Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in...
Published on Aug. 4 2007 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Published 8 months ago by kendai


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor, Faithfulness, and Heroism during an Impossible Mission, Aug. 4 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fictional thrillers about elite combat units pale by comparison to this true story. All Americans should read this book to learn what our armed forces are doing to prepare for and engage our terrorist enemies . . . and how difficult and dangerous those tasks are. The book squarely poses the question of whether military or civilian lives should have greater priority in terrorist combat. In this case, following the rules of engagement seems to have led to the deaths of many SEALS and other American military personnel . . . as well as the deaths of many enemy combatants.

The story of Lone Survivor focuses on a mountainside battle during which four SEALS were outnumbered about 35 to 1 by Taliban forces that were protecting an al Qaeda leader. The SEALS were in a tactically compromised situation with no adequate communications to call for help. The SEALS defended themselves as vigorously as anyone could, and three of them died despite amazing heroism and great training. The fourth SEAL, Marcus Luttrell, survived only through the grace of God and the protection of Pashtun tribe while being tracked and menaced by the Taliban.

Before the battle, Lone Survivor moves backward in time to describe how Leading Petty Officer Luttrell became a SEAL and how even that intense training wasn't nearly as demanding as combat turned out to be. The book concludes with his rescue, recovery from his wounds and illness, and fulfilling his promises to his comrades.

There's a lot of heartbreak in this story. You'll be changed by what you read and how you feel about what happened.

As an American, I feel very proud of those who serve in the American Armed Services and feel enormous gratitude to the elite units for the special risks and rigorous training they endure for our sakes.

But never would I have imagined that duty would call four "frogmen" to battle so many Taliban on a mountainside near the roof of the world. We should all honor the sense of duty that leads brave men and women to answer the call to go so far beyond what it would seem mere mortals could hope to accomplish to protect us all.

May God bless our troops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating right to the last page..., May 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's certainly a lot of 'chest-thumping' and 'flag-waving' going on (especially in the beginning of the book), but if you bear with it, you will not be disappointed. These guys put themselves through so much just to be the front-line men of the global chessboard and they deserve your attention and support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of the heroes who fought and lost their lives for our freedom in Afghanistan., Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recommend this book to those that are interested in what really happens in war and what it takes to be a soldier of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read But Heavy On Non-Combat Events, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This man certainly deserves all the medals and praise he received for his heroic actions in Afghanistan. The telling of the actual battle was well done but I found myself skipping through large sections on Seal training and events at home while listed as missing in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What an amazing read. The work and dedication to be a SEAL is mind blowing. Marcus did a great job of writing about an emotional, tragic experience that honours the sacrifice of his fellow soldiers. I am in awe of the dedication and fortitude that these men demonstrated. I have the utmost respect for their sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ONe of the most heart wrenching, gripping books I've ever read. Once operation Red Wing starts you will not be able to stop reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, May 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although there are some inconsistencies in some of the fact (ie. number of Taliban attackers) the underlying reselling of the battle is staggering. A great read book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Oct. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good story I love the Seals , and what they stand for ,courage ,brotherhood ,never leave any one behind glad I bought this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous Heroes, May 14 2008
By 
Glenda Fowlow (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
What a great read - a must for those wanting to expand their horizons. Bone chilling story of a four man SEAL team sent into Afghanistan to kill a Taliban leader - they were unsuccessful, but the background information and their courageous actions are well worth reading about. I applaud their dedication and determination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent true story, Aug. 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Oh my, what can I say?! An excellent eyewitness account of an amazing survival story told by Marcus! We saw the movie prior to reading the book and were not disappointed. If anything the book was better. My teenagers all read this book and enjoyed learning about the intense SEAL training. The book also went into more detail about the relationships the men shared and their personal lives. I would highly recommend this book, especially for any parent wanting their older teenage or adult son who are bored of reading . . . They won't be bored with this book! Well done, Marcus and thanks do much for sharing. You and your survival are truly one of Gods miracles on earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 12.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews