Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic game, very impressive book
An absolutley huge book! While it is easily recognized as a version of D&D 3.5, it does represent a big improvement in key areas. Classes no longer have "dead" levels, lower level characters are more survivable, combat manuevers such as grapple no longer need a phd in math to figure out. Quality of the book is impressive, with high production values throughout. It can...
Published on Jan. 21 2010 by Chris Papworth

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book in non-mint condition
The book had some damaged page that I had to fix for them not to get worse. Aside from that i'm pretty happy with my purchase!
Published 18 months ago by Anthony Goulet


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic game, very impressive book, Jan. 21 2010
By 
Chris Papworth (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
An absolutley huge book! While it is easily recognized as a version of D&D 3.5, it does represent a big improvement in key areas. Classes no longer have "dead" levels, lower level characters are more survivable, combat manuevers such as grapple no longer need a phd in math to figure out. Quality of the book is impressive, with high production values throughout. It can be a little intimidating for new players that have only played 4e, but man is it worth the effort! My group has switched over to Pathfinder, and even our newest players are so much more satisfied with what this book provides. This is what a tabletop RPG is suppose to be. Highly recommended, just don't throw out your back lugging this beast around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next logical evolution of D&D, Aug. 5 2010
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
While WotC decided to take a giant step backwards and turn their flagship RPG into little more than a slightly more in-depth version of their miniatures game, the people at Paizo picked up the flag where WotC had discarded it and carried it on with a brand new CRB. Pathfinder RPG is to D&D 3.5 what D&D 3.5 was to 3e. The skill system is streamlined, but not dumbed-down, the core races and classes have been tweaked based on years and years of play experience, and you can still use your D&D 3.5 splatbooks with little to no conversion necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Quality and Detail, April 30 2010
By 
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Having only played 1 or 2 sessions of D&D in my life, i was able to pick up this book and it all made sense. They don't presume you know anything of any role playing games. Everything is well laid out and indexed, lots of quick reference tables. Don't let the size intimidate you, its easy to find what you need.

The quality of the book itself is great, solid binding, good covers and great image quality. Very professionally done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mostly fixed 3.5 type game., Dec 11 2014
By 
Ualaa - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Many regard Pathfinder as D&D 3.75. It was released after 3.5 was officially over, at about the same time as the debut of 4th edition. The Pathfinder ruleset has a lot of the 4th edition mechanics, but not all of them. The game is a lot closer to 3.0/3.5 than it is to 4th edition. There are the same basic classes (in the Core Rulebook) as are found in 3.0/3.5's Player's Handbook, classes like Fighters, Rogues, Wizards, Clerics, Druids, Bards, Barbarians, etc. There are twenty levels to the classes. There are prestige classes. There are feats and the skill system is mostly the same.

Perusing the book, I quickly noticed the quality was much higher than I was used to from the products of Wizard's of the Coast. The paper is a heavier grade and the artwork is phenomenal. The books have stood up to the wear and tear of a couple of years of play, as the pass it around the garage (man cave) set. (I have two copies of each book, one for the shared set and one for myself at home).

Mechanically, classes get a lot more for sticking it out to 20th, than they did in 3.5. There seems to be an ability, class feature, feat, or whatever granted at almost every level. There is also a capstone ability at 20th level for most classes. There is a favored class bonus, which grants you a bonus hit point or a bonus skill point at each level that you take a level in your favored class... (if you purchase the Advanced Player's Guide, there are alternate bonuses you can take instead.)

Feats are gained at every odd level, instead of at every third level. That gets each character 10 feats over 20 levels, as opposed to only 6 with the previous version of the game. That opens a lot of doors, as far as builds will go.

The classes seem quite a bit stronger than their 3.5 counterparts, particularly in terms of durability and staying power. If you're looking to multiclass between several classes, you end up with a character a lot stronger than the 3.5 version. However, if you stick with one class all the way, you're in general better off than cherry picking abilities here and there.

Archetypes are introduced in the Advanced Player's Handbook, which essentially let you modify your class by changing a core feature or replacing it with another. While that is not a part of the Core Rulebook, it is worth mentioning because is drastically increases the playability of the main book. You and I could each play a very different Druid merely by taking different Archetypes for that class.

There seems to be a lot more details of the rules than in 3.5. Basically, if you're looking for a rule on something a little more esoteric, there's a good chance you'll find a lot of topics covered in Pathfinder which were straight DM fiat in a previous edition of the game. The DM is still the final arbitrator of the game, subject of course to whether the players want to play in his/her game.

The skill system is a little condensed as well. For example Perception now covers Search, Spot and Listen as the one skill. This is true for several other skills too. Feats, such as Alertness grant a +2 bonus to your Perception and Sense Motive, and the feat scales by giving you a +4 bonus once you have 10 ranks in the skill. That improves the feat drastically as well.

Pretty much all of the options seem to be worthwhile choices.

There are much fewer broken abilities comparatively. Power Attack (and Deadly Aim, which does the same thing for Archery based characters) scales at a fixed rate. You lose +1 attack bonus, but gain +2 damage (or +3 with a two-handed weapon) per +1 that is given up. But the amount of attack that is sacrificed is at a fixed rate, not as much of your Base Attack as you'd like. This ensures your character still has a decent chance to hit, but also that you're not getting an absurd amount of bonus to damage from the one feat.

Melee have a lot more options, a large portion of that comes from having more feats, but each class gets additional features.... The Fighter gets Weapon Group training... which translates into a +1 Attack and Damage (and bonus to Combat Manuevers) with the entire group (Light Blades, Heavy Blades, Archery, Hammers, etc...) and over time you gain additional Weapon Training (which adds +1 to existing groups, while adding a new category). Fighters gain Bravery, which is a bonus to Will Saving throws. They gain Armor Training, which reduces the max Dex penalty associated with the armor along with the armor check penalty for their armor.

Casters are still weaker at lower levels and drastically stronger at higher levels. However, both Sorcerers (from the Bloodlines) and Wizards (from their Specialization) gain several uses per day of an ability that is comparable to a first level spell. Thematically, it is tied to your choice of Bloodline/Specialization. In practice it means that a Wizard does not have to resort to a Crossbow attack (at +0 BAB, and using a secondary stat... Dexterity... to hit) once they've used their one or two Magic Missile attacks per day. There are also unlimited uses of level 0 spells, which is similar to the idea of 'At Will' powers in fourth edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinder Core Rulebook, May 13 2011
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
I like meany others who found that the books for 3.5 D&D now are harder to find than gold ( for a good price ).

I Was sent looking for an alliterative and I found PATHFINDER and I wish that I did sooner the CORE RULE BOOK is in a format that is

ease to follow and the explanations are clear.

I found for the price you pay you get MORE than your moneys worth OVER 500 pages for about the same price as One of the other core

books ( you will need to buy others but This is a good start ).

All the old gang is hear forum the Barbarian to the sorcerer ( and all of them got a make over to ) it is 3.5 OGL Compatible.

As with every new or others version of the game some things are gone or thy got a new title but most of what you know or expect is hear.

The pages are of good quality and the binding is stitched the art work is nice and clean the only thing I find a Little low is the

cover I found it a little light .

All in all this is allot more book than the price would lead you to believe .

If you are new to the game or trying to rebuild or replace your old game books this is the book to start with or just to round out your

set this is it . How to build your character outfit him or her how to master a game how to build a world and the loot to get .( you

will still need to buy a Bestiary book to run a game ) .

Thank you for your time ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to have but can live without it., Oct. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Essential to have, but I find it very haphazardly ordered. It seems to assume that the player has played D&D before but not everyone has (including me). It seems to skim over the basics of gameplay and character setup which a newbie like me may not be fully aware. It also uses terms in the beginning/basics that are not explained until way later or in another book.

I am happy I have it and it is available to me during campaign but I find myself googling most things I need or using the Paizo website. It just takes too long to find things in the book or it might not even be in there! But it is still nice to have. I'm kind of torn on the star rating but I will give it 4 since the quality of the book is good, it just needs a better organization applied. It is mostly just a supplement. A tablet/computer/phone with access to the Paizo or other websites would have all the same information with easier access to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinder is my new love, June 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
A few months back a friend asked me to join a Pathfinder campaign and as skeptical as I was, I showed up for a session and fell in love.

I have played video game RPG's and even used to play the old school Hero Quest game way back when, but jumping into D&D wasn't something I ever thought I'd do. Now, I wish I had played table tops years ago.

This book has everything you need to get started with over 500 pages of character development tools like races, classes, feats, equipment and everything else. At first I thought only the GM should have this, but now I feel it's a must for all players.

I would highly recommend picking this up if you have a group of friends that have been interested in gaming but haven't jumped into table tops yet. It's a very easy to understand game with only about an hour or so learning curve. Grab some Chessex dice and pencil and get gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to buy!, Oct. 6 2010
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
I tried playing 4th Edition of D&D and was disappointed. I refuse to call it that game but Pathfinder did a great job of balancing some rules, making characters more unique, and i found it to be an overall awesome addition to the RPG world. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasently Surprised!, June 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
As always I am late to the game (any game), and I finally got around to picking up Pathfinder. I was excited to see inside, since I am a devout fan of the 3.5 rules set. It is a very large book, a great dollar value with Amazon's prices! Cover and binding are well-done, typesetting is fun and legible, and the artwork is fabulous. I really enjoy the styles used for the artwork, it's refreshing to me and it alone provides so much inspiration. As far as my opinion on the rule changes I am still undecided. Some are great ideas, others I question. Nonetheless I highly recommend this product to any 3.x edition fan, if only for the artwork and ideas for house rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great game!, Nov. 30 2012
By 
Stefan J. Knibbe "Stefan Knibbe" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Basically, pathfinder is D&D 3.5, with most of the bugs fixed. It does have come of the flaws inevitable to role playing games of this complexity. Making characters is time consuming (especially casters, my goodness), you will inevitably forget about a host of your own abilities because they are either entirely useless or useless 90% of the time, and its easy to mess up rules or make a character who just sucks by comparison to other characters. However, familiarity with the game solves all these problems, and there are no simply useless classes. Its plain to see why it is the go to game for so many of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Core Rulebook by Jason Bulmahn (Hardcover - Sept. 1 2009)
CDN$ 57.50 CDN$ 39.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews