Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great indie title.
Fabulous tale about prostitution from the customer's poitn of view. The tale written here by Chester Brown detailing his experiences about being a john was fantastic. Did not glorify it or make it seedy or even something to be ashmed of. Presented it straight forward with total honesty. Great read in a nice compact hardcover format.
Published 19 months ago by RIP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, but lacking in depth.
While this graphic novel covers a potentially compelling topic, there is a lack of depth that left me unsatisfied and wanting for something deeper. I kept waiting for Brown to look more deeply into the humanity of buying and selling sex - the impulses, needs and drives that bring resonance- but he just never goes there. It seems Brown's story coasts on the surface and...
Published 23 months ago by side_show


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great indie title., Jan. 5 2013
By 
RIP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
Fabulous tale about prostitution from the customer's poitn of view. The tale written here by Chester Brown detailing his experiences about being a john was fantastic. Did not glorify it or make it seedy or even something to be ashmed of. Presented it straight forward with total honesty. Great read in a nice compact hardcover format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, in a rational way, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
I think anyone who's a bit on the rational side will quickly understand this quasi-autobiographic comic book. It goes through the intricate process of a rational man who ends up believing paying for sex straight up isn't as bad as the society would like him to believe. He thus enters the world of escorts, prostitutes and johns in Canada and you get to see his "progression", from the shy and not-so-confident man to one who finally accepts himself for everything he's worth.

If you've ever wondered what paying for sex is like, this book definitely is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paying For It, Aug. 10 2011
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
A foreward by Robert Crumb says it all. Immensely entertaining if you are interested in the subject.

The comic book adventures of a single male in Toronto,Ontario Canada who shamelessly records his experiences with prostitutes. It explores an area that many wonder about but would never discuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peak of Autobiographical Graphic Storytelling, July 6 2011
By 
J. Maendel (Edmonton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
This stands as one of the best autobiographical comics ever made. Clinically honest, fascinating, and well-drawn as well. Chester Brown can stand beside Crumb, Pekar, Brown, Kochalka, and Porcellino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Autobio-graphic-nonfiction, May 11 2011
By 
Mark Young (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
A really interesting and thought-provoking new comic book from the master of "graphic non-fiction," Chester Brown. I was a huge fan of Louis Riel and this follow up goes back to his autobio roots for more of the joys of the author's sex life. Namely, this is an exploration of paying for sex and all that entails. Chester has been his usual thorough self and has the research and footnotes to prove it. He has convinced me on his main point: that prostitution should be decriminalized. I agree with that. On his secondary points, that romantic love is dead and marriage is a doomed institution, I remain unconvinced. But I'm glad he's found something that works for him.

Along with the prurient interest of so much paid sex in this book, there is also the tension of so many awkward social situations in meeting and bedding all these strangers that he normally wouldn't have the wherewithal to talk to in a bar or something. And then there are all the great conversations with his stunned friends and ex-girlfriends who are trying to wrap their heads around this new dimension in his life. It's a great read for all these reasons, but also for the understated honesty of his artwork: the same eight small panels per page, the great sense of cartoony realism that he captures. Nothing is overblown or amped up, but it is recognizably stylized.

All in all, another great and compelling read from Brown. Make sure you read all the end notes and commentary at the end. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, but lacking in depth., Aug. 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
While this graphic novel covers a potentially compelling topic, there is a lack of depth that left me unsatisfied and wanting for something deeper. I kept waiting for Brown to look more deeply into the humanity of buying and selling sex - the impulses, needs and drives that bring resonance- but he just never goes there. It seems Brown's story coasts on the surface and is somewhat disconnected from a deeper resonance when it comes both to the depiction of himself and the women he pays, leading to him and the women coming across as silted and inhuman. The lack of emotional connection left me disappointed and feeling that the deeper insight I was seeking was missing. Likewise, the extensive, libertarian notes that end the book are nearly unreadable and somewhat baffling in their seeming lack of integration into the actual body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, May 24 2011
By 
This review is from: Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John (Hardcover)
Wow, what a book. Nothing like I expected, but then, I didn't know what to expect. Also, I'd never read any of Chester's books prior. Funnily enough, I was reading two books simultaneously, one on Shakespeare, and Chester's book on his experiences as a john. The Shakespeare book was superficial and frivolous, while Chester's is deep and cerebral. Who'd have thunk it? And I especially appreciated Chester's out-of-the-box thinking about prostitution being illegal. Why is it illegal? Much better to legalize and regulate it, imo, mind you I know Chester is even against regulation. Refreshing thinking in this age of the nanny state, particularly when the immediate knee-jerk solution to any problem is to ban the offending product/service/activity/what-have-you, as opposed to offering real solutions and alternatives if there even is an actual problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John
Paying for It: A Comic-Strip Memoir About Being a John by Chester Brown (Hardcover - March 25 2011)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews