Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in...
Published on Aug. 4 2007 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Published 7 months ago by kendai


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission, Aug. 4 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in terrorist combat. In this case, following the rules of engagement seems to have led to the deaths of many SEALS and other American military personnel . . . as well as the deaths of many enemy combatants.

The story of Lone Survivor focuses on a mountainside battle during which four SEALS were outnumbered about 35 to 1 by Taliban forces that were protecting an al Qaeda leader. The SEALS were in a tactically compromised situation with no adequate communications to call for help. The SEALS defended themselves as vigorously as anyone could, and three of them died despite amazing heroism and great training. The fourth SEAL, Marcus Luttrell, survived only through the grace of God and the protection of Pashtun tribe while being tracked and menaced by the Taliban.

Before the battle, Lone Survivor moves backward in time to describe how Leading Petty Officer Luttrell became a SEAL and how even that intense training wasn't nearly as demanding as combat turned out to be. The book concludes with his rescue, recovery from his wounds and illness, and fulfilling his promises to his comrades.

There's a lot of heartbreak in this story. You'll be changed by what you read and how you feel about what happened.

As an American, I feel very proud of those who serve in the American Armed Services and feel enormous gratitude to the elite units for the special risks and rigorous training they endure for our sakes.

But never would I have imagined that duty would call four "frogmen" to battle so many Taliban on a mountainside near the roof of the world. We should all honor the sense of duty that leads brave men and women to answer the call to go so far beyond what it would seem mere mortals could hope to accomplish to protect us all.

May God bless our troops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating right to the last page..., May 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's certainly a lot of 'chest-thumping' and 'flag-waving' going on (especially in the beginning of the book), but if you bear with it, you will not be disappointed. These guys put themselves through so much just to be the front-line men of the global chessboard and they deserve your attention and support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of the heroes who fought and lost their lives for our freedom in Afghanistan., Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recommend this book to those that are interested in what really happens in war and what it takes to be a soldier of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What an amazing read. The work and dedication to be a SEAL is mind blowing. Marcus did a great job of writing about an emotional, tragic experience that honours the sacrifice of his fellow soldiers. I am in awe of the dedication and fortitude that these men demonstrated. I have the utmost respect for their sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ONe of the most heart wrenching, gripping books I've ever read. Once operation Red Wing starts you will not be able to stop reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, May 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although there are some inconsistencies in some of the fact (ie. number of Taliban attackers) the underlying reselling of the battle is staggering. A great read book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Oct. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good story I love the Seals , and what they stand for ,courage ,brotherhood ,never leave any one behind glad I bought this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highs and lows of the human condition, Aug. 12 2013
By 
Sterling D. Huskins "tight line" (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am continually amazed at what a human being can endure and still survive. It amazes me that a person is willing to undergo even the training that is necessary to become a SEAL, let alone embarking on missions later. At the same time I respect those who are willing to sacrifice their lives so that our freedom from tyranny can be maintained. What Marcus Luttrell and his pals endured during that operation is beyond belief. The fact that he survived to tell the news is even more unbelievable. This story shows how low people can stoop in order to support a cause in which they believe, while at the same time it shows the positive side of human nature when people rise to great heights to support a noble cause. To experience and survive such an ordeal, in spite of the training and preparation, must take a horrible toll on one's emotional and physical well being. If the time should come when there will no longer be any war, men like Marcus will no longer be needed. However, in the meantime, we must respect what they stand for, and remember their sacrifices with glad hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every person that I have talked to loved this book despite the wide variety of people I ..., Aug. 25 2014
This book is a must read for anyone and everyone. Every person that I have talked to loved this book despite the wide variety of people I know who've read it, stop reading this review, and start ordering the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews