Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hopeful, but realistic
Since my 6 daughter was recently diagnosed with early-onset bipolar, I've read everything I could get my hands on about the disorder. What makes this book so wonderful is that Lynn recognizes the strengths, not simply the weaknesses, inherent in this condition. He offers straight talk on the hard choices that may or may not lie ahead for parents of these kids, but he...
Published on Nov. 10 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing . . .
For starters, the title is rather misleading-- the book is as much about Asperger's Syndrom, Tourette Syndrom, and ADHD as about Bipolar. Unless your child suffers some combination of these different illnesses, much of the material isn't helpful.
Other material was unhelpful to me as it applied to children much younger than my son (age 16), but that would of course...
Published on Jan. 13 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hopeful, but realistic, Nov. 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
Since my 6 daughter was recently diagnosed with early-onset bipolar, I've read everything I could get my hands on about the disorder. What makes this book so wonderful is that Lynn recognizes the strengths, not simply the weaknesses, inherent in this condition. He offers straight talk on the hard choices that may or may not lie ahead for parents of these kids, but he also offers a great deal of encouragement: BP is not a parenting error, but a brain disfunction; it's not simply a curse, but also a possible blessing. Because of my family's situation, the sections on conditions that are sometimes co-morbid with BP (Tourettes, ADHD, Asberger's) really weren't that helpful--which was disappointing because the other sections were so wonderful I wanted more there. But still--definitely skip the Mitzi Waltz book (mostly down-side information, maybe appropriate for kids in the worst-case scenarios, but not reassuring), but add this one along with _The Bipolar Child_ by Papolos, and you'll have a good collection of specific parenting suggestions along with the basics on medication and other choices. But this book was the first to really give me a sense of hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have For All Parents, June 2 2002
By 
Kathleen "IngeniousGirl" (Lafayette, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
Any parent will benefit, parents with difficult children - to parents with children with mental illness - will all find the facts in this book. Having dealt with mental illness for a lifetime in my family and with my children, this is the first book to fully explain what is happening in the brain, with the child, the family and provide concrete suggestions on how to approach parenting a child with mental illness. No one knows what that is like until they have been there. However, other parents who sail through life with mentally healthy kids will at one time or another be challenged. This book is a shorthand version of parenting in tough times. The depth of explanation for various types of disorders from bi-polar to depression is wonderful. Ten years ago there were no books out there for parents whose kids heaved TV's out the window in a rage, or suddenly jumped out of cars, or books that spoke to a Mother who was the only one in the whole world to love her son unconconditionally despite it all. This book is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children with bipolar disorder, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
The author, George Lynn, is a certified medical health counselor, who has pioneered the usage of psychotherapy for adults and children with neuropsychological issues. When is own son was diagnosed with Tourette syndrome in 1991, he realized that personality can be powerfully impacted by brain chemestry independent of environment. Bipolar disorder, extreme mood cycling between a hyperenergized, grandiose, elevated mood and deep depression, has been know in adults, but only recently recognized in children. It can be a disorder on its own or in association with for example Aspergers syndrome, Tourette syndrome and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). The book has 14 chapters arranged into five sections: Bipolar disorder in children, Asper syndrome and bipolar disorder in teens, soothing the hurt of Tourette syndrome and bipolar disorder, ADHD and its extremes and finally hard decisions on schools, professionals, psychiatric hospitals and police involvement. In the appendix you will also find ten websites for families of children with bipolar disorder and related conditions. The book is orientated for parents, but I believe many professionals can find helpful tips and information.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children with bipolar disorder, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
The author, George Lynn, is a certified medical health counselor, who has pioneered the usage of psychotherapy for adults and children with neuropsychological issues. When is own son was diagnosed with Tourette syndrome in 1991, he realized that personality can be powerfully impacted by brain chemestry independent of environment. Bipolar disorder, extreme mood cycling between a hyperenergized, grandiose, elevated mood and deep depression, has been know in adults, but only recently recognized in children. It can be a disorder on its own or in association with for example Aspergers syndrome, Tourette syndrome and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). The book has 14 chapters arranged into five sections: Bipolar disorder in children, Asper syndrome and bipolar disorder in teens, soothing the hurt of Tourette syndrome and bipolar disorder, ADHD and its extremes and finally hard decisions on schools, professionals, psychiatric hospitals and police involvement. In the appendix you will also find ten websites for families of children with bipolar disorder and related conditions. The book is orientated for parents, but I believe many professionals can find helpful tips and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children with bipolar disorder, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
The author, George Lynn, is a certified medical health counselor, who has pioneered the usage of psychotherapy for adults and children with neuropsychological issues. When is own son was diagnosed with Tourette syndrome in 1991, he realized that personality can be powerfully impacted by brain chemestry independent of environment. Bipolar disorder, extreme mood cycling between a hyperenergized, grandiose, elevated mood and deep depression, has been know in adults, but only recently recognized in children. It can be a disorder on its own or in association with for example Aspergers syndrome, Tourette syndrome and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). The book has 14 chapters arranged into five sections: Bipolar disorder in children, Asper syndrome and bipolar disorder in teens, soothing the hurt of Tourette syndrome and bipolar disorder, ADHD and its extremes and finally hard decisions on schools, professionals, psychiatric hospitals and police involvement. In the appendix you will also find ten websites for families of children with bipolar disorder and related conditions. The book is orientated for parents, but I believe many professionals can find helpful tips and information.
Professor Joav Merrick, MD, DMSc Medical Director, Division for Mental Retardation, Box 1260, IL-91012 Jerusalem, Israel. E-mail: jmerrick@aquanet.co.il
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book, even if no one you know is Bipolar!, Sept. 18 2000
By 
sahdu (Aloha, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
George Lynn has written (another) highly accessible (reader friendly, positive and practical guide for people wanting to know how to understand and help kids (or adults) with differences.
One of my sons was diagnosed Tourette Syndrome and Asperger syndrome in 1997. A couple of years ago, I stumbled across George's previous book: Survival Strategies for Parenting Your ADD Child. I was so pleased and inspired by the fresh and positive perspective Mr. Lynn takes regarding our "attention DIFFERENT children", that I contacted him and asked him to please write something similar targeting Asperger Syndrome! I am especially favorably impressed with the chapters in this book relating to Asperger Syndrome. I feel inspired to get the word out to other parents of AS and TS children that this a good resource for them, even if their child does not have Bipolar Disorder.
My son has a lot in common with Richard, in the book: "he had good eye contact, he had a sense of humor, and he had decent conversational skills," and, "When he showered, it seemed he couldn't stop until all the hot water was gone." And I could really relate to the section on anxiety and stimulus and inertia. My son has shared some of Sean's "craving for weird, painful, or extreme sensations" and "he had a natural brilliance in math and demonstrated the ability to figure complex problems in his head." (Also, having myself been recently diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder, 'though I still question it a bit, I read the rest of the book with great interest as well. These differences do tend to run in families!)
In many families, including my own, when one person recieves a diagnosis of a condition, such as: Bipolar Disorder, Asperger Syndrome, Tourette Syndrome, ADD, Depression, Anxiety Disorder, Conduct Disorder; an objective family history will often reveal that there is often at least one other person in the family with some of the symptoms associated with these disorders, and symptoms may be found in varying degrees in other family members.
Labels can be scary, and they can both help and hinder solutions to behavior problems. It is crucial to find resource people who are experts in the recognition and understanding of the most effective diagnostic and treatment methods. A person who is different and whose behaviors are often viewed as intentionally "bad" may suffer enormously from misunderstandings and mistreatment, as will the family. A variety of disorders and neurological conditions have behavioral aspects that can completely distract a parent or school system from a true diagnosis and positive, effective intervention and prevention which can cause needless damage and frustration for children and families. The increased understanding that can be gained from reading books like this, can help to prevent needless suffering and even help a person value some the unique differences that set him/her apart.
I was surprised in 1997 that my education and training as a teacher, and initially, as an aide with muti-handicapped students in the years 1980 to 1986, left me so uninformed about all of the possible explanations for the odd and disturbing behaviors we had been seeing in our children. Even now, many of the current teachers and specialists in the schools seem to be years behind the research in both indentification and treatment and educational strategies. This is changing for the positive!
The internet has made possible connections to other parents and to multiple resources, (including Amazon Books!) and I believe this group consciousness-raising as we face our individual struggles is a wonderful thing and is advancing the ability of us all, professionals and parents alike, to address the unique needs and exalt to unique skills of differently-abled individuals the world over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was the most helpful book I've read on Bipolar, Aug. 21 2001
By 
Shelly (Tempe, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
This book was detailed and specific. I left feeling hopeful - that yes, my child fit the Bipolar description to a "T" but that at least I could be sure she'd been diagnosed properly. Especially helpful was the chapter describing the difference between an ADHD 'meltdown' and a Bipolar 'rage.' There ARE differences - I wonder why it is so hard to explain the experiences to psychiatrists treating our children. It was also very helpful to be able to go down the list and see what the doctors are looking for to make a diagnosis - what they are talking about, the current wisdom on just what is happening in our children's brains when the rage happens - I can't endorse this book enough. I would like to buy a copy for anyone who is wondering "Is it possible my child has Bipolar? Or is it all in MY mind?" This book told me the doctor was right - I am now more certain than the doctor that this is my child's difficulty.
BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Front-Row Seat into Bipolar Disorder, April 15 2001
By 
Janie Bowman (Olympia, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
George Lynn, a certified mental health counselor practicing in Washington State, shatters old paradigms in this new book about bipolar disorder. Lynn provides a front-row seat into the minds of individuals with bipolar disorder, and in-depth knowledge of bipolar coupled with Aspergers, Tourettes, or ADHD. I was fascinated by his compassionate approach while providing a firm foundation of no-nonsense strategies. And though written for parents, others will benefit from this book: family members, friends, school personnel, and other professionals.
Case histories fill the pages with real people and their hopes, dreams, struggles. This book provides perspective that will empower you to live with and help children with bipolar disorder. Clearly a resource that should be in every library and in the hands of all whose lives are touched by bipolar disorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing . . ., Jan. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
For starters, the title is rather misleading-- the book is as much about Asperger's Syndrom, Tourette Syndrom, and ADHD as about Bipolar. Unless your child suffers some combination of these different illnesses, much of the material isn't helpful.
Other material was unhelpful to me as it applied to children much younger than my son (age 16), but that would of course be different for other readers.
There is useful advice, but it is neither especially novel nor particularly well organized. A chapter with rather uncritical enthusiasm for "naturopathic" remedies (among which Lynn strangely includes ECT!) also undermines the credibility of the book.
In short-- you can do better, even just with online resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent childhood bipolar resource, March 26 2003
By 
Avery Z. Conner (West Lafayette, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder (Paperback)
This is an excellent book about childhood bipolar disorder, filled with information and advice that will be helpful to parents, teachers, and other caretakers of bipolar children. It ranks up there with "The Bipolar Child" and "The Life of a Bipolar Child" as one of the most useful and comprehensive books about the disorder. The quality of writing is pretty high, it's pretty well organized, and the author seems to know what he's talking about. I like to receive information on a complex subject such as childhood bipolar disorder from a variety of sources, and this book, along with the other two I mentioned, would be a good place to start. Avery Z. Conner, author of "Fevers of the Mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survival Strategies for Parenting Children with Bipolar Disorder
CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews