Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful cookbook with great recipes, March 17 2011
By 
Timothy B. Riley (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
Length:: 3:33 Mins

I received a tagine for Christmas and decided to buy Tagines & Couscous by Ghillie Basan as my first Moroccan cookbook. I was so impressed with the photography and the quality of the recipes that I decided to make a video review showing not only the book but also several of the dishes that I made using this excellent, authentic cookbook. I hope that you find it helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moroccan cooking for westerners, Sept. 15 2010
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures! Recipes easy to follow (with or without a tagine). Recipes have excellent explanations for those of us in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Riley's video review is spot on, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
I received a tagine for Christmas last year (2012) from my brother and used this book to make my second dish: the butternut squash tagine with almonds and sultanas. It turned out looking just like photo. I modified it slightly, adding black-mustard seed to the olive oil at the beginning to give it an additionally nutty flavour.

I also tried it with a spice melange from a seller in BC, listed here in Amazon: Sultana Spice World Blends. They also have a Ras el Hanout and a "Moroccan Magic" blend. These were so fragrant that when they arrived in a bubble-wrap package, we could smell them through it. Delicious! I used the "Hot Hot Maroc" with additional roasted cumin and grated ginger too. Today is -30C outside and this was a perfect, toasty, cozy dish for dinner.

http://www.amazon.ca/shops/A1OB0B497TGIE0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Recipes, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
If only I cooked with my tagine all the time I'd be able to try more of these great recipes. Easy to follow and great pictures. Very easy way to slow cook great meals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase for new tagine users, Dec 30 2013
By 
C. Peters (Saskatoon, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
This book is nicely illustrates, and gives a lot of history about the cuisine. I highly recommend it for all skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, July 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
All the recipes I have made are easy to follow and really yummy. Beautiful pictures. I bought one for a friend as a gift and they are enjoying as much as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy Recipes, Jan. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tagines & Couscous (Hardcover)
I love this cookbook. Not only does it teach you how to make couscous delicious, but the meat recipes are slow simmered juicy and flavourful! You don't need an actual tagine to make these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tagines & Couscous
Tagines & Couscous by Ryland Peters & Small (Hardcover - Feb. 1 2010)
CDN$ 32.95 CDN$ 20.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews