Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the BEST book!
My husband and I are planning an extensive around-the-world trip for next year. While we are travel-savvy, we have never done this type of trip. Also, we are in our 30s, so we aren't doing a true "backpacker" trip, nor will it be luxury travel, it will be somewhere in the middle. This book is a MUST for anyone planning an extensive trip. It gives you the...
Published on Aug. 18 2003

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good help, but nothing earthshattering
This book is different than most guide books in that it is specifically about travelling around the world. However, there is nothing in it that you can't find in any world travel guides. ALSO, it might be helpful to know that this is written from a British perspective rather than an American one.
Published on Sept. 27 2003 by free bird


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the BEST book!, Aug. 18 2003
By A Customer
My husband and I are planning an extensive around-the-world trip for next year. While we are travel-savvy, we have never done this type of trip. Also, we are in our 30s, so we aren't doing a true "backpacker" trip, nor will it be luxury travel, it will be somewhere in the middle. This book is a MUST for anyone planning an extensive trip. It gives you the lowdown on a hundred topics, from medical/health, insurance, etc to basic overviews of the different regions and countries. It gave us a LOT to think about, and has me doing further research on issues that I had never even thought about. A MUST READ!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, Feb. 23 2004
By 
B. Mathew (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic book. The material is well organized by chapters for specific topics and is FULL of useful information. I've read many travel and how to books that give you basics and vague concepts but this book gets very specific and tells you exactly how to plan and where to get the information. Also, the book's presentation is one of the best I've seen with full color pages in the front section and multicolor pages throughout, it is very pleasant to read. A must have for the long term (1 month to 1 year) travler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good help, but nothing earthshattering, Sept. 27 2003
By 
This book is different than most guide books in that it is specifically about travelling around the world. However, there is nothing in it that you can't find in any world travel guides. ALSO, it might be helpful to know that this is written from a British perspective rather than an American one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Planning a trip to somewhere?, Nov. 17 2009
By 
M John (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Rough Guide to the First-Time Around the World (second edition) - a trip planner for the ultimate journey is 367 pages long.

The layout of the book is good, with indents and short stories in boxes. Lots of websites scattered throughout the book and general helpful advice for backpacker type travelling with the costs in each geographical location as expensive, medium and low budget in pound and dollars.

Some useful charts of weather, temperature, rainfall, what to look our for, beware off etc. Then all about the forms of travel, bus, train, plane, boat etc., working abroad, security issues, scams as well as some world travelling map examples - routes.

Near the back of the book is 7 or 8 regional profiles of geographical areas - it gives a few recommended places to visit; has a map of the designated area and a map which includes travel costs and times in hrs or days; so very helpful for cost planning.

Some fascinating insights into plane tickets and saving money etc.

The book has a helpful index in the back and 9-10 pages of useful websites connected with travelling; from airlines, to world facts and consular advice etc.

Helpful and enjoyable book on travelling with many general tips and pointers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know-how for roads more and less traveled, May 8 2003
By A Customer
Everythign in here is stuff you could figure out after a hundred hours on the internet, networking in a few dozen traveler ghettos and spending a few years lugging way too much, uh, luggage, but chances are your globetrotting will go farther, cheaper and (if you're smart about it) slower than if you had to figure it all out from scratch. Lots of emphasis on getting off the tourist trail and out interacting with local culture, written by a guy who's been doing just that for nearly a decade...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rough Guide First Time Around The World 3e
Rough Guide First Time Around The World 3e by Rough Guide (Paperback - Feb. 9 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews