Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMPELLING NARRATION OF THIS INTRIGUING THRILLER
Audie Award nominee David Thorn delivers an appropriately chilling reading of Lackberg's compelling story. His well modulated voice carries the listener from the lead character's initial shock to the inexorable revealing of dreadful secrets. An accomplished voice performer Thorn has a goodly number of children's book and classics to his credit.

Losing her...
Published on Dec 30 2010 by Gail Cooke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars little town blues
This novel deals with life in a small Swedish town, and events a quarter of a century earlier which ended in at least two deaths. A woman, her wrists slashed, bleeds to death in her bathtub, covered with ice, preserving her body until it is discovered. Subsequently, an outcast ne'er-do-well artist, her boyhood friend and possible lover, is found hanging in his flat...
Published on July 25 2010 by Ted Feit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMPELLING NARRATION OF THIS INTRIGUING THRILLER, Dec 30 2010
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ice Princess (Audio CD)
Audie Award nominee David Thorn delivers an appropriately chilling reading of Lackberg's compelling story. His well modulated voice carries the listener from the lead character's initial shock to the inexorable revealing of dreadful secrets. An accomplished voice performer Thorn has a goodly number of children's book and classics to his credit.

Losing her parents was trauma enough for 35-year-old writer Erica Falck, but returning to her hometown of Fjallbacka only to learn of the death of her childhood friend, Alex, proved to be almost too much. Alex was found with her wrists slashed, frozen in an icy bath. Her demise was presumed a suicide. Although they had been close as children Erica and Alex had been estranged for almost a quarter of a decade - she is puzzled by the death of her once beautiful friend.

Alex's family asks Erica to write a remembrance of Alex, which she readily agrees to do. However, when an autopsy shows that Alex did not take her own life but was murdered and furthermore she was pregnant previous assumptions are tossed out the window.

Erica joins forces with detective Patrik Hedstrom to investigate the case. Eventually dark secrets are revealed, which may well destroy the fabric of that once peaceful small community.

Lackberg's novels have continually topped bestseller lists in Sweden and THE ICE PRINCESS was named Best International Crime Novel of the Year. Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars little town blues, July 25 2010
By 
Ted Feit (Long Beach, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ice Princess (Hardcover)
This novel deals with life in a small Swedish town, and events a quarter of a century earlier which ended in at least two deaths. A woman, her wrists slashed, bleeds to death in her bathtub, covered with ice, preserving her body until it is discovered. Subsequently, an outcast ne'er-do-well artist, her boyhood friend and possible lover, is found hanging in his flat. Both apparent suicides are subsequently determined to be murders, and therein lies the beginning of a tale.

The book is nominally a murder mystery. However, so many extraneous sub-plots and characters clutter it up that the reader becomes bogged down in unnecessary verbiage and unrelated information, slowing down the reading and detracting from the otherwise excellent story. If only a sharper pencil or even a re-write had been applied to the novel, it would have been far superior to the book as published. Nevertheless, it is still worth reading because the main plot and the unfolding of the investigation are well-done. Which is more than can be said for the character development.

Writer Erica Falck seems merely a foil in place of the author, and her new boyfriend, Patrick Hedstrom, is more wooden than alive. As for the police superintendent, he's not even funny, as it appears he is supposed to be. Most of the other characters merely fill in blanks. Given the fact that Lackberg has written seven books that have dominated Stockholm bestseller lists, these observations surely are surprising. That said, the novel is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Thriler, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a really good read - I enjoyed the development of the characters (patrick & Erica), having read some of the series out of order. Well written, excellent plot, I couldn't stop reading until the end.
Best if you read the series in order.
I have read all 7 now, waiting for #4 in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow developing murder mystery, Jan. 4 2014
The story starts with an apparent suicide but after that the story slowly develops and becomes more complex with the final explanation being quite a twist but logically developed.
Although a murder mystery there are considerable sub plots and in depth descriptions of the characters and locations unfortunately although I liked the story I thought that the characters were one dimensional and I had trouble relating to them I am not sure why but perhaps they are sometimes over described for example ("Elna' double chins quivered with excitement, and Erica thought she looked like a fat little sparrow. Her woollen coat was shades of green and covered her from her shoulders to her feet") it carries on in this vein for a while but I have copied this extract to show the style of writing. It is a book to be read slowly to make the most of it, some reviewers have said that they have scan read it so that they read only the main plot, if you want to do this it is not worth getting as the main plot would only make a short story. My only criticism with the plot is that the police seem so inept and finding a couple of the main clues which should have been obvious are left to the main female character Erica, an author who is writing a book about the events as they happen, to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For lovers of the Millenium series this is a great new Swedish author to explore. Complex plots but not difficult to follow. Plan to continue to read more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect shipping, July 5 2009
By 
Linda Redding (SF Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ice Princess (Paperback)
Although the package was addressed to me in the US, the invoice and book inside the package was for someone in Paris, France. I returned the package to Amazon. When I contacted Amazon.ca about the correct replacement order, the book was no longer immediately available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ice Princess, Sept. 12 2010
This review is from: Ice Princess (Paperback)
The book that I ordered arrived earlier than expected.

I was very happy since I was anxiously awaiting it.

The book arrived in perfect shape.

Delia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ice Princess
The Ice Princess by Camilla Lackberg (Hardcover - June 15 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews