Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The message is one of love, kindness
The world population ( not just those in recovery) would benefit from reading this book. The message is one of love, kindness, compassion, empathy, service, and how incorporating benefiting others into who we are, expands and blesses our own soul. This book is spiritual in nature and exercises itself from religious dogma that so often sees through narrow self promoting...
Published 13 days ago by canrancherboy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars but, thats okay, you gotta try it to find out , right ?
in my opinion its " dry " . but that's my opinion. someone else might think its just great. main thing, is when I don't like a book, I donate it to the women's shelter, where hopefully someone who has time on their hands will find it beneficial.
Published 7 months ago by brian husband


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The message is one of love, kindness, Dec 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
The world population ( not just those in recovery) would benefit from reading this book. The message is one of love, kindness, compassion, empathy, service, and how incorporating benefiting others into who we are, expands and blesses our own soul. This book is spiritual in nature and exercises itself from religious dogma that so often sees through narrow self promoting sanctimonious blinders, while missing its original inclusive messages in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A VERITABLE TREASURE, Dec 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
RORH HAS GIVEN US A WONDERFUL AND FULFILLING INSIGHT INTO THE SPIRITUALITY OF THE 12 STEPS AND
RELATED THOSE INSIGHTS TO THE CHRISTIAN SCRIPTURES. THIS BOOK IS MOST HELPFUL FOR THOSE WHO
ARE WORKING THE 12 STEPS AND FOR THOSE WHO COUNSEL THE SAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars but, thats okay, you gotta try it to find out , right ?, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
in my opinion its " dry " . but that's my opinion. someone else might think its just great. main thing, is when I don't like a book, I donate it to the women's shelter, where hopefully someone who has time on their hands will find it beneficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally understanding spirituality, April 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
One of the best books on spirituality I have ever read. It also comes with a study guide [ free] for individual or better yet group study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!, April 10 2014
This is such a gift ... to those embracing12-step recovery AND to people seeking to follow the way of Christ. It out to be mandatory reading for every seminarian and theology professor alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Insight, Sept. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
I really like this book. I am fairly familiar with the 12 step process but found Fr. Rohr's explanations and commentary most insightful. He has given me much to think on and I enjoy his writing style. I have also read "Immortal Diamond" which I would also recommend to those seeking food for thought and a different way of looking at one's spiritual life. Yes, he has taught me quite a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, Aug. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author brought original perspective to 12 Steps. His perspective points to the relevance of spirituality, and how our awareness needs to be coupled with action for effective implementation of these steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathing Under Water and Radical Grace, March 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
Purchased on the recommendation of my spiritual director. Read it on Lenten retreat and it engaged me with the Spirit in a whole new way. You have to read, meditate and do a bit of work. The result was literally life changing. A new sense of the closeness and love of God and a whole new perspective on the addictive nature of our western society. Recommended for people in and out of 12 Step programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide, March 13 2012
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
This book is one you will want to have physically in your hands. It is not a novel. It is a book for anyone who wants to understand life and to live a better life. You may want to reread it, underline special sections that speak to you personally and keep it for future reference. It helps one see life in a new way. It is for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Paperback)
Enjoyable reading!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps
Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps by Richard Rohr (Paperback - Sept. 13 2011)
CDN$ 18.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews