biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 14, 2015
If you haven't tried Joe Beef, do yourself a favour and go, now. The place is simply amazing, everything is fresh and flavourful, plus the owners have a very unique view on cooking and running a restaurant. Obviously, most of the recipes are on the heavy side, so I wouldn't advise cooking these recipes everyday, but if you feel like indulging in rare treats, just like the restaurant, go for it, this book is perfect. Hell, even if you don't cook any recipe, the book is worth reading, especially the intro written by David Chang.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
Love it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
This book is a beautiful excess -- glorious recipes are unabashedly over-the-top, with fantastic combinations to make your tastebuds drool. An oral history of Montreal and Quebec from the vantage point of two souls who love their province in all of her messed-up glory. Foie gras and horse meat are included, along with thoughtful musings on how to garden above the 49th parallel, why brown liquor is usually a bad idea, and bacon cubes to match the seasons. Morin and McMillan are revered -- this is clear proof as to why.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
Pretty book. This is full of real food, big hearty food that will rock your taste buds. The book shares several stories that make for an entertaining read. We refer to this book regularly for tasty fill your belly chic dinner ideas.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
This is not just a book of recipes (thought the ones included are unique and decadent in many ways), it'a a book about food culture and why food matters. Great insight into Montreal, great stories, historical tidbits and beautiful photos.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
The book is a good translation of what the restaurant offers. Challenging recipes paired with easy ones.
Check out the Lobster Homard for sure.
However, I didn't open the book for sometime, and when we did, noticed that many of the inside pages were damaged. Likely a printing error, which Is why I give only a okay rating.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
I find the this book being way to heavy as with most of its dishes and have little balancing. They are great for cool weather...good energy food for any place with long cool fall and winter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
After browsing the free preview, I decided against this book. Regardless of the praises, this book appears to contain a lot of unhealthy recipes. Not to mention recipes with foie gras and veal, which I don't support. It appears to be a great metropolitan tablepiece, but not a great Canadian cookbook. I'd rather eat there if I ever go to Montreal than make this kind of food on a consistent basis.

I think Steven Poole has it right here:

http://www.amazon.ca/You-Arent-What-Eat-Gastroculture/dp/1908526114/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1357040104&sr=1-2
0Comment0 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2012
This is an amazing book for anyone who not only enjoys excellent cuisine, but a well written description of it. Bought it for my husband who can't get enough of it. Plan to buy it for gifts!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
Obviously nothing beats the treat of eating at the Joe Beef restaurant in Montréal but this cookbook is a great treasure that will guide you in recreating the lobster pasta and other treats at home ;)
Full of history, philosophies of food and a great aray of recipes, this makes for a perfect gift.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse