Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Ruben Wolf
Fighting Ruben wolf, by Markus Zusak, is a classic story about brotherly love. Cameron and Ruben Wolf are the two youngest brothers of a family of seven. Their family is struggling with money ever since their father has an accident at work, and is fired from his inability to work. The mother of the family is working several jobs just to pay bills and pus food on the...
Published on Oct. 20 2003 by nick labbe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chuck full -o- action, exciting
Fighting Ruben Wolfe is a very good book. It is guided towards readers 7th gr. through 10th gr. It was one of those kind of books were you can't put it down. I would recommend this book to someone who likes books chuck-full of action. It's about brothers Cameron and Ruben, Cameron being the youngest in the family, and Ruben being the second youngest, living with a...
Published on Oct. 19 2003 by solon middle school


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Ruben Wolf, Oct. 20 2003
By 
nick labbe (solon, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Paperback)
Fighting Ruben wolf, by Markus Zusak, is a classic story about brotherly love. Cameron and Ruben Wolf are the two youngest brothers of a family of seven. Their family is struggling with money ever since their father has an accident at work, and is fired from his inability to work. The mother of the family is working several jobs just to pay bills and pus food on the table. The boys, (Cameron and Ruben) realize the family's hardships and are recruited into an underground boxing league thinking they could raise some money for the family and start to provide for themselves. They continue to train and fight and the brothers continue to get better and better. At the end of the season the tournament bracts have chosen to have the two brothers fight each other.
Through their fighting the brothers' love for each other grow to a point were their bond to each other is almost impossible. This is a great story that you will simply not be able to put down (cliché, I know). Cameron and Rubens inner drive to help their family makes this book appeal to the affectionate reader, and the detailed fight scenes will appeal to a reader who is looking for a little action in their books. This book is the perfect read for any person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chuck full -o- action, exciting, Oct. 19 2003
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Paperback)
Fighting Ruben Wolfe is a very good book. It is guided towards readers 7th gr. through 10th gr. It was one of those kind of books were you can't put it down. I would recommend this book to someone who likes books chuck-full of action. It's about brothers Cameron and Ruben, Cameron being the youngest in the family, and Ruben being the second youngest, living with a family with tons of problems. Their dad is unable to work, due to an injury that occurred at work. Since he's making no money, their mom is working several jobs at once to pay for the bills and to buy food and clothing. That's when Cam and Rube join an underground boxing circuit to raise money for themselves, and for their troubled family. This whole underground boxing thing starts when a guy named Perry sees Cam and Rube dukeing it out in their backyard. He thinks that they're pretty good, and asks if they would like to be part of a underground boxing circuit. They both agree, and start practicing harder for the tournaments held once a week. At first, Cam starts out slow, losing every round and not even throwing one punch. Rube of course starts out doing great and winning every round. Rube is making all the big bucks, and making Cam jealous, yet more encouraged. After more hard training, Cam starts winning more, and so does Rube. In the end, it all comes down to the final fight against the two best fighters, who are...... Cam and Rube. To find out how this final showdown ends, find out who is triumphant, and find out who is the loser, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Figthing Ruben Wolfe, Sept. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Paperback)
Have you ever read one of those books that you absolutly just couldn't put down? Well, if you have or if you haven't, this is one of them. It tells the story of two brothers in a working class family in Auatralia. Cameron, quiet, sensative, but quirky and funny tells the story, although Ruben, tough, handsome, and driven, is just as much a part of the story as Cam. In the story Cam and Rube join an underground boxing league, partialy for their family and particaly for themselves. You'll be racing through the pages, especially during the fight scenes. Overall, this is an excellent book. It also has a sequal (Getting the Girl), which you should also check out. Something else that I've discovered is that this book is actually the second in a trilogy, although is precessor is only avaliable in Australia, along with Zusak's newest book, The Messenger (which is great by the way). If you really are a hard-core Zusak fan you can find these books on an Austrailan book dealer site, although you might have to search around a bit. Anyway, this really is a great read and it will be one of your favorites if you buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, Nov. 21 2002
By 
a student (Versailles, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Paperback)
The book "Fighting Ruben Wolfe," by Markus Zusac was probably the best book I have ever read. Th librarian at our school recomended it to me, and at first I thought that I would feel like quiting after the first chapter, but the book kept me in suspense from page one. Some reasons why I like this book was because of all of the action in it, and how it kept me interested. It also didn't have a lot of complicated vocabulary that I couldn't understand. If you liked the book "The Contender" I would highly recomend this book.
The book is mainly about two 13-year-old boys named Ruben and Cameron Wolfe who are twin brothers that have a very poor family that is struggling to pay bills and eat. But then one day a guy by the name of Perry who owns a boxing arena saw them fighting in their back yard each with one glove. Then Perry pursuades them to become boxers. Cameron struggles a lot in his matches, while Ruben goes undefeated with all TKO's. Cameron eventually gets jealous of Ruben, because Ruben is not only getting more attention in the arena and at school, but a girl named Stephenie, who Cameron likes, now wants to go out with Ruben. Will the brothers eventually solve their problems at home and in life in the end? I would recomend this book to anyone who wants a book that is interesting and fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fightin wolfe, June 5 2002
By 
justin (frankenemipevdsg) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Paperback)
The story takes place in a poor suburb in Australia where a family of six people lives. Their dad had recently hurt his back and got laid off from his job. The family needs money to buy food but their dad can't get a job so Cameron and Ruben take matters in to their own hands. At school a guy called Ruben's sister a whore so he beat the guy up. The next day a man named Perry who runs an underground boxing scam, heard about Ruben's fighting asked him and his brother to fight for him. They both agree to do it but they don't know what kind of trouble they got themselves into. Through the next few months they dodge trouble in and out of the ring but will they survive through the final round of the tournament? Or will the Ruben brothers have to fight each other, and will the Ruben family get through the money problems? This book was an exciting action packed book. Every time I picked it up I just wanted to turn the page and read on to see what happens next. The book teaches the reader a lot about family and looking out for on another, and taking care of each other. It also taught me to be thankful for what I have and to not take things for granted because there are people out there who don't have much and struggle everyday to stay alive and people who live in bad neighbor hoods who have do what ever they can for money to pay bills or rent. Overall this book was excellent and it taught a good lesson so I recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Heart, Oct. 9 2001
By 
Crazy James (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Hardcover)
Brothers and boxing. Markus Zusak comes up with a set of characters and a plot that will knock the Hardy Boys right out of the ring.
Cameron and Ruben Wolfe are brothers from a working class family in Australia who are aiming to find significance in their lives by fighting in an organized boxing racket. During the course of the book they not only receive bruises and bucks, they both learn the value of being a fighter and more importantly of what it means to be a family. This book is heartwarming and well paced with well sketched out characters....
Crazy James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, gritty story marks outstanding debut, May 25 2001
By 
K. T. Horning "J5 Collector" (Madison, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Hardcover)
This is the best young adult novel I've read in a long time. Teens who like action/sports novels will find it a satisfying read, but there's also much more depth than you typically find in books about adolescent boys. Zusak gets right to the heart and soul of his characters, developing a complex yet ultimately loving relationship between two tough brothers -- both of whom are the type of kids most adults would look down on. Most amazingly, the story is told almost completely through ordinary dialogue with the first-person voice interjecting amusing self-effacing observations. An absolute treat from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, Feb. 13 2001
By 
Rebecca A Beane (Shorewood, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Ruben Wolfe (Hardcover)
You ever get the feeling when you are reading poetry that every word is exactly right? Well, that's the feeling I got reading this book. This is exactly what language can be- gritty and beautiful. If we're lucky, we'll see more from this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting Ruben Wolfe
Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak (Paperback - March 26 2013)
CDN$ 10.95
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews