summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars70
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Leather Bound|Change
Price:$28.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 31, 2001
The nice thing about the Pantheon edition is that the translation tends to be quite literal, so it's a very good one for someone learning German to use side-by-side with the original. (Plus the stories are great!)
Oh, and by the way: The Brothers Grimm were not folklorists, but linguists (besides making a huuuge German dictionary, they were the ones showed that German, English, Dutch, etc. are related to Greek and Latin). The reason they collected folktales is because they were looking for dialect-specimens and this is an old linguists' trick--you get a much purer version of speech in the (linguistically) relaxed folktales than you do in interviews.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2003
Much has been written about the content of the stories and comments regarding violence and harshness have been discussed. Today's "wordly-wise" young people see this sort of thing on television and in the movies. Reading classics written years ago, as fairy tales is both educational and enlightening. Not for the very young, but certainly stories pre-teens and young teens can find interesting. I read them as a pre-teen and they still linger on today. Don't be afraid of Grimm's Fairy Tales. They are enduring classics through the ages!
Evelyn Horan - author
Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Books One - Three
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
I don't know if this is real leather or not, but if it is, holding the flayed skin of an animal has never felt so good.

Absolutely beautiful book, and my only problem with it was how protective I was of it when I had it out. The gold paint on the pages do seem to come off, but that's more because of my sweaty hands and less of the actual book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
I bought this book as a birthday present and am very happy with it! It has a great look to it and the ribbon bookmark and gold tipped pages add a nice touch to the genuinity of the book. This is definetily a collectible type looking book. The only thing is I would have maybe liked if the cover looked more ages since it is a classic afterall, but that will definetly come with lots of use out of it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
In (almost) perfect condition, just some minor dents on the front of the pages. Beautiful cover, strong spine, soft pages, excellent stories and product all around. Awesome book by all meanings and delivered fast. Great buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Beautiful cover! the pages are thin and might be a bit easy to rip. I find that the stories are translated the way they should be. Great book for anyone considering buy the complete grimm's tales.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
I'm having a great time reading these stories to my eleven year old daughter at bedtime. She's fascinated by the stories and it helps expand her vocabulary as she asks me what some of the words mean. The binding is nice, the book looks great and the fact that it has all the Brothers Grimm stories in one compilation is nice.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2000
Even if your not a scholar, this tremendous read-aloud reaches all the way back to the voices of the oral tradition, whose rich language and images will transport you to a magical state of being. The Frog King begins "In olden times when wishing still helped one, there lived a king whose daughters were all beautiful, but the youngest was so beautiful that the sun itself, which has seen so much, was astonished whenever it shone in her face." Try that at dusk or by candle light, and see if an awed hush doesn't fall over your listener(s)!
For those with a more serious bent, this is perhaps the most accurate English translation of the Grimm's recordings of the oral tales. The complete collection lets you compare the patterns and rhythms of language and story line. The introduction by Padraic Colum and end commentary by Joseph Campbell (some 30 pages) are an added treasure. This version is frequently used by Waldorf teachers, and is "must have" for all primary teachers and families with children.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Just got it today and it fits with my other leather bound books from Canterbury Classics. Read a review about it being sold for about $20 then going to over $100. The only explanation I can give for that would be that it went out of stock and was only available through a third party seller who's looking to cash on on it being unavailable.

Also this book has a different cover than originally shown. This one has images on it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
I wanted many many many Grimm stories, and I got them. As far as I know most are original, for the most part. Many entertaining and perfect for a quick read while waiting or just because!!! Perfect for re reading to yourself, or sharing with others
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse