Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the game!
This book is a great way to catch up on your Diablo lore (a lot of which is a little different than it had been in the previous two games) and check out some neat artwork. It was very well put together. If you're a Diablo fan, this is a must.
Published on March 13 2012 by Michael

versus
3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The TL;DR
My name is DerpHerpaDerp, Brother of Derp, Sister to HerpaHerp, Lord of Derpistan, Knight of Derpsville, Derper of the Derp tribe, Derped Derper of the Derps.

For... every... character...
Published on March 29 2012 by CriticalThinker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the game!, March 13 2012
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
This book is a great way to catch up on your Diablo lore (a lot of which is a little different than it had been in the previous two games) and check out some neat artwork. It was very well put together. If you're a Diablo fan, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, Feb. 14 2012
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
I am a long time Diablo fan and I collect a lot of gothic/demonic/medieval stuff. This book is just perfect for me. Not only it is great to read, but it looks fantastic and the quality is really good. I even think of getting a display stand or something. The pages are thick and look old, the artworks are incredible and the cover has a nice texture, it's worth more than the 26$ I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great material on the Diablo lore., Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
The presentation and layout of the book is superb. I love the artwork and the way they tried to make it appear like an old and weatered tome via the page design and coloring of each page to make it try and appear weathered. Though the game did not capture me quite like the second, I do have to admit that Blizzard is able to craft some amazing art with the talented artisits and writers they have at their studio. Fans of the Diablo series should thoroughly enjoy this book, and in general fans of fantasy based art and dark gothic lore should find this enjoyable as well. Buying it at below cover price makes this that much better in my opinion as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are Diablo fan, this is a must buy!, May 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
I cant really add much more to this review than what has already been posted, however as a fan of the series I found this book very well done. The story and lore of the Diablo universe is explained very well and fills in a lot of gaps and information between the games. References are also made to the Diablo novels from time to time, but if you havent read these you dont lose anything from the Book of Cain. If anything I want to read these novels to gain more information about the lore.

The book itself is very well done, and the pages have a worn parchement look with the handwritten notes from Deckard in the margins are a nice touch. Also in the back there is an envelope with a map of the world on a parchment, the paper itself has a worn texture feel. A very nice addition.

Overall the quality of this book is top notch and well worth the price, especially for Diablo fans. If you love the universe and want to learn more, or brush up on the lore, this is book worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations quality-wise, May 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
As a Diablo newbie, I simply happened upon this official collector's piece for the new Diablo III game. First of all, I had received my order from Amazon near immediately (within a couple days), of which I am super satisfied. The product arrived in immaculate condition.

Now, the guide. I must say, it's quality of print FAR exceeded my expectations. I expected the same old glossy hardcover with cheaply printed pages (as you would find with most Prima guides), and received a book with a beautifully embossed, matted cover, and the pages themselves are thick and feature perforated edging. Really cool collector's piece.

Admittedly, I have yet to read the whole thing. I have a good quarter of the book read, and it's just super neat. Again, as a Diablo newbie, I have zero difficulties comprehending the deep Diablo lore and truly getting excited for the full game.

Wicked book for collectors ( I almost want to frame it and hang it on the wall!), and best way for newbies to catch up on the deep storyline that is Diablo. Super agreeable price too. Says $35.00 USD on the book...got it for a considerable amount less thanks to Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Identify all, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
Excellent lore source and a great collectible. Chris Metzen's Diablo universe has always been one of the more appealing fictional worlds for me, with its decidedly Biblical take on good vs evil and the genesis of a world being more interesting than anything from Tolkien and his legacy. Book of Cain is Blizzard's effort to consolidate a backstory and setting that began almost 2 decades ago with the first game. While Diablo 3 stands as its own game, fans of the older games will find in BoC a welcome refresher on the characters, events and places of the universe before plunging back into Sanctuary and beyond.

The print is gorgeous as each page is filled to the brim with either text and drawings or a bit of both. There's quite a bit of content to chew through, and because of the nature of the product, is more unique than any simple artbook, tie-in novel or walkthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for any lore-seekers, April 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
Diablo 3 Book of Cain was surprisingly better than I initially anticipated. Coming from a loyal following of Diablo games, I never really got into the books and lore, so for me this was a bit of a gamble as to whether i would gain enjoyment from reading it. Turns out, the book was amazing, everything from the initial look and feel, to the art, to the details and refreshment of the story of Sanctuary, i thoroughly enjoyed this read. To any Diablo fans out there gearing up for Diablo 3, i highly recommend picking this one up. The anticipation for Diablo 3 release has never been higher, and Diablo 3 Book of Cain is to thank for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Lore Will Love It, Nov. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
A must have for any fan of the lore surrounding the Diablo games. The book goes into great detail about the back story of the games and characters. You gain a lot of insight into the world that Blizzard made with the games.

The look and feel of the book is very Gothic and it looks nice sitting on your book shelf. I would highly recommend getting this over the more recent Book of Tyrael which is really just a rehash of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Diablo need this!, Feb. 14 2012
By 
D. LeBeau - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
The book is well designed and good quality. As to the contents of the book, I was pleased. There is plenty of background covering all the major actors. In addition the now official lore has been streamlined and made coherent. You no longer need to go online or pull out the manuals for your old games.

I wish this was included in the collector's edition, but it's still a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality product with a blend of art and background fiction., July 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
Wonderful book and quality design. Nice blend of art, information, and genuine antiquity that really immerses you in the lore of the Diablo universe. Like the Book of Tyrael, this book is not necessarily for those interested in only the artwork of Diablo III, but does contain some artwork accompanied by lots of text to studying the fiction behind Diablo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diablo III: Book of Cain
Diablo III: Book of Cain by Deckard Cain (Hardcover - Jan. 10 2012)
CDN$ 47.50 CDN$ 29.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews