Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am now a successful investor! Thank you Robert and Sharon!
I have read many books on investing and picked the ears of mnay successful investors as well as so called experts. But aside from Peter Lynch's excellent books, I have never found so much powerful information as I did in Rich Dad's Guide to Investing.
Robert Kiyosaki and Sharon Lechter have produced another winner right where Rich Dad Poor Dad and Cashflow Quadrant...
Published on June 20 2004

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repetitive
while i find kiyosaki's (RK) earlier 2 books (rich dad/poor dad and CF quadrant) very motivating and helpful in changing my mindset, i am finding his message repetitive. there is nothing substantially new in this book. pleasant fun inspiring reading, but bottom line: vague generalities, nothing that can specifically be used, other the motivational stuff. it's kind of...
Published on Aug. 13 2003


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repetitive, Aug. 13 2003
By A Customer
while i find kiyosaki's (RK) earlier 2 books (rich dad/poor dad and CF quadrant) very motivating and helpful in changing my mindset, i am finding his message repetitive. there is nothing substantially new in this book. pleasant fun inspiring reading, but bottom line: vague generalities, nothing that can specifically be used, other the motivational stuff. it's kind of like crack, it's a hard habit to get off reading his stuff, but, in the end, i think his advice is awfully dangerous stuff. i became rather skeptical of what he was writing when he started strongly pushing multilevel marketing (MLM) towards the end of CFQ, truly slimy stuff that MLM. looking into this guy's story some more, i'm learning that this guy's book only started taking off when Amway started pushing it, thus he feels he owes them something. then there's all this stuff about the rich dad being a fake. people who have looked into the story can't figure out who he is. he has said rich dad died, then changed his story that he is still alive and in hiding. people in hawaii have tried to figure out who rich dad is, but basically it seems that either the guy is a figment of RK's imagination, or the accomplishments of "rich dad" have been widely overstated. RK also tried to pass it off that rich dad was a "composite" of several people he knew. after that, i lost all respect for this guy, he's really just another Carleton Sheets. people who have tried to research RK's real estate dealings (all supposed to be on the public record) state that his records can't be found, and RK's answers to specific seem to be extremely evasive. his statements in his books about his real estate deals seem to be very exaggerated, possibly completely fictional. this guy is a quack, his books are how he makes his money now. that said, believe it or not, i would STILL recommend the first book in his series(RD/PD) for the general financially uneducated public (like me), because it is STILL a good book, from the point of inspiration. of course, i didn't know he was such a quack at the time. anyway, i'll never buy any more of this guy's products, he's stolen enough money from me. i regret buying this last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am now a successful investor! Thank you Robert and Sharon!, June 20 2004
By A Customer
I have read many books on investing and picked the ears of mnay successful investors as well as so called experts. But aside from Peter Lynch's excellent books, I have never found so much powerful information as I did in Rich Dad's Guide to Investing.
Robert Kiyosaki and Sharon Lechter have produced another winner right where Rich Dad Poor Dad and Cashflow Quadrant left off. This is must reading for investors who want to make money, not just circulate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable if you need to change your Investor Mindset, Aug. 9 2002
By 
Concerned But Powerless "loqutous" (Mount Vernon, NY United States) - See all my reviews
I have a read a number of the negative reviews and I think I understand their criticism, so I wanted to give my perspective and why this book is so important to me. What Kyosaki brings front and center in this book is the fact that the way an investor looks at a business (he creates) is as a vehicle to generate income using OTHER people's assets. The CEOs of the last three startups I worked for pitched ideas to OTHER investors and VCs which then gave them MONEY to start the business. They took some of that money as a salary, some as dividends and used this money to invest in. The power in this is that they didn't work really hard for someone else, save their money and invest, they took other investor's (and some of their own) money hired other people to work for them and invested the dividends and salary.
Additionally, he makes clear that there is risk in investing, but the best way to reduce this risk is to increase what he calls your financial intelligence. What he means by this is the knowledge and wisdom about the whatever investment vehicle you are using that you will gain by reading about it, taking advise from experts in the field (seminars, classes) and probably most important doing it making mistakes and learning from those mistakes.
He makes it clear in the book what his rich dad told him: "most people will try these things, not do very well and give up", "the best advise to give the average investor to be more successful is not to be average", "focus less about having the best product or service or idea and instead focus on having the best SELLING . . ."
He also states in several places very valuable pieces of information that gave me insight into how he thinks and works. He stated how he became rich by learning about owning corporations and LLCs and LLPs and used them to invest in real estate. He gave a due diligence list that he uses to evaluate apartment buildings. He even confesses at his 30% success rate in investing in different investment vehicles.
The most important thing I learned from playing CF 101 was that you have to play the game to be rich. I have become rich in the game and gone bankrupt sometimes, but I would not have any chance at financial freedom if I did not play at all.
So I would recommend you use this book as a guide and not a hand book. It will help to give you some of the emotional intelligence to deal with the pressure and risk involved with investing. But if you don't start or you give up you will never be rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a little redundant, Oct. 11 2006
Although Kiyosaki's books are more "mind-altering" than "how to" type books, the third book in the Rich Dad Poor Dad series goes over some of the same concepts and ideas covered in earlier and later books. The Cashflow Quadrant, the contrasts between his two dads, etc-. Moreover, he uses too many metaphors and analogies, i.e. the 3 "e"s of successful invesors, the 7 investor controls, the Business Triangle, and so forth...

In general, although Kiyosaki's books are a good place to start looking with regard to becoming indepently wealthy, but may be too simplistic or may lack direction for those ready to proceed to the next stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life, April 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Incredible.... there are always parts of a book novel etc where you may learn a thing or two but this entire experience has been amazing. Don't spend more money than you have to. Get this book read it and then do some research. Educate yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn from mistakes, Sept. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Dad's Guide to Investing: What the Rich Invest in, That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not! (Paperback)
It tells you how rich investors think, what they buy to make sure their money works for them. You’ll see how to reduce risk of your investments through financial literacy, and how to learn from mistakes, yours or others’; and how to build a successful business. You will be ready to create a financial plan for yourself and to choose what kind of an investor you want to become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugghhh..., July 9 2003
By A Customer
This book was recommended by a teacher, but am now questioning their logic and obvious lack of research ( something I always like do). Not only have I come to a conclusion about what another investor "quack" this guy is..but even more suprised a person like Oprah should know better and check the background and facts of their guests before letting frauds on her show..a ratings ploy for sure. Real shocker. C'mon O, your better than that!
This book was popularized not by merit, but by Amway (MLM company) and it's marketing "shout it to the world" ploy.
I have no need for this stuff, and I'm sure some people are going to get hypnotized by the wishful thinking, vague ideas and let downs of education. That in itself is very dangerous. The author should of been happy to have a great dad like his own, instead of knocking him down. Shame on him!
It's too bad you can't give a book -5 stars, b/c misleading people and buying into this hype is dishonest and impractical, and geez, investing in overpriced products is a sure fire way to start investing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CONSPIRACY OF HIS OWN, Sept. 19 2009
Yes RK is a highly motivational speaker and can stimulate the rest of us to seek to improve our financial IQ...we just should not leave it all to him. It is very clear to me, having read only one of his books,(Before You Quit Your Job), that he uses one book to market the other in addition to his games and seminars, yet he offers no actual concrete recipes...as another reader put "vague generalities". Even his trained associates Sharon Lechter and her lawyer husband have their advise cropped down to generalities in their exerpts in order to tempt you into reading yet another RichDad book. As with investing, our reading needs to be well diversified as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER WINNER BASED ON AUTHOR'S WISDOM, July 4 2004
By A Customer
I am a fan of Robert Kiyosaki. On the book shelf next to me is his CD and workbook course titled "Choose To Be Rich" (produced by Time Life) bought at a live lecture in 2002 in Fresno, California where he took the time to autograph the course for me after he spoke even though he was trying to get away to get to the airport. So I have made it a point to read all the books he has written as he has walked his talk. In addition to this book, I would recommend that readers have on their bookself to read and constantly refer to "Making Dollars With Pennies: How The Small Investor Can Beat the Wizards On Wall Street," by R. Max Bowser. This book is also by an author who after many years created a system that enables investors to become wealthly over time. It is available used and new on Amazon.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Am I only one with Brains here, March 26 2011
This book was such a waste of time. The only reason I read this book because I got it for free and I am still regretting reading it.

There is no secrets. This books doesn't teach you anything. Any Guy off the street can motivate you. Nothing useful. The only reason you have heard this book is because of marketing.

A complete waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfab3144)

This product

Rich Dad's Guide to Investing: What the Rich Invest in, That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not!
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews