Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing rought about this guide!
If you're planning a trip to Chile (or wish you were) this is the book to get you ready. Dealing with everything from money exchange to lodgings to transportation, it has invaluable information to carry you from "tourist" to "traveler." The content is divided by geographical sections (much as the country itself is) to make it easier to plan a trip or...
Published on Nov. 24 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very detailed information - but no enthusiasm
The Rough Guide is full of useful, accurate information ( a little out of date) - but the writers lack a certain enthusiasm for this country. An enthusiasm that can be found in other books such as the Open Road guide.
Published on Nov. 20 2002 by Keven Vicknair


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing rought about this guide!, Nov. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rough Guide Chile 1e (Paperback)
If you're planning a trip to Chile (or wish you were) this is the book to get you ready. Dealing with everything from money exchange to lodgings to transportation, it has invaluable information to carry you from "tourist" to "traveler." The content is divided by geographical sections (much as the country itself is) to make it easier to plan a trip or get the specific information you need on a trip already planned. If you're interested in getting away from the escorted "back on the bus in five minutes" type of trip, this guide will get you there. There are wonderful descriptions of each region and its attractions, plus names, phone numbers and prices for food, lodging, transportation...even the location of the cambios de change for changing money, ATMs, and tourist informtion centers in each town.
We picked this up by chance in a local library and found it so valuable we're planning to purchase our own copy before our upcoming visit. We'll let you know how well it represented reality when we return!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very detailed information - but no enthusiasm, Nov. 20 2002
By 
Keven Vicknair "kevenclair" (Dallas, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rough Guide Chile 1e (Paperback)
The Rough Guide is full of useful, accurate information ( a little out of date) - but the writers lack a certain enthusiasm for this country. An enthusiasm that can be found in other books such as the Open Road guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, Aug. 6 2002
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rough Guide Chile 1e (Paperback)
having spent a couple of months travelling through chile, i got to know my rough guide well, and had chance to compare to many of the other guide books out there, there are speciality books which cover other areas better and in more detail, some only available in chile. but of the mainstream guides this is definately the best. the cultural information is where the rough guides stand out, in fact a couple of our favorite places in Chile didnt even warrant a mention in one of the better known guide book series. the section on accomodation was the most lacking although occasionaly useful, as none of the guide books seem to have discovered the backpackers hostels which cover chile. but aside from this if you want a guide to chile, this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Travel Guide, April 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rough Guide Chile 1e (Paperback)
My husband and I loved this book. We are senior citizens who wanted to spend a few days in Chile on our own, prior to a cuise around Cape Horn to Argentina. This guide gave us very accurate, detailed information in many areas: transportation, hotels, restaurants, sights. We used it during the cruise to tailor our own shore excursions. It contains every bit of information that you would need for a very enjoyable trip to Chile. Chile is safe, very modern, and beautiful. English is not common but people were friendly and very well educated. Take a phrase book along. If you speak Spanish, you will not want to leave. This is a better experience than Mexico.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best and Most User-Friendly Guide Book to Chile, April 25 2001
By 
This review is from: Rough Guide Chile 1e (Paperback)
After studying in Chile and comparing different South American guide books, I found the Rough Guide to Chile to be the easiest to read and the most accurate. I normally buy the Lonely Planet on a Shoestring series, but was surprised and disappointed at how out-of-date many of the entries were. The Rough Guide gives you practical information and options, which I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rough Guide Chile 4e
Rough Guide Chile 4e by Andrew Benson (Paperback - July 28 2009)
CDN$ 28.99 CDN$ 23.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews