Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Moutain of Fire, book of adventure
Like most of Jacques's books, you'll always find something new to read everyday. Around every corner is a new adventure and a new twist that hardly entered your mind before. You once again meet the same old friendly moles and their funny speech, brave creatures and you learn more about the rulers of the Mountain of the Fire Lizards, the Badger Lords!
True friendship...
Published on Nov. 8 2002 by wingeddragon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Deux Ex Machina (And I know it's misspelled)
The first time I read this book, I was in seventh grade. I reread it in tenth, and found many major flaws in what I had previously thought a terrific book. Urthmight and Urthwhite's grandmother wasn't introduced until the end, when the mountain needed saving. If you've ever studied writing, this is calles 'Deux Ex Machina' or 'God in Machine'. It fixes a terrible...
Published on Jan. 25 2000


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Moutain of Fire, book of adventure, Nov. 8 2002
By 
Like most of Jacques's books, you'll always find something new to read everyday. Around every corner is a new adventure and a new twist that hardly entered your mind before. You once again meet the same old friendly moles and their funny speech, brave creatures and you learn more about the rulers of the Mountain of the Fire Lizards, the Badger Lords!
True friendship and love shines through all obstilcals. once again you wonder just how Brain Jacques thinks up of all of these juicy books. the pick em up, never put em down book is back and this one will really have you pacing on your floor, wondering if she or he will make it through the hard difficulty. again saddness arrives but Joy comes also. Don't miss out on another wild ride of a Redwall Series books! I'm warning you, you'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll have your emotions hangin on by just a thin thread when reading these books. Soon you'll be cheering the battle cry of the wild badgers and hares of Salamandeston, " Eeulaliaaaaaaaaaa!"
here you'll feel as if you are watching them, the silent character in the back who knows what's going on and has the brains to figure it out. Get caught up in Jacques's world of talking animals and and funny characters. Made for all ages. But i think 6th graders and up are more able to read and understand these books better, but hey i started in 4th grade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Slamandastron, Oct. 21 2002
By 
Jeremy Taylor (West Jordan, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This is the third book that I have read in this series. I found it very interesting and would recomend it to everyone. It is about The Fire Mountain, Salamandastron and the ruling badger, Lord Earthstripe. His badger maid (Mara) runs away and makes friends with Klitch a weasel. Klitch's Father (Ferhargo) has told him to do this so that they can enter the mountain and take over. Ferhargo is the leader of a band of evil vermin. Mara runs away from them after discovering thier evil plot. Meanwhile at Redwall Abbey a lightening bolt strikes the weathervane and reveals the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior. Matthais finds it and sets out on an adventure. He meets up with Mara and decides to help her. They come across a couple of shrew armies that are willing to help for a price. He has to retrive their black stone. Along the way he finds a great white badger that has the stone he gives it back and comes along because Urthstripe is his long lost brother.
Will they make it in time to save Urthstripe and Salamandastron? to find out read this exciting novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salamandastron, April 10 2002
By 
Bigby (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Overall, I didn't consider "Salamandastron" to be as good as the other books in the Redwall series, but it was sufficiently well written to earn a rating of five stars.
The book is about Mara, the adopted daughter of Urthstripe, the badger lord of Salamandastron. She is rebellious and resentful of her father's authority over her. Her best friend is a hare called Pikkle Ffolger.
Mara and Pikkle meet a charismatic young weasel, Klitch. Little do they know that Klitch is the son of Ferahgo the Assassin, a ruthless weasel warlord. Ferahgo and his army are making plans to besiege and conquer Salamadastron, and they mean to take Mara and Pikkle as hostages.
Meanwhile, at Redwall Abbey, a young squirrel named Samkim and his mole friend, Arula, are busy getting into trouble because of their penchant for archery. During a thunderstorm, the sword of Martin the Warrior is blown down from the weathervane and lands next to Samkim.
One day, two ragged, filthy stoats named Dingeye and Thura show up at the Abbey gates, begging for shelter. Abbess Vale reluctantly lets them into the Abbey; they cause trouble and tragedy and end up stealing the sword. Samkim and Arula pursue them. Samkim and Mara meet, and they are both catapaulted into the desperate struggle to save Salamadastron.
This book also has a side plot involving an epidemic at Redwall Abbey and a journey to find the remedy. There is also a mysterious haunted island and a mischievous baby mouse, as well as the Guosim. Although "Salamandastron" might seem slightly boring in comparison with the previous four books in the series, it is still a worthwhile book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars salamandastron, March 20 2002
By 
Mr. Big (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
this book is about a place where there is a fever that is spread by two selfish little creatures named Thrugg and Thumble. later a bad creature named Ferhago the assassin decides to cause trouble in the peaceful Redwall Abbey. He also wanted to take over a city named Salalmandastron. Soon a butch of heros try to stop the evil lord and they tried to find the great legendary sword of martin, who was a very cunning and great hero for the town.
my favorite part of this book is when the little bunch of creatures like rats, weasels, and othertypes of animals fight the great big king Ferahgo. I like it because it is interesting because when all the little animals starts to jump and fight this big weasel, the little animals don't stand a chance yet they still fight him off and kills him.
my favorite character is Mara, one of the small animals and the people who were supposed to retrieve the sword of Martin. I like Mara because she is really nice and she does things that nobody else does.It's funny in everything that she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars salamandastron, March 20 2002
By 
Mr. Big (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
this book is about a place where there is a fever that is spread by two selfish little creatures named Thrugg and Thumble. later a bad creature named Ferhago the assassin decides to cause trouble in the peaceful Redwall Abbey. He also wanted to take over a city named Salalmandastron. Soon a butch of heros try to stop the evil lord and they tried to find the great legendary sword of martin, who was a very cunning and great hero for the town.
my favorite part of this book is when the little bunch of creatures like rats, weasels, and othertypes of animals fight the great big king Ferahgo. I like it because it is interesting because when all the little animals starts to jump and fight this big weasel, the little animals don't stand a chance yet they still fight him off and kills him.
my favorite character is Mara, one of the small animals and the people who were supposed to retrieve the sword of Martin. I like Mara because she is really nice and she does things that nobody else does.It's funny in everything that she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars salamandastron, March 20 2002
By 
Mr. Big (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
this book is about a place where there is a fever that is spread by two selfish little creatures named Thrugg and Thumble. later a bad creature named Ferhago the assassin decides to cause trouble in the peaceful Redwall Abbey. He also wanted to take over a city named Salalmandastron. Soon a butch of heros try to stop the evil lord and they tried to find the great legendary sword of martin, who was a very cunning and great hero for the town.
my favorite part of this book is when the little bunch of creatures like rats, weasels, and othertypes of animals fight the great big king Ferahgo. I like it because it is interesting because when all the little animals starts to jump and fight this big weasel, the little animals don't stand a chance yet they still fight him off and kills him.
my favorite character is Mara, one of the small animals and the people who were supposed to retrieve the sword of Martin. I like Mara because she is really nice and she does things that nobody else does.It's funny in everything that she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Names, March 1 2002
By A Customer
A Review by Steven
There were four plots in this book, but the main plot was about an assassin and his hoard of corpsmakers who were trying to take over lord Urthstripes Mountain, the badger lord. The assassin has a son who is always trying to take control of his dads hoard. So we have two conflicts here, the assassin trying to take the Mountain and the assassin and his son. Urthstripe adopted a baby girl badger named Mara who hates her life at the Mountain. She runs away like four times but she always came back, then one time she ran away with her best friend Pikkle and got into a lot of trouble.
I loved the characters, they were funny at times but when it came time to be serious they were all for that. The funniest character was Mara's best friend Pikkle, like once they had to go through some rapids and he was all attached to the bottom of the boat screaming," I'm going to die before the next mealtime," and also stuff like, "you water logs are crazy." I also liked the young warrior squirrel named Samkim because of his courage and determination, like his Abbeys sword got jacked and he went through hell to get it back. He went through rapids, villainous foes, dense woods, stinging wasps, a killer fox and his band, and a giant sea monster. In the end his friend got the sword from the monsters skull, which is how he killed it, and when they met up he got the sward back. I could read most all of the words but I am only 14 so some of the wards were weird, the hardest part was trying to decipher the mole and bird langue, like they had there own type of talking. If you read tow or three of the other books in the series you learn to get it right.
I would recommend this book to all readers because it was exciting, like the wars and battles, but it also had its soft side like the conflicts between the families. It was also funny with some warped characters. The beginning was all serious and explaining, and the end was all wars and battles. It hooked me so like I never wanted to put the book down. I think almost anybody would enjoy this book because it has something for every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eulaliaaaaaaaaaa!, June 5 2000
By A Customer
I am a student at NVMS, I have recently read thebookSalamandastron. It is about two badgers named Urthstripe andUrthwyte, who were seperated when a blue-eyed weasle assassin murdered thier parents. And now Farahgo the assassin is back. And is after Urthstripe's badger treasure, and the mountain. But as Urthstipe's daughter, Marra and her friend Pikkle come across the long lost brother Urthwyte, they travel to Salamandastron to help Urthstripe against this murderer. While at Redwall, a squirle and a molemaid are tracking two murderers and come across strange friends that help them track down the murderers but fate and destiney have the two brave warriors land up at Salamandastron. Now it is a fight of good against evil. Poetic justice occurs when Urthstripe kills Ferahgo and him self as the leap of the mountain to a death to finish the war. Urthstripe is burried in a badge treasure, Salamandastron has a new ruller, Urthwyte. Redwall has a new gardian, Marra, and justice is restored to Mossflower lands. But thier hearts will be scared for life. You will rejoice after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whew, a real epic that involves intellegent animals!, April 23 2000
This is the very first book I have ever read about the great adventures of the gallant Redwall critters. In fact, it was quite a sudden discovery in a local college bookstore and now a whole new world dramatically opens up to a diehard fan of anthropomorphic animals like myself ever since the good old days of Pogo and Wind in the Willows.
Here this tale takes place about two badger brothers, one an albino and the other one a lord of the seaside Salamanderstron mountain taking revenge upon a blue-eyed weasel and his bloodthirsty gang for killing their parents when they were both helpless little newborns. And the humble inhabitants of the Redwall Abbey are suddenly drawn into the bold new epic that involves alot of warmaking, scheme-hatching, journeying into the perilous unknown, fighting an unexpected epidemic and a sea monster, and such courageous exploits that will send a shiver running down your backbone every time you come across those parts. And an inexperienced young squirrel and his mole buddy as well as a plucky young badger girl and her shrew allies very quickly gets caught in the skin-chilling whirlwind as the great badger fiercelly strikes out at his old enemies from the past. And I must warn you, you WILL get caught as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salamandastron, March 11 2000
By 
George (Hancock,(Upper)Michigan) - See all my reviews
Salamandastron is the story of a fever spreading through Redwall Abbey. Two Redwallers, Thrugg and Dumble, must go north to the mountains to find the flowers of Icetor to make the medicine to stop it. At the mountain fortess of Salamandastron the badger lord, Uthstripe the strong, and his warrior rabbits called the Long Patrol fight off the villianous weasel, Ferhago the Assassin, and his evil horde. Meanwhile, Samkin and Arula of Redwall look for the sword of Martin the Warrior as Mara and Pikkle try to make it back to Salamandastron and the four strangely join. I liked this book because it makes me not want to stop reading and anxious for the next book in the series. Something exciting happened on every page. Salamandastron would be the perfect book for someone who likes action or adventure books. It would also be great for someone who has a good imagination. If you like this book you would like all the other books in the Redwall series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salamandastron
Salamandastron by Brian Jacques (Paperback - Sept. 4 2007)
CDN$ 12.95 CDN$ 11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews