Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A very hard and very well-managed and great endeavour
This edition of "Lonely Planet China" is excellent. It is better than the previous one, which was very good itself but had some weaknesses. Despite the immensity of China and the numberless topics and regions that have to be covered herein, the authors have done an excellent job indeed. Most of LP's masterpieces are guidebooks to much smaller countries or...
Published on Sept. 12 2002 by Maurizio Giuliano

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent foundation for an enormous destination
I will agree that the LP China is out of date in many places, but in all fairness the only way to bat a thousand would to assign a team of writers working 365/24/7 to cover a nation as immense.
That said, I have to slam LP for misleading buyers that these new editions have much new data. They also put down their host country and that is not appropriate for a travel...
Published on Jan. 12 2003 by rdrake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Beware the book, May 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
To echo the words of other readers, this is disappointing and out of date.
On the second point, bear in mind that many prices have increased (sometimes more than doubled) since this book was published.
On the first, try to ignore almost every recommendation on accomodation and food that the guidebook makes. In many locations the majority of listed restaurants are Western and those that are Chinese are poor quality, high priced and seem to be recommended only for having an English menu. Go somewhere else, point, go for pot-luck or learn a little Chinese before you go and you'll enjoy everything much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good for package tourists; not for exploration, March 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
They say that everything you hear about China is true somewhere. Everything you read in LP China may also be true somewhere but unfortunately not always where you are. Originally published in August 2002 this book is well past its prime. It is still superior to the Rough Guide but could use a serious update. Speaking of which the overleaf promises guidebook upgrades on the Internet but they discontinued this in favour of user discussion.
Pricing - the cost of tea in China, you say? Like most things in China, prices are in constant flux and I question the value of including them. They are more misleading than helpful. Tourist attractions will generally be higher than what the book says but other prices will be close.
Locations - I live in the city of Wuhan and in the last two year it has undergone tremendous changes. There is simply no way for a printed book to keep up with them. For example, in the last six months the bus routes in WuChang have changed four times.
If you are going to travel around China be flexible! Expect that nothing in the guidebook will be where you expected. Expect to bargain for everything, hotel prices included. Remember that any guide book is only a starting place. As I have travelled around southern China I have used this book as a starting point and then asked the locals what they would do. Most have never been to the "tourist sites" but can show you a great street restaurant just around the corner.
This book is great for those thinking of going to China but who will never make the trip, or for those who are going on a package trip to fourteen cities in eight days. For those who want to explore China on their own I would advise caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Crap, Feb. 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
This book is so bad. If I could give it 0 stars believe me, I would. Many of the things listed in this book no longer exist. I went to one city and all 4 places listed in the LP as budget accomodations were no longer in business. Maps were incorrect. Attractions were listed with one address and placed elsewhere (and incorrectly) on the map. It would help greatly of it had more Chinese of the locations listed so you can show cab drivers. I finally gave up, chucked it into the trash and continued my 4 month trip through Asia without consulting any guidebook and had a much nicer time. Down with the Lonely Liar! You don't need a guide book. Just talk to other travelers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this book, Jan. 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
Admittedly there are not many other China guidebooks around, but this one seriously sucked. I bought one at my local bookstore for a recent trip to China and (i) the attitude of the editors is simply disgusting [If they can't appreciate the country then they shouldn't even bother to write a book about it] (ii) too much of the info is extremely outdated. We all know that China is growing rapidly and whatnot but that really is no excuse for Lonely Planet to not do their homework and give us horrendously erronous info (iii) Any 'off-the-beaten-track' sight featured in Lonely Planet books inevitably become tourist traps for obvious reasons. It's the last time I'm ever buying Lonely Planet books. (Of course, there's the whole bring-the-hippies-there-and-ruin-the-place thing, which is yet another reason not to buy more Lonely Planet books...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled. This is just the 7th edition, Aug. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
I had been anticipating the release of LP¡¯s China 8th edition hoping it would fix the errors in the 7th edition and fill out the areas that were weak in the 7th edition. Guess what, there is NOTHING new in the 8th edition. The same errors from the 7th edition have been reproduced in full even though anyone who has spent more then a month in China in the last five years will know how laughably inaccurate the book is in places. It¡¯s still an OK guide but it¡¯s terribly out of date and it is not only misleading but dishonest for them to call this an 8th edition. It is nothing more then a rerun of a previous edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the not so holy travel bible, April 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
i would have to agree with the negative reviews i've seen, and also the majority of travelers i have met in china. we all carry around the lp "bible", but also agree that it is one of the worst publications they have. it seems as you travel along that maybe lonely planet has not visited china or the places it talks about in a while. unfortunately it is one of the only publications of its type and it does contain a minimum of information that one may find useful at times. most of the informatino is outdated, even though i'm using the 2003 edition. Not to mention that they add the poorly written humor instead of a little more chinese script, which let me tell you goes a long way in a country where once you're out of the main cities, very few people speak english, and when they do it is not the best. some more useful word and phrases would be great, instead of how to say "eel fried with spinach and mushrooms". just the words for muchrooms, noodles, and rice would be nice, instead of forcing you to buy the mandarin phrase book, just to get the basics. another complaint i would have is in the compactnes. i realize this is a large country, but i feel like a lot of the space dedicated to useless information and adveritisments that you can't ever remove (for more lp bibles...) could be put to some much better use. All in all i have to say that while containing some very useful information, you're much better off photocopying the important pages and leaving the book at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent foundation for an enormous destination, Jan. 12 2003
By 
rdrake (Horsham, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
I will agree that the LP China is out of date in many places, but in all fairness the only way to bat a thousand would to assign a team of writers working 365/24/7 to cover a nation as immense.
That said, I have to slam LP for misleading buyers that these new editions have much new data. They also put down their host country and that is not appropriate for a travel guide. I know the writers are mostly young and from either Oz or USA. So they try to impose their cultural/political views on the reader. I know this because in the 7th Edition I am credited in the Nanjing/Jiangsu section by the writer. I was a student at Nanjing Univ.
LP's Robert Storey is guilty of slamming China too often. He lives in Taiwan and his head is full of pro independence nonsense. BTW - having also lived in Taibei - Storey is a bit of a joke amongst young expats as telling to many "stories" - pun intended! He misses critical details for a traveler and instead romances the reader with his BS!
As with other reviews, this book is a set of training wheels but it is not the Bible. DO NOT PAY $30...get it used!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Equipment Failure, Dec 18 2002
By 
J. Booth Woodruff (Yaiza, 35570, Lanzarote, Canary Islands Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
Backpacking in the mountains there is a thing called: equipment failure. It is when your sleeping bag does not keep you warm, even though you are well within the manufacture's temperature rating. It is when your tent leaks, where the manufacture did not get the stitching quite right. Depending on conditions such equipment failure can range from uncomfortable to fatal.
Recently I relied on Lonely Planet to bus from Hangzhou to Huangshan.
Time after time I found myself muttering to myself: Guide Book Failure!!! Guide Book Failure!!!
Guide book failure is normally not fatal.
And if you have a good sense of humor
and are a fairly seasoned traveller
it can be rather interesting
for you meet alot of friendly people who turned out to be very helpful.
So, as alot of other people above have pointed out, if you buy Lonely Planet, use it as a door stop, or place it on your coffee table, or press flower in it, but don't rely on it travelwise; and use your money instead to invite a few of the friendly, helpful people you encounter on your trip to China to a coffee, drink or meal.
Bon voyage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An arrogant nightmare, Dec 7 2002
By 
Anna "avid reader" (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
I agree with the previous reviewer when he says a) the arrogant tone of previous editions continues here, b) if you have an old edition, there is no need to upgrade, as there isn't much new here as they really don't update much. That second point is particularly egrigious, as there has been so much change in China of late. The most classic example is in the South West of China (there is a separate guidebook for this, which is better, but not much). The guidebook refers to Chengdu as "backpacker's paradise", but I'm here to tell you there are a lot of sorely disappointed backpackers who've wound up in Chengdu on this advice and left pretty quickly. Or tried to leave quickly but couldn't, as while the book tells you that there are 85 trains to different places, it shows there are four different train stations on the map in completely different places in town, wbut never tells you which is the main one or which one you might need to get to to get the heck out of dodge. Other descriptions include bus lines as "luxiourious rulers of the road" when there's not even a bus line in the town. This continues everywhere throughout the book. The Beijing section is *particularly* bad when it comes to listing cheap accomodation anywhere near Tianamen Square. According to the book, it is woefully lacking. But if they'd ever listed YHA hostels (they don't, who knows why), there's more cheap, clean, English speaking beds within walking distance of T-Square than you can imagine. Something like 2000 of them. When I met up with a friend in Beijing and we prepared to get on the Trans-Mongolian out of the country, we didn't even leave this book behind, we actually burned it and did a little dance that we wouldn't have to use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing installment from LP, Nov. 13 2002
By 
"paulcporter" (Frankfurt, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition (Paperback)
I have used Lonely Planet guides since 1996 to help me travel to nearly 30 countries and until now, I found them the best resource available for getting off the beaten tourist-track. Unfortunately, this edition of LP China disappoints. I like the logistical information (I give an extra star for that), but I am really dismayed at the emphasis given to popular spots, "backpacker meccas", places "beloved by backpackers", "a good place to 'kick back'", etc. It even goes as far as to show contempt for people looking for the "'real China'". I think I will look for another title, and if there is not a better one out there then I will write my own. As LP is alienating their core market here, maybe a new opportunity opens for new writers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb449f66c)

This product

Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition
Lonely Planet China 8th Ed.: 8th Edition by Damian Harper (Paperback - Aug. 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews