lonely Planet, but I've always felt that David Stanley's Moon Handbooks are a step above the competition because the guide is written by someone who has actually lived there long enough to really know the in's and out's of each place. I've used guidebooks to find some highly recommended restaurants and had a terrible experience there, and I've found hole-in-the-wall places that aren't covered by the guidebook and had a wonderful experience. I think this is a result of a guidebook writer having only visited each place once and basing a recommendation on one experience, rather than really settle down and get to know each place. The latter is the sense I received when I bought and read Moon Handbooks Tahiti.
Much like the Fiji Moon Handbooks guide, considerable attention is given to the history, culture and people of the area. While this history may appeal to only certain people, let's put it this way... other areas are not spared in exchange for this information, so consider it a bonus over other guidebooks. The real structure of the book, such as the places to stay, places to eat, and activities on each of the islands is as good if not better than I've seen in better-known guidebooks. Furthermore, the maps are unsurpassed starting at entire islands right on down to city centers.
I often take more than one guidebook on a trip to a destination anyway, but if my budget or my backpack only allowed one, this would be the one for Tahiti. Hope my review helps you plan for your trip. Bon voyage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent investment for the traveler to and from Tahiti, Nov. 30 2003
By 
Shawn McLaughlin (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A BRIEF REVIEW OF "MOON HANDBOOKS TAHITI" BY DAVID STANLEY
(with an emphasis on the Easter Island portion)
Anyone familiar with David Stanley's "South Pacific" (one of the Moon Handbooks series) will recognize similarities between its Easter Island coverage and that which is contained in this, the 5th edition of his "Tahiti". And it's apparent that he updates his information regularly (new references to land redistribution and the voyage of the Hokule'a, for example). There are a few errors that I've been told will be addressed in the next edition: Benito Rapahango is listed as proprietor for Mahinatur, for example, despite the fact that Benito died in September of 2002*, plus a few technical errors that probably only archaeologists and anthropologists will notice. He rightly complains about the loudness of the Toroko Disco when staying at the Hotel O'tai (though my solution to this is ear-plugs; I never travel without them). And he properly admonishes people about disturbing bones found at various sites around the island, which includes a new section on how to conduct oneself respectfully on the island (vis-a-vis the archaeological sites). However, a few tourist-oriented corrections are worth mentioning: The ATM outside the bank is open (it accepts Bank of Chile and Mastercard and was operational as of October 2002), and the U.S. airport reciprocity (entry) taxes have gone up to $100 (it was $91 a year ago).
But don't be unduly distracted by this recitation of errors, as they represent a fraction of the coverage that is otherwise clear, concise, and up-to-date. Stanley is refreshingly honest in describing the controversies involving land redistribution and inane development plans (e.g., the 5-star hotel and golf course) -- "one special-interest group clawing against another; the world on a small scale". And he offers extensive details about accommodations that are rarely available elsewhere. His Hanga Roa map is one of the most accurate to date and the two-page spread devoted to Easter Island Internet resources is invaluable.
Although I've focused on the Easter Island portion of the book in this review, I think it's important to note that about 95 percent of David Stanley's Tahiti is not about Easter Island (duh). In fact, of the three main sections of the book, the bulk is contained in the sections on French Polynesia and the Cook Islands. The section on French Polynesia covers Tahiti, Moorea, Huahine, Raiatea & Tahaìa, Bora Bora, Maupiti, Austral Islands, Tuamotu Islands, Gambier Islands, and Marquesas Islands); the section on the Cook Islands covers Rarotonga and the Southern and Northern Groups; and the section on Easter Island covers, well, Easter Island -- but that's what you'd expect unless you are floridly intoxicated after visiting the fruit juice factory on Moorea.
In his very approachable style, Stanley provides loads of information on history, customs, holidays and events, arts and shopping, services, transportation, and lots of little trivia tidbits. His section "Tahiti in Literature" is a rare gem. Two dozen pages at the back of the book are devoted to a rudimentary glossary, a listing of basic Tahitian and French terms, suggested reading, Internet resources, and island facts (which doesn't include Easter Island and indeed any non-"permanently inhabited islands of French Polynesia and the Cook Islands", alas). This makes "Tahiti" one of the best investments for the traveler to and from this region of the world.
One thing that has always impressed me about Stanley's guides is the fact that they're written by him as a traveler and not as a guidebook writer. He travels anonymously when researching his books and thus doesn't receive special treatment at hotels or restaurants. This makes it a lot easier for the reader to trust his opinions. And since Stanley emphasizes mid-priced accommodations and activities, you have a better appreciation of what it's really likely to cost.
Whether you're settled down, heading east, or heading west, with Tahiti at the center and Stanley's very centered information at your disposal, this book will help you find your way.
----------
* Mahinatur is no longer in operation at the intersection of Hotu Matua and Atamu Tekena in the Easter Island village of Hanga Roa but is still in operation. This is the latest contact information from both SERNATUR and Camara de Turismo on the island:
MAHINATUR
Julio Lagos, proprietor
Residencial O Tama Te Raìa
Hotu Matua
phone/fax: 100-220 /100-420
[...]
mahinatur@entelchile.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tahiti Author Reviews Tahiti Handbook, Nov. 27 2003
By 
Robert F. Kay (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm happy to be the first to review this version of Tahiti Handbook which combines French Polynesia with Easter Island and the Cooks. There's nothing like competition to keep one focused and David Stanley has been giving me a run for my money for the past 20 years.
Stanley's own history with Tahiti is advantageous for the reader. He understands the cultural mileu, which provides a sensitivity not shared by most other Tahiti authors. He has had an opportunity to meet some of the more important figures in the country over the past few decades. This includes anti-nuclear activist Bengt Danielsson as well artists, writers and intellectuals.
Having visited the place so often he knows where to put his research time and I can attest has been able to chronicle every decent restaurant and hotel in the country.
The book is well laid out with great maps and helpful sidebars that cover everything from ferry schedules to Internet Resources.
This is one terrific resource you'll want to take before you hit tarmac at Faaa Airport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Stanley's book fantastic!, Jan. 2 2004
By 
Jennifer Martin (Bend, OR., USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Stanley's guide to Tahiti is by far and away the most complete guide to the region that I have found. Having traveled in the area, it is refreshing to find a book that covers not only the high-profile aspects of the region, but also the out-of-the-way, behind the scenes views of the south seas. Mr. Stanley has a way of getting immersed in the culture and the communities but also sees things from a traveler's perspective. His intensive research, along with up to date information make it a pleasant and an enjoyable read. Not only are there plenty of resources listed, but the information given about the history and culture of the islands is fascinating to know before going. The numbers and prices listed are also current enough to be used at any point you decide to make the journey. This book is a fantastic guide to a magical place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good one., April 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Tahiti (Paperback)
This book is a good choice and gives lots of ideas. Caution: give yourself lots of time for planning because there are soooo many ideas! It even tells you specific tour operators to contact and also some to avoid. Helpful maps, information on all the islands of French Polynesia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, June 1 2004
David Stanley has a wealth of personal knowledge of the South Pacific, and it shows. This comprehensive guide to French Polynesia, Rapanui, and Cook Islands is a must for anyone planning to travel to these exotic tropical paradises. Covering everything from history to present day conditions, from the practicalities of getting there to getting around, he tells it like it is. No matter your preffered travelling style, there is a wealth of realistic information to please everyone, from backpackers to luxury seekers alike. You will find this book invaluable; don't leave home without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't think Tahiti was for me, until I read this book., Sept. 5 2011
This review is from: Moon Tahiti (Paperback)
Unless you are planning a trip soon, you'd better not read this book, because once you're into it, you'll be convinced that the South Seas are going to be the next destination for travel. Once I started this travel book, I couldn't put it down; the maps and pictures are very detailed as is the route to take and daily living expenses and accommodations available. Of course, it is hot, but the sceneery, the experiences are unforgettable and I haven't even left the house yet! Good Job, David Stanley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to paradise!, May 12 2011
By 
L. C. Henderson (Velddrift, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon Tahiti (Paperback)
Moon Tahiti, the 7th edition of renowned traveler David Stanley's work in the Moon Handbooks series, is as comprehensive, up-to-date and enlightening as ever. Containing 47 detailed and easy-to-use maps, the guidebook describes the must-see sights, activities, restaurants, and accommodation available not only on Tahiti, but on all the other islands in French Polynesia as well, including invaluable insights into tourist highlights on Moorea, as well as on the Leeward, Austral, Tuamotu and Gambier, and Marquesas Islands. In addition, in his inimitable environmentally aware way, he provides an informed analysis of the land itself, its flora and fauna, its history and government, its economy, its people and culture, and the arts and entertainment opportunities granted by French Polynesia, so that the book is a valuable source of information for tourist and armchair traveler alike. For the former, he supplies a chapter on such essentials as transport, visas and officialdom, customs, and health and safety, while for those who wish to approach their trip with the added insight to be gleaned from other sources he provides a glossary, phrasebook, and a list of suggested reading and Internet resources.

That Stanley truly loves these islands is clear from start to finish. His intimate knowledge of the islands is rivaled only by the fluency of his writing. His balanced outlook on French Polynesia allows him to retain an objective stance throughout, enabling him to pinpoint both the merits and the demerits of the islands. For example, he doesn't hide the fact that the cosmopolitan city of Papeete becomes a ghost town on Sunday afternoons, as "life washes out into the countryside," so best avoid at such times. Stanley's style is concise and factual--he provides you with a great deal of information in a limited number of words. His main intent is to give a complete picture of each place so that you can make informed decisions about how you wish to spend your time in the islands. Stanley consistently keeps the primary focus of the reader in mind, so that no matter whether you are more interested in sports, culture and the arts (his references to the leading French Post-Impressionist, Paul Gauguin, are numerous), the natural beauty of the islands, or the more historic and religious aspects of French Polynesia, you are bound to find much that appeals to your palate.

Moon Tahiti is well illustrated throughout with black-and-white photographs of local architecture and scenes, in addition to maps of many of the 118 islands and towns that form part of this archipelago set in the South Pacific Ocean. Stanley also provides a great deal of background information on various cultural practices, aspects of island lifestyle and fascinating biographical overviews of outstanding local characters that he sensibly sets aside in text boxes scattered throughout the main text, so that they do not disrupt the flow of his central argument. If you have ever dreamed of listening to the rustling of palm trees swaying in the breeze while watching islanders gyrate their sinuous bodies in time to the rhythm of exotic melodies, this book is for you. As Stanley writes, "Welcome to paradise!"
[Reviewer for BookPleasures.com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon Tahiti
Moon Tahiti by David Stanley (Paperback - Dec 28 2010)
CDN$ 24.50 CDN$ 17.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews