Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic statistics text
I am still in the midst of a course using this text and I am very impressed.

First, it's actually a pretty funny book. I'm a sucker for that slightly twisted British humour and this book has lots of it. Kudos for being funny about STATISTICS, a topic that makes many of us in the social sciences quake in fear and decide that qualitative analysis really is a...
Published on Jan. 21 2010 by AmericanCanuck

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We need a new SPSS textbook
This book doesn't deserve 20 ratings of 5 stars each. It's not that good. If you can put up with the annoying entertainment remarks, which are more numerous than the base text, the book doesn't really address the problems one encounters in using SPSS. There is a bit of statistics and a bit on SPSS. SPSS is not very good software to start with. Having a poor book priced...
Published on Jan. 30 2011 by Paul T. Cusack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic statistics text, Jan. 21 2010
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
I am still in the midst of a course using this text and I am very impressed.

First, it's actually a pretty funny book. I'm a sucker for that slightly twisted British humour and this book has lots of it. Kudos for being funny about STATISTICS, a topic that makes many of us in the social sciences quake in fear and decide that qualitative analysis really is a more appropriate methodological choice.

Second, the information is clearly presented and is available in multiple formats, especially when the accompanying website resources are considered. Lots of ways to obtain and check one's absorption of the material.

Finally, it looks like this text is one that will continue to be useful to me even after I finish this required course. I am finding it to be a handy reference to all things (well at least at the level I care about now) quantitative.

HIGHLY recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro book, but sometimes a bit long, May 18 2010
By 
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
The book is very good and easy to understand. Goes into much details, so that most of what I wantedx to do is covered into the book. The only drawback is that the writer want to make it funny and light, which is a good thing, but to do so, sometime, he goes writing about much everything, which make it longer when you want to search exactly what you need. So I think it is a great book to read from cover to cover, but not so much to search specific question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, intelligent and right, April 2 2010
By 
Pierre-Leo Bourbonnais (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This excellent book will explain statistics in a simple, straightforward and funny way. Field is a unique person in the textbook world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAntastic, Dec 11 2011
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This book is a pleasure to use. It is very easy to understand, pleasant, and even can be fun. Our whole lab recommends this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!, Aug. 19 2011
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I ever read. Author has blended his experience in research, ststistics, teaching and SPSS in such a way that no one can escape any chapter once started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very great resource for grad students!, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book by Andy Field, especially for grad students who need to use SPSS for their research. This book explains everything from the basics, to the more advanced topics; a lot of easy-to-understand examples, and a humorous approach to explaining statistical concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and comprehensive, Nov. 23 2012
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This book contains clear and easy to follow explanations for most of the commonly used statistical techniques in the social sciences. Field also does a good job of incorporating humour into his book, which helps keep students engaged. I recommend this book for all researchers who regularly use SPSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really excited for this book!, Aug. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
At the suggestion of a prof, I picked up this textbook. It has been wonderful! Really happy with this purchase, as well as the speed of shipping. Great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best statistics' book ever, Aug. 15 2010
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
C'est le meilleur livre de statistiques qu'il m'a été donné de lire. Très bien expliqué et, surprenament, très divertissant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We need a new SPSS textbook, Jan. 30 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition (Paperback)
This book doesn't deserve 20 ratings of 5 stars each. It's not that good. If you can put up with the annoying entertainment remarks, which are more numerous than the base text, the book doesn't really address the problems one encounters in using SPSS. There is a bit of statistics and a bit on SPSS. SPSS is not very good software to start with. Having a poor book priced at over $80.00 is simply not worth the money. For anyone enthusiastic about statistics, We need a good textbook on SPSS. Perhaps IBM has one, I don't know. Therefore, I give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition
Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: Third Edition by Andy Field Andy (Paperback - Jan. 21 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 53.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews