Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in...
Published on Aug. 4 2007 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Published 11 months ago by kendai


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission, Aug. 4 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in terrorist combat. In this case, following the rules of engagement seems to have led to the deaths of many SEALS and other American military personnel . . . as well as the deaths of many enemy combatants.

The story of Lone Survivor focuses on a mountainside battle during which four SEALS were outnumbered about 35 to 1 by Taliban forces that were protecting an al Qaeda leader. The SEALS were in a tactically compromised situation with no adequate communications to call for help. The SEALS defended themselves as vigorously as anyone could, and three of them died despite amazing heroism and great training. The fourth SEAL, Marcus Luttrell, survived only through the grace of God and the protection of Pashtun tribe while being tracked and menaced by the Taliban.

Before the battle, Lone Survivor moves backward in time to describe how Leading Petty Officer Luttrell became a SEAL and how even that intense training wasn't nearly as demanding as combat turned out to be. The book concludes with his rescue, recovery from his wounds and illness, and fulfilling his promises to his comrades.

There's a lot of heartbreak in this story. You'll be changed by what you read and how you feel about what happened.

As an American, I feel very proud of those who serve in the American Armed Services and feel enormous gratitude to the elite units for the special risks and rigorous training they endure for our sakes.

But never would I have imagined that duty would call four "frogmen" to battle so many Taliban on a mountainside near the roof of the world. We should all honor the sense of duty that leads brave men and women to answer the call to go so far beyond what it would seem mere mortals could hope to accomplish to protect us all.

May God bless our troops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating right to the last page..., May 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's certainly a lot of 'chest-thumping' and 'flag-waving' going on (especially in the beginning of the book), but if you bear with it, you will not be disappointed. These guys put themselves through so much just to be the front-line men of the global chessboard and they deserve your attention and support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading - authentic and powerful, March 22 2009
By 
Stewart Kiff (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is as advertised, a solid well written first hand account of one young SEAL's desire and ordeal in become a SEAL, followed by his first hand account of the terrible battle where he was the lone survivor of a small kill team inserted into the Hindu Kush mountains early on in the Afganistan War.

I haven't given this five stars because it is not at the same level as the great eyewitness battle accounts - such as With The Old Breed by E.B. Sledge.

Nonetheless,I strongly recommend the book with the caveat that is is a very good book, but not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of the heroes who fought and lost their lives for our freedom in Afghanistan., Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recommend this book to those that are interested in what really happens in war and what it takes to be a soldier of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What an amazing read. The work and dedication to be a SEAL is mind blowing. Marcus did a great job of writing about an emotional, tragic experience that honours the sacrifice of his fellow soldiers. I am in awe of the dedication and fortitude that these men demonstrated. I have the utmost respect for their sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ONe of the most heart wrenching, gripping books I've ever read. Once operation Red Wing starts you will not be able to stop reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, May 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although there are some inconsistencies in some of the fact (ie. number of Taliban attackers) the underlying reselling of the battle is staggering. A great read book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Oct. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good story I love the Seals , and what they stand for ,courage ,brotherhood ,never leave any one behind glad I bought this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful book, Oct. 19 2009
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is about a Navy SEALS mission gone horribly wrong. The action is intense, and it certainly was a very dramatic mission. As the title says, the author (main author) was the only survivor. Even that was touch-and-go for most of the battle and the days following it. The book really is split into three parts:

1- Training to be a SEAL. Same stuff as usual. We know it's really, really, REALLY tough.
2- Family at home. The community rallied around his family when word came that he was MIA (missing in action). Very impressive.
3- The actual combat. It was a brutal fight, against surprisingly tenacious opponents. Still, it was probably at least 80 against 4. Maybe as many as 150 against 4, so I suppose that boosts one's confidence. The SEALs definitely fought like the killing machines they were trained to be. There is never an official casualty count, but I'd wager it was in the dozens, if not scores.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but it is plagued by several inconsistencies. First, I should say that I tremendously respect the author's efforts under fire, and the incredibly brave actions of his comrades as they died. There's no denying that level of bravery. Plus, the author was (and likely is still) suffering from PTSD and survivor-guilt. Having said that, the major point of the book is an ethical dilemma that the author deeply regrets. It leads to frequent rants against the "liberal media". Well, first, much of the media isn't liberal (Fox anyone?). Second, the consequences of bad media versus what happened are not remotely on the same plane. Third, I still don't get why the commanding officer didn't just make the decision. I thought the military wasn't a democracy. Fourth, the author is a devout Christian, and from that perspective, there wasn't any decision to make. Finally, from a military perspective, the decision highlights the job of SEALs- to do tough jobs under tough restrictions. Without that issue, the author and his team wouldn't have been needed. The Air Force could have done the job just as well- actually, better. There's a few other contradicting viewpoints in the book (raging against fighting crappy wars, but that was Bush and the right's fault, not the left!), commenting on modesty in the same breath as mentioning that someone (unnamed) was the leader of their class, etc.

But I'm willing to cut the author some slack. He was a very dedicated and relatively bright soldier, who went through absolute hell. The fact that his book isn't always consistent probably reflects internal inconsistencies that he has to wrestle with himself. So as an accurate book, this deserves a 4/5. If you can read it with a more questioning view, it reveals some really interesting details about the author that I don't think he meant to show, and that makes it an even more interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 12.26
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews