Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good story well written - great characters
The thing that really made me love this book was the chapter that introduced the dolphin captain, Creikeiki. In a few short pages, Brin paints a picture of a weary, courageous leader, a poet, a genius, a wise and gentle soul. By the end of the chapter I loved Creideiki more than I've cared about most other fictional characters, with the possible exceptions of the Opera...
Published on July 10 2003 by Joanne Hanrahan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, liked the dolphin characters and aliens
What first attracted me to this book is the combination of animals and science fiction. The dolphin characters are hard to distinguish but take on their own shape later. The space battle scenes are thrilling and remind me of the E.E. 'Doc' Smith lensman series. Some of the prose is simple and at times childish, but I enjoyed the uplift concepts and universe very much,...
Published on Sept. 23 1999


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good story well written - great characters, July 10 2003
By 
Joanne Hanrahan (El Cerrito, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The thing that really made me love this book was the chapter that introduced the dolphin captain, Creikeiki. In a few short pages, Brin paints a picture of a weary, courageous leader, a poet, a genius, a wise and gentle soul. By the end of the chapter I loved Creideiki more than I've cared about most other fictional characters, with the possible exceptions of the Opera Ghost and Ender Wiggin.
Other than that, the novel is a very good sci-fi action story. Lost in space, out-of-order and under seige, out-gunned, out-numbered, etc. It's a fun read and all the other characters are three-dimensional and well-developed. I'd give it five stars if the rest of the writing was as fantastic as that first chapter about Creideiki, but it's still high-quality. Brin is a rising star in the world of science ficiton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Compelling Sci-Fi, June 14 2004
By 
"dhowenstine" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
In 'Startide Rising,' David Brin imagines a vast universe full of extra terrestrials and rich histories. The human and dolphin protagonists of the novel find themselves caught within a galactic war, but the plot focuses on the more intimate struggles of the starship crew and their exploration of a mysterious water world. Mr. Brin infuses his book with a motley cast of likeable characters, interesting plot twists, and some genuinely tense fight scenes. This excellent combination makes 'Startide Rising,' if not a real classic, a fun and fast-paced adventure novel well worth reading.
The novel's ending, however, leaves several major plot points hanging (no doubt concluded in subsequent novels) and diminishes the intelligence of the villains in favor of a happy ending. Despite these minor flaws, 'Startide Rising' remains a compelling and enjoyable read -- especially if you're looking for a good sci-fi novel to relax with at the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great ones!, June 12 2004
By 
Patrick T Forsythe (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Reading Startide Rising was as much fun as I have had with a Science Fiction novel. It is fast paced as well as epic in scope, with interesting charactors. I won't try to summarize the plot here, many of the other reviews have done this already.
It can certainly be read as a stand alone novel, however both Uplift Trilogies are worth reading (the only average book in the series was Sundiver - the first, which takes place generations before the rest of the novels).
I loved this book when I was 16 and I love it now that I am slugging through my mid thirties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brin Does It Again., April 22 2004
By 
David Brin never ceases to amaze me. His creations are so detailed that you feel like you are there experiencing them. In "Startide Rising" he creates a breathtaking universe where humans are the bastard sons. It is a universe where every alien race is 'uplifted' to sentience. Humans are the only ones that haven't been. Most of the five galaxies hate us because of it. We have our friends, but they still look at us as if we're the little 'wolfling' children that haven't grown old enough to leave the block. We humans have in turn uplifted Chimpanzees and Dolphins.
The book is about a Dolphin commanded starship that discovers a clue to our Terran heritage that any of our enemies would love to get their hands on. The information accidentally leaks and the Streaker goes into hiding with enormous fleets following it's every move. The ship land on the water world of Kithrup. Geological, galactic political, and inter-ship political problems ensue with big fights strewn through out.
This is a very informed book that is detailed and entertaining at the same time. You don't have to read "Sundiver" before reading this book, but "Sundiver" does explain the politics a little better. I suggest everyone read this because it is way too good to pass up. It did win both the Hugo and the Nebula awards. I give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better and better as it progresses, April 5 2004
By 
Craig MACKINNON (Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
David Brin has invented an interesting universe in which to set his "Uplift" (also known as "Earthclan") series. It is a crowded universe - sort of Star Wars-esque in its level of weird and wonderful inhabitants. The variety arises from a tradition of Uplift, wherein a sentient species genetically modifies another species so it can attain sentience as well. The uplifted species' debt: 100,000 years of indentured servitude! The added wrinkle: every species that is currently uplifting others was itself uplifted in the distant past. This is an ancient universe where innovation consists solely of hunting through the galactic library looking for forgotten information.
Humanity enters this universe with two distinct differences: an abhorance of slavery, and a skill at innovation that is alarming to the pompous patron races of the galaxy. Mankind has uplifted two species: dolphins and chimps. They have set them free as equals (instead of demanding the 100,000 years of slavery), further appalling the elder races. However, all of this information is background - it's a testament to Brin's skill that he weaves all this background into the story (along with the introduction of numerous extraterrestrial races) without specifically devoting long passages to it.
The main plot - a dolphin-crewed ship (along with a few human overseers) has discovered a derelict fleet. As they try to head back to Earth with the info, they are ambushed by many E.T.'s intent on stealing their find. The ship seeks refuge on a water-covered planet as the crew tries to make repairs and escape their pursuers (who battle each other in space overhead). This is just the start of the adventure, however, and Brin's great skill in this book is to take a very complex universe, and keep adding more and more layers of complexity - the refuge planet is not all it seems, for example, nor are all the dolpihin crewmembers, many of whom start to crack under the pressure.
It's hard to describe why this book is so good without going into technical details. Therefore, I'll just say it's a great science fiction achievement, and well-deserving of all the awards it's received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars forget the trilogy concept, read this book, Feb. 15 2003
By 
R. Morrell "a gamer in NC" (Lewisville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first uplift trilogy isn't. Unilike the second trilogy, all the books in the first stand on their own. Sundiver is a forgettable detective SciFi novel. Startide rising is really the first book of this series, and is in fact the only required reading for the sluggish second trilogy. The Uplift War is a spectacular adventure book that stands on its own and may be more fun to read than Star Tide Rising, but Star Tide Rising is certainly a more important book. Fun, funny, though provoking, alien, and intelligent, it is certainly a must read for anyone who enjoys, claims to understand or still ignores Science Fiction.
Above all, Startide Rising has the most gratifying ending of any book, Science Fiction or otherwise, that I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugo and Nebula Award, June 27 2002
By 
J R Zullo (São Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
I must say that I am compelled to read every Hugo- and Nebula-winner story for I think that if they were awarded it is because they must have something special. For some time I've been looking to read any book of the Uplift trilogies, and the reader's reviews in [Amazon.com] guided me to Startide Rising, even if it is not the first book of the Uplift trilogy nº1. After reading STR I think Sundiver cannot be better anyway.
I had never read anything about David Brin, but being an author who has received so much praise I expected much from him. Well, he didn't disappoint me. Startide Rising is one of the most original sci-fi stories I've ever run into, and I put the thinking behind the writing in the "Amazing" category, along "Foundation" and "End of Eternity" by Asimov and "Rendezvous with Rama" by Clarcke.
The story is like this: in the future, man has been able to "elevate" intelligent animal species like the chimpanzee and the dolphin to a kind of consciousness similar to humans themselves.
The Universe is defined by The Five Galaxies, and in these galaxies there are a grand number of other Star-Traveling Species. Each one of these alien species has, each in its turn, being a low form of life, and has been developed by a sponsor species. Nobody knows who the original sponsors species were, and no one knows which species developed humankind.
The "Streaker" is a spaceship commanded an crewd by dolphins, humans and a scientist chimp. When the story begins, they are hidding in a non-charted acquatic world. They're hiding because they found a space-caravan of very, very old ships, as big as moons. These enormous ships are thought to belong to a long-vanished species, which can be the "Progenitors", creators of all other species. Inside on of these ships was found the body of an alien, and it becomes the prize every species in the five galaxies want to retrieve. While the Streaker is fighting against time to be repaired and depart the strange world of Kithrup, the aliens fight among themselves to reach the dead body the humans have.
Brin writes in a most dettached way. He doesn't have to explain in detail the sci-fi stuff contained in the book, because he writes it in self-explaining sentences and paragraphs, not to mention the Glossary he included in the start of the story. The chapters are named after their main characters, so the reader can be deeply acquainted with every character in the book. The relations between dophins and humans are really well-developed and obviously constant during the lenght of the book. There's even a mistery plot (why are some of the dolphins wilder than others?), plenty of suspense and the linking to other books in the series.
Brin has created a sci-fi masterpiece, and all awards he received were well deserved.
Grade ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars While somewhat muddled, an excellent science-fiction story., May 21 2002
By 
"arxane" (Oklahoma City, OK United States) - See all my reviews
The second in the first Uplift trilogy, "Startide Rising" is an immense improvement over the first book in the series, "Sundiver". While overall not terribe, "Sundiver" was only an above-average story set in an incredible universe, and these two factors didn't mix all that well. With "Staride Rising", David Brin takes a wonderful story and places it in that fantastic universe, creating a wonderful science-fiction novel that's only hurt by its own complexity.
Unlike "Sundiver", which dealt with more of a murder mystery than anything, "Startide Rising" deals with the key factor that binds the trilogy together: Uplifting. The story mentions the possibility of the Patron race of humans, the legendary race that seeded all races in existence, and how a crew of humans and uplifted dolphins are protecting a vital secret from all the hostile races of the galaxy, just to name a few ideas.
David Brin's imagination is unbelievable. It's hard to think how he managed to create such a magnificent world without selling his soul or something. Things in the novel seem so "futuristic" and "sci-fi," and yet we believe them without question. Brin manages to flesh out a world so perfectly we can imagine it, live it, and sympathize with it. Every alien, every technological machine, and every idea has some substance in it.
Probably the only problem involves the story itself. While one of the best stories I've ever read in science-fiction, it has one tragic flaw: it's too complex. The story is overloaded with so many characters and so many plot twists that it can be difficult to keep up with everything. Readers will sometimes wonder why something is going on or who this person is, which can get a little frustrating. Thankfully, the story is so engrossing it keeps the readers interested and allows them to catch up to things on their own time.
All in all, "Startide Rising" is a marvelous science-fiction story that's only hindered by its own complex story. The ending sets up the third novel in the trilogy perfectly, although it does leave some questions unanswered in the story. Will the third novel answer them? We can only read "The Uplift War" and see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bold and colorful vision of humanity's future, April 28 2002
By 
"Startide Rising," by David Brin, is a science fiction novel that takes place about 250 years after humanity's first contact with a vast galactic civilization. In Brin's future humans, together with genetically modified, intelligent chimpanzees and dolphins, have established themselves as an interstellar spacefaring race. "Startide" deals with an adventure of the "Streaker," a starship manned by dolphins, humans, and one chimpanzee scientist. After making a monumental discovery, the "Streaker" is pursued by hostile aliens and takes refuge on the water world of Kithrup, where interpersonal struggles and further discoveries await them.
This is a fascinating portrayal of a complex multispecies community. Brin deals interestingly with the implications of genetic engineering and language as he explores the relationships among the ship's diverse crew. A central idea in Brin's tale is the concept of Uplift: that each intelligent species had a "patron" race that raised it to sentience, thus creating a chain of interspecies relationships that binds together galactic civilization. Brin fills the book with intriguing characters, action, technical information, and plot twists.
Overall, I enjoyed, and was even enriched by, "Startide Rising." But I did feel at times that Brin was packing into the book perhaps a little too much minutia for minutia's sake; it seemed like he was just trying too hard to create a Tolkienesque total world. And at times his prose got rather overripe, and seemed almost like a parody of a science fiction novel. But these flaws aside, "Startide" is a fascinating novel with a lot to offer the serious science fiction fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEVER SO LATE., Jan. 10 2002
By 
I am sorry that I havent read this and other Uplift books before. But better to read late than never. In this book with the background given in SUN DIVER (First book of Uplift Saga), you find yourself in a forgotton corner of the uplift universe. With the dolphins and man as a team (though it is weird for the ancient galactics to work as a team for the clients and masters) earthlings are against all universe. Usually when reading a book you put yourself in the place of the main character. In this book in each chapter you view the galaxy with the eyes of one of the characters. Though it is sometimes tiresome to try to reach the speed of the events, David Brin made it fantastically wonderful. Also the thought mechanisms of eatiees and uplifted dolphins and chimpanzees are well plotted. Time to time I asked myself whether David Brin live among those eatiees.
It is a MUST BE READ book for not only sci-fi lovers only but fiction lovers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb214f4b0)

This product

Startide Rising
Startide Rising by David Brin (Paperback - Feb. 1 1996)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews