Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best One in the Series
This was definitely my favorite of all Redwall books. I love the regality of the badger lords, and the playful toughness of the Long Patrol. Ferahgo the Assassin is one of the best villains ever - he is not just "bad," but devious, cunning, intelligent, and extremely appealing. This was the first one I read and the best of the bunch.
Published on Dec 28 2003 by A. Chen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too happy:(
I was not too Happy with this book, I would have to say it was a bit boring, and the Chara's did not have strong personalities.
Published on Nov. 5 2001 by swiftpaw


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best One in the Series, Dec 28 2003
By 
A. Chen "A. Chen" (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was definitely my favorite of all Redwall books. I love the regality of the badger lords, and the playful toughness of the Long Patrol. Ferahgo the Assassin is one of the best villains ever - he is not just "bad," but devious, cunning, intelligent, and extremely appealing. This was the first one I read and the best of the bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Whole New World, Nov. 12 2003
By A Customer
Once I read a book called Salamandastron.In this book is a whole new world named Mossflower.This book is about a badger named Mara,who is getting tired of a life of secrecy and strict punishments.After years of growing up with her foster father, Mara decides to run away with Pikkle.When Urthstripe thinks he already has enough on his hands with Mara, an assassin has to show up with a horde of rats and ferrets.The assassin's name is Ferahgo. Meanwhile at a peaceful abby called Redwall,a young squirel finds the sword of a legend, Martin the Warrior.Can Urthstripe team up with Redwall to beat Ferahgo and save Mara?
I liked this book becuase of the surprising events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High Action Novel!, Oct. 14 2003
By 
Tolkien's friend (tampa, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Salamandastron (Paperback)
The thing that I just love about this book is the high action and the constant battles. The book keeps you on your toes. Salamandastron was very enjoyable to me but has a lot of plot and a lot of things going on at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read, April 24 2003
By A Customer
Salamanderstron is a very good book. Once again Brian Jaccquccs has written another masterpiece. The story is about a badger named Urthstripe who has a mountain fortress named Salamanderstron. Unfortunly, a weasel named Farahgo and his horde of vermin are trying to take it over. Meanwhile, at the Abby, two vermin from Farragoï¿s group steal Martinï¿s sword. Samkin the squirrel is now chosen to be the Abby warrior. Also a deadly fever is sweeping across the Abby. Thrugg and baby Dumble must find the Flowers of Icedor to cure the sickness. I highly recommend this book to all who like action and adventure. The action and adventure in this book will keep you reading until it is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, Dec 17 2002
By A Customer
This is an awsome book!Out of all the series, this is my favorite.I laughed, I almost cried and I didn't want to put the book down. One of my favorite parts was when Mara added father to Urthstripe's titles. I was crying! TWO THUMBS WAY UP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moutain of Fire, book of adventure, Nov. 8 2002
By 
Like most of Jacques's books, you'll always find something new to read everyday. Around every corner is a new adventure and a new twist that hardly entered your mind before. You once again meet the same old friendly moles and their funny speech, brave creatures and you learn more about the rulers of the Mountain of the Fire Lizards, the Badger Lords!
True friendship and love shines through all obstilcals. once again you wonder just how Brain Jacques thinks up of all of these juicy books. the pick em up, never put em down book is back and this one will really have you pacing on your floor, wondering if she or he will make it through the hard difficulty. again saddness arrives but Joy comes also. Don't miss out on another wild ride of a Redwall Series books! I'm warning you, you'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll have your emotions hangin on by just a thin thread when reading these books. Soon you'll be cheering the battle cry of the wild badgers and hares of Salamandeston, " Eeulaliaaaaaaaaaa!"
here you'll feel as if you are watching them, the silent character in the back who knows what's going on and has the brains to figure it out. Get caught up in Jacques's world of talking animals and and funny characters. Made for all ages. But i think 6th graders and up are more able to read and understand these books better, but hey i started in 4th grade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Slamandastron, Oct. 21 2002
By 
Jeremy Taylor (West Jordan, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This is the third book that I have read in this series. I found it very interesting and would recomend it to everyone. It is about The Fire Mountain, Salamandastron and the ruling badger, Lord Earthstripe. His badger maid (Mara) runs away and makes friends with Klitch a weasel. Klitch's Father (Ferhargo) has told him to do this so that they can enter the mountain and take over. Ferhargo is the leader of a band of evil vermin. Mara runs away from them after discovering thier evil plot. Meanwhile at Redwall Abbey a lightening bolt strikes the weathervane and reveals the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior. Matthais finds it and sets out on an adventure. He meets up with Mara and decides to help her. They come across a couple of shrew armies that are willing to help for a price. He has to retrive their black stone. Along the way he finds a great white badger that has the stone he gives it back and comes along because Urthstripe is his long lost brother.
Will they make it in time to save Urthstripe and Salamandastron? to find out read this exciting novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fourth Grade Reading Expert's Review, May 17 2002
By A Customer
Lord Urthstripe is a badger who is "in bloodwrath" of Ferdigo the Weasel because Ferdigo has slain one of his friends and poisoned his food. At Redwall, two weasels have -- without knowing it -- brought dry-ditch fever to the animals who live there. Now it is up to an otter and a baby doormouse to get a rare isector flower to get rid of the dreaded fever.
The Hares of Salamandastron who are led by Urthstripe have to face Ferdigo's horde of sea vermin. Eulliiaaaa!
I liked the book because of the adventure and suspense. I also liked how part of the battle was fought on top of the mountain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salamandastron, April 10 2002
By 
Bigby (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Overall, I didn't consider "Salamandastron" to be as good as the other books in the Redwall series, but it was sufficiently well written to earn a rating of five stars.
The book is about Mara, the adopted daughter of Urthstripe, the badger lord of Salamandastron. She is rebellious and resentful of her father's authority over her. Her best friend is a hare called Pikkle Ffolger.
Mara and Pikkle meet a charismatic young weasel, Klitch. Little do they know that Klitch is the son of Ferahgo the Assassin, a ruthless weasel warlord. Ferahgo and his army are making plans to besiege and conquer Salamadastron, and they mean to take Mara and Pikkle as hostages.
Meanwhile, at Redwall Abbey, a young squirrel named Samkim and his mole friend, Arula, are busy getting into trouble because of their penchant for archery. During a thunderstorm, the sword of Martin the Warrior is blown down from the weathervane and lands next to Samkim.
One day, two ragged, filthy stoats named Dingeye and Thura show up at the Abbey gates, begging for shelter. Abbess Vale reluctantly lets them into the Abbey; they cause trouble and tragedy and end up stealing the sword. Samkim and Arula pursue them. Samkim and Mara meet, and they are both catapaulted into the desperate struggle to save Salamadastron.
This book also has a side plot involving an epidemic at Redwall Abbey and a journey to find the remedy. There is also a mysterious haunted island and a mischievous baby mouse, as well as the Guosim. Although "Salamandastron" might seem slightly boring in comparison with the previous four books in the series, it is still a worthwhile book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars salamandastron, March 20 2002
By 
Mr. Big (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
this book is about a place where there is a fever that is spread by two selfish little creatures named Thrugg and Thumble. later a bad creature named Ferhago the assassin decides to cause trouble in the peaceful Redwall Abbey. He also wanted to take over a city named Salalmandastron. Soon a butch of heros try to stop the evil lord and they tried to find the great legendary sword of martin, who was a very cunning and great hero for the town.
my favorite part of this book is when the little bunch of creatures like rats, weasels, and othertypes of animals fight the great big king Ferahgo. I like it because it is interesting because when all the little animals starts to jump and fight this big weasel, the little animals don't stand a chance yet they still fight him off and kills him.
my favorite character is Mara, one of the small animals and the people who were supposed to retrieve the sword of Martin. I like Mara because she is really nice and she does things that nobody else does.It's funny in everything that she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salamandastron
Salamandastron by Brian Jacques (Paperback - Sept. 4 2007)
CDN$ 12.95 CDN$ 11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews