Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Stoking the Halo of Hatred
Very few books are worth reading with a pencil in hand. Most fit Stephen Donaldson's description of a novel as "throwing words at a short story."
The Everlasting Man demands to be annotated. Chesterton's prose is masterful, his wit and sarcasm are triumphant, but most fundamentally, his arguments are pointed and illuminating.
Chesterton provides a method and a...
Published on June 20 2003 by Arthem

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, lousy edition
I loved this when I read it years ago in another edition. This version, unfortunately, is marred by tiny print and typos. I counted four errors on one paragraph, and finally put the book aside.
Published on Jan. 27 2012 by Carleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Stoking the Halo of Hatred, June 20 2003
By 
Arthem "arthem" (Knoxville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
Very few books are worth reading with a pencil in hand. Most fit Stephen Donaldson's description of a novel as "throwing words at a short story."
The Everlasting Man demands to be annotated. Chesterton's prose is masterful, his wit and sarcasm are triumphant, but most fundamentally, his arguments are pointed and illuminating.
Chesterton provides a method and a practical goal. His method is to examine preconceptions by going out of context; to picture our reality as if we were strangers. The goal is to compare the secularist, religious, and dogmatic views of man with this external picture.
His conclusion is in the recognition of Christ as The Distinguishing Event which bears no contrast or comparison with history before or since. Along the way, he dices up comparitive religion, takes a poke or two at Spencer & Darwin, relegates Islam to a heresy (albeit a "respectable heresy") and thoroughly demolishes the concept of secularist rationality.
Among the more profound of Chesterton's recognitions is in the strange continuity of the Church. A little apologetics is involved, but I get the impression that his discussions are intended more for comfort to the faithful than butressing his already-established arguments.
Overall, a thoroughly engaging read. My only negative criticism of the book is the dexterity of Chesterton's references and citations. I probably missed more of his allusions than I caught. In some ways, it reminds me of Swift's Gulliver's Travels - we all get the "Big end/Little end" allusion to Protestant/Catholicism conflict, and the ancillary references to France/England, etc. But only by reading thorough criticism do we find that Swift was referring not only to massive social events, but also to specific individuals and practices. Without a key from contemporary society, there is no way for us to "get" Gulliver's Travels. And I fear that this is true of "The Everlasting Man" as well. Which only goes to prove some of the points of the book itself.
I wonder if Chesterton planned it that way?
Finally, I cannot help but cite the end of Part I as an example of the brilliance of the writing and the theme. Referring to the first Christians in Rome, and the Roman persecution, Chesterton writes: "And there shone on them in that dark hour a light that has never been darkened,; a white fire clinging to that group like an unearthly phosporescence, blazing its track through the twilights of history and confounding every effort to confound it with the mists of mythology and theory; that shaft of light or lightning by which the world itself has struck and isolated and crowned it; by which its own enemies have made it more illustrious and its own critics have made it more inexplicable: the halo of hatred around the Church of God."
Grand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Look Out Darwin,Watch Out Modernists...Here's the Truth", Nov. 13 2001
By 
Johannes Platonicus (South Bend, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
Gilbert K. Chesterton's "The Everlasting Man," is more than just a philosophy of history, in fact, it is more than the average run-of-the-mill Christian apologetic as well. It is a work vast in erudition and loaded with sharp witticism. It is a work brimming with insightful logic and religious lore; and it by far surpasses many works of its kind in the twentieth century...possibly since Augustine's "City of God." The book begins upon a paradox: a history of the prehistory of man. Chesterton explains the very genesis of humankind as being strictly human. He expounds upon man's earliest religions from the cave all the way to the Incarnation, which is the central theme to this work. Chesterton also elaborates upon some of the prevalent heresies of the Early Church, shows how the Catholic Church was the church that Christ founded, and ends the book with captavating irony - the five deaths of the Faith...just look for yourself. This book is a timeless classic and a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Everlasting Chesterton!, June 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
G. K. Chesterton was certainly one of the greatest apologists of the 20th century. I can't hope to surpass the excellent reviews already documented here, so I'll simply praise Chesterton and his work. His ability to document the truth of Christianity with his typical wit makes him a must-study for all aspiring apologists. The Everlasting Man should be required reading for all seminary students. Chesterton is proof that one doesn't need to abandon reason to be a Christian. "The Man at war with his time" had more sense than all the atheists of his time combined. All skeptical atheists should stay away from Chesterton, unless they wish to lose their beliefs. Chesterton's orthodoxy, elucidated with Heretics and the aptly- named Orthodoxy, will inspire many for centuries to come. As Gilbert himself said, "People always talk about orthodoxy as if it were something heavy, humdrum, and safe. In fact, there was never anything so perilous or exciting as orthodoxy." If you read Chesterton, don't come as a critic. The critics have already failed. Come as a seeker, and drink of his oasis of common sense in a desert of professional jargon and sheer craziness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great book in the Chesterton Tradition, Dec 20 2001
By 
Adam Marischuk "amarischuk" (Summerland, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
Chesterton is one of the great authors of our time and this book is no exception to the rule. Though I prefered the book St. Thomas Aquinas: the Dumb Ox, by him, The Everlasting Man is none-the-less a fantastic book.
As an answer to G.B. Shaw and H.G. Wells, Chesterton skillfully defends the Catholic and Christian against the modernist attacks which claim that Science and Religion are in conflict. Aquinas would be proud himself of Chersterton's use of Aristotle, who even Darwin claimed to be "the greatest biologist in history".
I highly recommend any Chesterton book to any reader interested in the history of philosophy, theology and man's origens. Also, you don't need a doctorate or a thesaurus to read Chesterton's witty writing.
Adam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Edition, Jan. 28 2012
By 
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Hardcover)
I loved the book and in fact bought this hard copy for that reason.

But this edition is horrible, the introduction stops abruptly after a few paragraphs. You will also find the 'o' in "do" replaced with a zero and the 'h' in "had" replaced with a 'b'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, lousy edition, Jan. 27 2012
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
I loved this when I read it years ago in another edition. This version, unfortunately, is marred by tiny print and typos. I counted four errors on one paragraph, and finally put the book aside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, but not for beginners, Dec 25 2009
This review is from: Everlasting Man, The (Paperback)
This book is among the best of the 20th century. As many other reviewers agree, it's just as relevent today as it was in 1925.

Unfortunately, many readers today will have a distinct disadvantage that will render them illiterate to some of the major points that Chesterton hammers home: the modern reader generally lacks a classical background. If I had read this book mere months before when I actually did, I would have either been lost in parts, or I would have simply ignored those parts and moved on to the next paragraph. Chesterton assumes that you have are familiar with much of Greek and Roman history, as well as many of the major classical myths. Do not read this book unless you have these. It is well worth the preparation, because this book deserves to be understood.

Now that that's said, I'll start praising the book. It's about a myth -- the only myth that uses human history as its setting. And as all good myths do, it strives to entertain, humanize, and instruct. Chesterton makes the reader well aware that his book will attempt to embellish and make us realise that our world truly is magical. His writing is long and musing, but never boring and always relevant to his points. The style of writing is symbolic of his purpose: to show that we do not live in a world of immediate facts, but in a beautiful portrait that deserves to be appreciated by humans, not robots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Apologetic, Oct. 22 2001
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
There seems to be many mistakes about chronology of Chesterton and Lewis. Chesterton died before C.S. Lewis's books really hit the scene. Chesterton 's writings were profoundly influential on Lewis as well- and The Everlasting Man is no exception. This is the definitive work of what might be called "The Old Apologetics" and as such it demands our attention. Chesterton's apologetic runs mostly not in an exegetical trail but in historical and literary ones and forces thinkers outside the field of theology and religion to pay heed to the exacting (and immensely consoling claims) of both Christ and his Church. It is through literary technigue that Chesterton is able to engage us in the topsy-turyvydom of Christ as a Child in the Cave and engages us in history to really confront our unspoken prejudice that the Roman Catholic Church did whatever was in its interest for power and greed. Chesterton asks us- If the Church was so interested in power why did it cast aside the Empire during the reign of Julain the Apostate and other Arians-the very political entity that had thrust the Church into the mainstream was refused a voice in determining its doctrines. So much for the theory that the bishops were just power hungry mongrels.
The later chapters dealing with Christian history are especially adept at understanding the intellectual pendulum swings that accompany heresy. One quote should suffice in bringing to our attention teh gifted prose and insight which we all attribute to this great bombast of faith:Here he is speakign of the apparent historical "deaths of the faith"
"There are people who say they wish Christianity to remain as a spirit. They mean, very literally, that they wish it to remain a ghost. But it is not going to remain a ghost. What follows this process of an apparent death is not the lingering of the shade; it is the ressurection of the body. These people are quite prepared to shed pious tears and reverential tears over the Sepulchre of the Son of Man; what they are not prepared for is the Son of God walking once more upon this hills of morning. These people, and indeed most people, were indeed by this time quite accostumed to the idea that the old Christian candle-light would fade into the the light of common day. To many of them it did quite honestly appear like that pale yellow flame of when it is left burning in daylight. It was all the more unexpected, and therefore all the more unmistakable, that the seven-branched candle-stick suddently towered to heaven like a miraculous tree and flamed until the sun turned pale. But other ages have seen teh day conquer the candle-light and then the candle-light conquer the day."
Surely this is the prose of one of the most gifted and unfortunately ignored writers of the past century. Chesterton has been called by some "A Master without a Materpiece" but after reading this book one wonders whether some Masterpieces could equal this Master's "Significant Work"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Philosophical Defense of Christianity, Dec 21 2014
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Audio CD)
“The Everlasting Man” is history, philosophy and theology interwoven to tell the story of how Christianity is a unique religion one that has guided man from his pre-Christian state to the modern one in which he more closely understands his world and his place in it.

This book combines historical record with rational thought, all leavened by G. K. Chesterton’s wit. It requires concentration to draw the most from this tome. I think that I missed much of its import for a number of reasons. First I do better with written works and I listened to an audio version. If you are like, me, pick up a book. Second, I can devour history but get much less enjoyment out of philosophy, which is a major constituent of this book.

I recommend this for readers who seek the essence of Christianity that satisfies the longings of peoples’ souls. If you enjoy philosophy and will give it the focus and reflection that it deserves you will uncover a gem. Maybe I will get a book and give it another try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wait a minute....so you're saying it all MAKES SENSE?, May 19 2002
This review is from: The Everlasting Man (Paperback)
Chesterton sits down, props you on his lap, and spins a strange yarn here in The Everlasting Man, his Christian apologetic masterwork. This story that he tells sounds familiar, because we've heard of all the characters before, and we know in advance what actions they are responsible for. But for some reason, the history of the world according to Chesterton's pen sounds new and fresh all over again. His goal is to present the Incarnation of Christ as the centerpiece of all human history, and does so by painting that same history with colors to which we are not accustomed in our rationalist world. His greatest achievement here is to convincingly show that human history is a great adventure with a PURPOSE, and without Christianity this purpose can never be identified or even be real. If the world is a creation of an omnipotent God, as Chesterton thinks we all either explicitly or implicitly believe, then why is it so insane for us to think that this God may have some interest in the progress of His creation? Why must humanity necessarily function entirely outside the influence of its loving Creator? Chesterton shows that not only would the other possibility exist, but that it is actually the only possibility. We see the grand strokes of this God's paintbrush throughout the adventure of humanity, from the "caveman" to pagan society to Christ to Christianity to the so-called deaths of the Faith to the present day. The key of the Faith fits the lock of life. Of course it does, because the key and the lock have the same Author.
This is not a work only of philosophy and theology, but also of humor and creative ingenuity (and Chesterton would hesitate to give any credit to the former two if they lacked the latter two). It does contain expressions regarding ethnic groups for which we must substitute the modern polite equivalent in order to understand Chesterton; his language was different from ours is today and he should not be misconstrued. His scientific knowledge is limited even for his own time, and it shows when he treats scientific topics; however, his aims are not to prove or disprove scientific truths. So I think that if you sit down to read this book for the reasons that Chesterton would have you read it, you will find plenty of reasons to appreciate it. Christians should read this book for the faith-affirming truths it contains, and non-Christians should read it if for nothing else, for its humor. Staunch atheists and Church-haters should be very afraid of this book, and I encourage them to read it. They will not find many "arguments" to refute, only a beautiful affirmation of what Christians have known all along: that our world is not a random belch of nature, that human beings are religious beings not because of some grand joke but because they were made that way, and that God dares to disregard our own scattered and contrary wills and take a hand in our own salvation. When Chesterton gets done with this crazy world, it somehow all seems to make sense. Why is it so hard for people to allow themselves to see the beauty and hear the music that Chesterton sees and hears?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Everlasting Man
The Everlasting Man by G. K. Chesterton (Paperback - Feb. 8 2008)
CDN$ 8.55
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews