countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$26.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 22, 2010
I had this book in my wish list for quite a while. In the end, I bought up all the Banksy works I could get my hands on. This is by far the best. The others are more descriptive or somewhat basic, but this one lets the pictures speak for themselves. It leaves the reader in a sense of awe, especially considering the size and location of some of the works. How could they have been done without the artist being caught? It defies logic. But the inspiration Banksy brings, despite being in a somewhat condoned form, is one of subtle sarcasm. Whether politically motivated or not, the artist has a knack for bringing everyday irregular policies to the forefront of the reader's mind. I urge you to check out this work. At the very least, it will open you up to a new perspective of what you think you already know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2007
It's a huge pile of inspiration if you enjoy graffiti. Really, you'll read it and want to get out there and leave your own clever mark on someone else's property (usually the municipal government's). He's captured comedy the way many other stencilers have protest. Excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
I find Banksy to be witty, thoughtful and thought provoking. This is a good book - not great -but there is a nice selection of his work and the text is by the artist himself. Its a little dated by this point and many of the pieces featured are sadly long gone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2010
Sophisticated, educated and critically involving examination of the artist known only as Banksy, his works and their place in the larger art and culture millieus and the social phenomenon surrounding his work. Highly recommended for people interested in art (pop, contemporary, urban), soceital commentary and graffiti.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
The book is really enjoyable and can be enjoyed in one sitting (the style is really entertaining to read, and it's mostly visuals). Great overview of some of Banksy's works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
Amazing book- must have beautiful and funny read! Published by Banksy him/herself???love it! Well priced for an amazing book to add to any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Bought this as a Christmas present for my 16 year old nephew- LOVED IT
He had not heard of Banksy before bur read cover to cover on Dec 25th- !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Great book, bought it as a christmas gift for a Banksy fan and ended up keeping it for myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2016
Great coffee table book. I find it hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
Beautiful images filled with witty comments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse