Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SmartSaver SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars232
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$29.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2013
I had been waiting for a book like this since i originally heard about its release in japan, even arranged for a copy through friends/family. This book has everything a collector wants to know about a series. Times lines, concept art, character design, idea's that didn't make the games, etc...
This book weighs a fair bit due to the glossy paper and hard cover and you can easily beat a Ganon with it. I love the alternative art for characters through the games and the rich story it tells you. As an added bonus you even get a 32 page manga in the back the predates the Skyward Sword game.
Not gonna post any spoilers but if you love playing Zelda as much as me get this book. The only games it doesn't timeline are the short ones with no real plot like Links crossbow training and the Links game & watch game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 25, 2013
Got this as a gift for my boyfriend since I was low on cash. First off, best price compared to any store, even walmart. Two, my boyfriend loved it. He thought it would be kind of cool as a fan, but once he read it he LOVED it. He's been a huge Zelda fan since the beginning and he reads parts of it and now wants to be playing all the games again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2014
This book is nice but there's too much emphasis on the newest game, the skyward sword. For example: there are 65 pages of concept art for Skyward sword, while there are only 4 pages for the original Legend of Zelda, and Ocarina of Time, arguably the most important game ever made, has only 6 brief pages. I would have preferred an equal coverage of all the main games in the series, or coverage proportionate to how important or historically significant a game is rather than how new it is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2013
The exterior of the book looks absolutely beautiful. I'm not sure exactly how the (super limited) collector's edition differed from the standard edition, but I have no complaints about how this one looks. The cover is beautiful and sturdy, and the pages themselves are nice and big.

The interior of the book is just absolutely incredible, chock-full of concept sketches and ideas. It's quite unevenly distributed: there's heavy emphasis on Skyward Sword (for good reason I suppose), as well as relatively heavy emphasis on Twilight Princess and (a little bit surprisingly) Spirit Tracks. I'm a little bit sad that the book didn't expand so much on Wind Waker on Ocarina of Time, but nevertheless there are still many new things I learned about the games. The official timeline is also a very interesting read.

Overall, my money was very well spent, a must-have for any Zelda fans!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2013
As a longtime (and hardcore) Zelda fan, as soon as this book was released in Japan, I joined the movement to have it localized for other regions as well. I have been awaiting this product for over a year now, and I can gladly say this purchase has been more than worth the wait. At such a low cost, this book about all things Zelda contains exclusive art, information, words from the creators, manga and more presented with an unrivalled finesse. You are paying to get The Book Of Zelda, to put it shortly. I can assure any Zelda fan out there that you will not regret picking this one up to add to your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I've heard a lot of people complain that this book is too deeply focused on Skyward sword and not enough on any of the other games. This is unfortunately true. A large portion is reserved for Skyward sword, but being the latest game in the franchise, and considering that it's also the first game of the official timeline, it;s understandable why they made it so.
That being said, the entire book is amazing. Anything that you need to know about the Zelda universe can most likely be found inside. The hardcover is gorgeous with gold and green. The book includes a lot of stuff. The Official Zelda Timeline with detailed descriptions of how each game ties into the next. Like I said, there's a portion reserved for Skyward sword, and then some concept art and details about the other games in the franchise. There's a catalog of each game and even a manga of Zelda at the end.
They were very thorough with the brakdowns, covering seriously like every character ever and most of the enviroments.
Just buy it, seriously if you love Zelda just buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
No. Nintendo did not intend for The Legend of Zelda (TLoZ) to become what it has when they first created the first iteration of this game in 1986; but this game has gone on to spawn a legacy of fun innovative titles, and The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia is the perfect companion guide to anyone who is a fan of the games, the artwork, or the stories that this series has inspired.

Though the games were not initially planned to be connected, the geniuses behind Historia have woven a thread throughout TLoZ universe which brings our favourite franchise into new perspective, and sheds light on many unanswered questions in the series. I won't ruin anything for those of you who have not read this volume, but know that your questions will be answered in ways that you could not have possibly predicted, and that those answers will not only satisfy, but leave true fans eager to see where the series goes next.

I for one am thrilled with the quality of this volume, the artwork and detail that have gone into every page make this a fantastic item to own. Whether you are a fan of any one game in the series, or the full franchise, this is a book that should be on every gamers shelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 21, 2013
This book is large, and solid - first impressions are great. The weight of the paper is nice, it's bound well, the cover is classy without being too dramatic and there's a wide range of art and text covering the entire history of the Zelda series that's interesting enough for even idle fans (like myself) to peruse.

It is, however, heavy on the art, and very heavy on more recent Zelda games - namely Skyward Sword. This makes sense as the book was originally published in Japan as a promotional piece of sorts to accompany Skyward Sword's launch, but it's a bit disappointing to see so few pages dedicated to the classic Zelda games in comparison. This goes doubly due to the age of those games and the difficulty in finding development tidbits and art compared to how much Skyward Sword information is available online.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
I think this book is really great, it has the entire history of all The Legend of Zelda game and amazing artworks, it brought a lot of memories back.

As a fan of the storyline of what happens if the hero is defeated (NES and SNES Zelda games) more specifically The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, I was a little bit disappointed at the fact that about 50% of the book is about only one of the 13 games of Zelda (now 14 with A Link Between Worlds), that is Skyward Sword. There was only about 3 pages of A Link to the Past which wasn't enough in my opinion.

Overall, I strongly recommend this book for the people that really loves The Legend of Zelda.

As for the shipping (With UPS), I was supposed to get the book in 5 days, took 2 days to get it, thank you Amazon and UPS.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
As someone who's really just a casual Zelda fan, Hyrule Historia goes way, way above and beyond what I need from it. For those who are more into the lore of the games, this is an invaluable collectible.

Still, speaking as something of an outsider to the series (have only finished ALBW; meaning to finish OoT 3D; meaning to play TP/SS and getting through Minish Cap), and as a collector of gaming memorabilia, especially artbooks, this is a wonderfully made and lavish effort by Dark Horse and Nintendo. Tons of character designs, production tidbits from Tokyo EAD studio and includes a manga at the end.

It's heavy and substantial; looks great on a shelf or in a stack and serves as a comprehensive tome for all things Zelda.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse