Customer Reviews


376 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars shipping news
Read this book . The movie has nothing on it . There is real drama and feelings from the heart
Published 5 months ago by Christopher B Dean

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed the boat!
I was looking forward to this novel with great anticipation. I felt like I saw the lives of the characters only in glimpses... controlled by an author who did not develop them fully. Disappointed.
Published on May 17 2004 by snowblaze


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars shipping news, Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read this book . The movie has nothing on it . There is real drama and feelings from the heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You either love it or you don't, June 26 2004
By 
booklass "Passionate bibliophile." (San Angelo, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book. The prose reflected the subject being described. When the setting is being described, it's beautiful, flowing, free. When you start getting into the characters, you find that the dialogue and description are less flowing, and this fits the awkward, dysfunctional qualities that each of the characters had. The triumph is that despite their rather sizeable quirks, there's still hope, joy and incredible bravery in the end. I felt like I was drawn into another place amongst people who, while a bit weird, were all the more real. I was not just caught up in the main character's woes, but into the day to day life of the rest of the inhabitants. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quoyle, the Everyman, April 27 2000
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
I anticipated a fast-paced book, but found a slow, meandering story. This is good, however, because it is similar to the character of Quoyle. This man is probably one of the most original male characters in contemporary literature. It is probably because he represents the non-Brad Pitt and Clint Eastwoods out there. His quiet dignity as well as his insecurity creates a more realistic portrait of an everyman. I found myself rooting for a better life for Quoyle. I smiled when he found the love and respect everyone deserves. I became proud when he slowly realizes his worth, and when he is able to speak up for himself. All in all, the quiet dignity of this book hooked me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed the boat!, May 17 2004
By 
snowblaze (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
I was looking forward to this novel with great anticipation. I felt like I saw the lives of the characters only in glimpses... controlled by an author who did not develop them fully. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and immersing, Sept. 29 2010
By 
D. Bray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
One of my favourite stories. A real feel-good book. Even without seeing the film you can almost taste the salt in the air. The characters are rich and diverse, the scenery is vivid and the situations just strange enough to be believable. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arr - A Fine Book, Jan. 23 2007
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
First published in 1993, "The Shipping News" is Anne Proulx's second novel. It went on to win a list of prizes, including the 1994 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Quoyle isn't exactly the typical hero : although a good, kind-hearted man, he has little faith in himself and his self-confidence is non-existent. Physically, he's a large, red-haired man, with pale eyes, an over-sized chin and no neck. He has little in common with his family : his father is a genuinely obnoxious, self-obsessed bully with no obvious redeeming qualities while his brother is a self-centred, poisonous rat. After stumbling from one trade to another, Quoyle more or less settles on journalism as a career - starting out with the Mockingburg Reporter. He later meets and marries Petal Bear. (Despite his somewhat unorthodox appearance, Quoyle is as prodigious downstairs as he is in the chin department). Initially, things go well : their first month together is genuinely happy, but the following six years bring Quoyle two daughters and plenty of misery. Although Petal has a great interest in sex, she tends to pursue that interest with people who aren't her husband...

Things change dramatically for Quoyle in his mid-thirties. Following the death of his parents in a suicide pact, he meets an aged aunt (Agnis Hamm) for the first time. Although unable to attend the funeral, she arranges to come down and collect his father's ashes. However, by the time she arrives, Quoyle is also a widower : Petal dies in a car accident that also takes the life of one of her many boyfriends. Shortly before running off, Petal had also sold their daughters to a very dodgy photographer for $[...]...fortunately, the police managed to arrive at the photographer's apartment before anything to questionable had happened. Having lost his job - leaving nothing for him in Mockingburg - Aunt Agnis suggests moving to the ancestral Quoyle homestead in Newfoundland. Quoyle, Agnis and the two daughters set off for Quoyle point and, although in need of some repair, the old house is still standing. There's also the promise of a new job : writing the shipping news for the Gammy Bird, the newspaper based in the neighbouring town.

This is a book I'd put off reading for a while. Having won, among other prizes, the Pulitzer I was expecting a `challenging' book without a great deal of humour. I couldn't have been more wrong : the book is very easily read and - while it isn't always cheerful - there is plenty of humour in it. Aunt Agnis is a great character - I was particularly impressed how she dealt with her brother's ashes ! Quoyle has a slight tendency to think in headlines, especially when he feels he's somehow said or done something wrong. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult at first, but good News after all, June 13 2004
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
E. Annie Proulx's "The Shipping News" is a great novel. However, it is not recommended to everybody. It sounds like a paradox, but it is true. To begin with, it is not an easy read. It takes time and patience, but it is worthwhile. The action is very slow and interior, besides much happens outside the characters, the main action is with their feelings and what goes inside their minds and hearts. Thus this is not the kind of novel that appeals to those used to fast and easy books. Moreover, this is a very intellectual material and requires a lot of references and thinking from the reader.
Quoyle is a thirty-six years old who has devoted his life to his wife and children. He hasn't accomplished much, but he's fine with what they have. However his wife is not happy with this life. She sells their daughters and while is running away she dies. This is falls like a bomb in Quoyle's life --disturbing his peaceful routine.
In order to restore the peace, he moves to his ancestors' house in an isolated and cold town. There, along with his aunt, he intends to bring his life back to place. With a new job and meeting an interesting widow, Quoyle realizes that life is good, but he still has some ghosts from the past haunting him.
"The Shipping News" is a novel fulfilled with metaphors. Everything has more than its first meaning. Quoyle is not only the name of the protagonist, but also something related to ships --and it will be through the shipping news that our protagonist will find his place in the world.
Another thing is a special touch in the novel is the quotes from "The Ashley Book of Knots', written by Clifford W. Ashley, or from "The Mariner's Dictionary". They are nice and give the insights on what the chapter will be about --another device related to the use of metaphors--, plus there are illustration of these knots which are very well done and even cute.
The movie version, directed by Lasse Hallström is a great and underrated film. More than being faithful to the novel, it makes justice to the spirit of the story. It is perfect to take the audience into Quoyle's world. Both movie and book are highly recommended, but only to specific audiences. My suggestion is, if you want to read the book the effort is worthwhile --it is diffcult, but reawarding--, however if you feel this is not the book for you, do not force yourself to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Shipping News-More Similar To Us Than We Think, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
Quoyle, a father of two sets forward to Newfoundland where he finds a new life. Full of bumps and twists, this book is a book for anyone who enjoys reading about adventures. The Shipping News is a book that is not slow; rather it's a fast read even though it has a good number of pages in it.
One different thing that the author does in the book is that she starts each chapter with a quote from The Ashley Book of Knots or the Mariner's Dictionary. This gives the book something different and it adds to the book.
Annie Proulx did a great job of using great detail and good imagery to show and not tell how the story goes along. Proulx adds many details that apply to our everyday lives. This book is easy to relate to which makes the book so good. The main character, Quoyle goes through many things to become a better person just like we have to. I found this book enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Newfoundland stole the show, May 18 2004
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
E. Annie Proulx's intimate descriptions of Newfoundland made it a character in The Shipping News as much as Quoyle and the rest. It was full of something ghostly and beautiful that made me feel as if I, too, had roots there. It was a place of working class people living an antiquated life that made it seem like something from a skewed fairy tale -- a Never-neverland of salt-of-the-earth tragedy and darkness rather than childhood fantasy.
The human characters were equally fascinating, particulary Quoyle, whose psychological transformation was a joy to witness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Shipping News, May 8 2004
This review is from: The Shipping News (Paperback)
One of the more average Pulitzer prize winners I have encountered. What I feel the book lacked was depth of character, the characters are touched upon but not fully explored, even Quoyle I do not now feel that I know much about. The story wends and falls a few times, just as you think the author could be creating something dramatic it stops and turns another direction, much like the Northerly polar winds.
The main theme of the book, Quoyle's plight, I enjoyed. From hopelessly desperate and unrequited love and then to eventually find happiness again is well handled, the final paragraph excellent, but this theme too could have had more depth.
The book is different with a refreshing style of writing, for which I will long remember it, but lacks what I would expect from the company it keeps in the annals Pulitzer winners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf21eea0)

This product

The Shipping News
The Shipping News by Annie Proulx (Paperback - Oct. 1 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews