march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars255
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$28.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 30, 2013
I had been waiting for a book like this since i originally heard about its release in japan, even arranged for a copy through friends/family. This book has everything a collector wants to know about a series. Times lines, concept art, character design, idea's that didn't make the games, etc...
This book weighs a fair bit due to the glossy paper and hard cover and you can easily beat a Ganon with it. I love the alternative art for characters through the games and the rich story it tells you. As an added bonus you even get a 32 page manga in the back the predates the Skyward Sword game.
Not gonna post any spoilers but if you love playing Zelda as much as me get this book. The only games it doesn't timeline are the short ones with no real plot like Links crossbow training and the Links game & watch game.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
As someone who's really just a casual Zelda fan, Hyrule Historia goes way, way above and beyond what I need from it. For those who are more into the lore of the games, this is an invaluable collectible.

Still, speaking as something of an outsider to the series (have only finished ALBW; meaning to finish OoT 3D; meaning to play TP/SS and getting through Minish Cap), and as a collector of gaming memorabilia, especially artbooks, this is a wonderfully made and lavish effort by Dark Horse and Nintendo. Tons of character designs, production tidbits from Tokyo EAD studio and includes a manga at the end.

It's heavy and substantial; looks great on a shelf or in a stack and serves as a comprehensive tome for all things Zelda.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
Got this as a gift for my boyfriend since I was low on cash. First off, best price compared to any store, even walmart. Two, my boyfriend loved it. He thought it would be kind of cool as a fan, but once he read it he LOVED it. He's been a huge Zelda fan since the beginning and he reads parts of it and now wants to be playing all the games again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 7, 2013
I got this as a birthday gift for the girlfriend and she went absolutely crazy over this, so it must be a Zelda fan's dream. I flipped through it myself and it's definitely interesting to me at least the way the book touches on all the lore and the gap between the first Zelda and most recent ones. So in relation to the gf's reaction, you should probably put this on a shelf if you love Zelda.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
Good quality book with good production value. Can't complain about it at all.

Only for the most diehard zelda or Nintendo fans. Information is a little boring except for maybe 30% which is great.

Item came nicely packaged so as not to get damaged.

Recommend seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
Great book for zelda die hards. But even then some might not like it. Due to how it feels more of a marketing peice to try and sell skyward sword with how lots of the content in the book seemed focused on that game. So if you are weary of skyward sword steer clear. But if you don't care you will enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
This beautiful hardcover is a must have for any Nintendo/ Zelda collector. The build quality of this book is extremely impressive, hundreds of pages with fantastic images that have vivid colors and an abundance of information any Zelda fan will enjoy.

The only “complaint” that I have is that the book has FAR more information on the most recent Zelda (Skyword Sword) than any other, but the amount of content is still very impressive if you want to learn about older games in the series.

This book could easily sell at a bookstore for close to $100 and still be a great piece for any Zelda fan! Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
Very beautifully illustrated with tones of art work, and summaries of the Legend of Zelda lore. Certainly a fun look for any fan (I say look, as there is little writing in the book, mostly a pictorial chronology). Also a nice way to see how the events of each game fit in the history of the Zelda franchise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
This is a really beautiful book. The quality is very high. It's centered on Skyward Sword, but it does talk about other games too. It has a lot of pages and is big, so the drawings are detailled and beautiful. Good paper quality. To buy if you like the serie Legend of Zelda.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
That's what you're going to find this book. Many many pages of delicious lore about the Legend of Zelda. All through its time line all the good guys, all the bad guys, all the neutral characters, and each of the settings as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse