Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to know how technology relates to racing cars
When first started my search looking for resources that better talk about "the inside story" of why F1 cars are constantly faster and more maneuverable, I found this title. Personally never thought it would give me more than I already knew on this issue, but this material gets you truly into what you ever wanted to know, giving you something extra. It tells you about...
Published on Aug. 4 2000 by Alfredo Manrique

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Technology of the F1 Car is amazing.....
But it is hard to keep up with it in books. My first indication that this book wasn't going to be great was the picture of West McLaren's car on the cover. Much of the information presented is worth the read - even more so if you have some mechanical or engineering background - as well as some knowledge of technology itself (for example, I believe that McLaren? is...
Published on May 20 2002 by Rww


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Technology of the F1 Car is amazing....., May 20 2002
By 
Rww (Lakeside, MT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
But it is hard to keep up with it in books. My first indication that this book wasn't going to be great was the picture of West McLaren's car on the cover. Much of the information presented is worth the read - even more so if you have some mechanical or engineering background - as well as some knowledge of technology itself (for example, I believe that McLaren? is moving to an OS written by Sun Microsystems)- but it is not a prerequisite as Nigel McKnight has written the book in a manner that should be understandable for all to enjoy. Before I read this book, I would read a book on suspension systems and traction control, chassis, and whatever you can find on engines - I say this because these are some of the components of the car controlled by technology and computers. Not only is keeping up with technology difficult - but most of what the teams do is proprietary and very, very, guarded secrets. All in all, I tip my "Williams" hat to Nigel McKnight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very readable background tech book, April 4 2002
By 
Tina Morris "schultheiss" (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
Although I love F1 racing and cars in general, I do have my issues with tech books, because most of them are simply unreadable. Nigel McKnight does a very good job, though. This is a superbly readable guide through the heart of F1 technology and while this sport technologically evolves so incredibly fast that it is hard to publish on it in a book format, this book gives you a solid background, even though the technology discussed in it is now outdated by about 4 years. F1 technology is a lot about design and engineering concepts that are evolving with the ever-changing rule-environment and challenges created by the sport's governing body, the FIA, and this book gets you into these concepts and the minds of the best designers in the sport.
I hope an updated version of this book will be available soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A rehash of Modern Formula 1 Race Car, Feb. 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
By Modern Formula 1 race car it covers the area alot better
Joe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars F1 Technology, Jan. 3 2002
By 
Brian Zimmer (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
Interesting book. Not quite up to the usual Autocourse standards. Biggest problem is that the technology race is so fast in F1 that the book was out of date as soon as it was published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, Aug. 14 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
Not an eye - opening book, but had lots of information packed into a small book. Would recomend it for someone who wants to learn more about the sport. I would have liked more information about the workings of F1 engines and transmissions, but the other sections packed in a lot of informaton some of which I had no idea about (like the crash testing that is preformed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to know how technology relates to racing cars, Aug. 4 2000
By 
Alfredo Manrique (Cd. Madero, Tamps. Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
When first started my search looking for resources that better talk about "the inside story" of why F1 cars are constantly faster and more maneuverable, I found this title. Personally never thought it would give me more than I already knew on this issue, but this material gets you truly into what you ever wanted to know, giving you something extra. It tells you about many of the key elements to establish a competitive F1 car, in a very understandable manner, starting with the chassis conception and construction through the cockpit environment. Also taking care of the aerodynamics, engines, brakes, transmissions, suspension, wheels and tires, giving you also a great idea of which and why every chassis must take crash testing too, as an increasingly important issue for the FIA. However, it doesn't comply with the latest technology, because it reviews 97 & 98 seasons with its technology elements, but pretty much gives you the picture. I found great value added items, the many pictures used are all in great color and related to the topic of the section, the great quality on the printed materials, and the text was very good linked within itself. If you're looking for a bibliography about open wheel racing technology, and not so complicated, you should consider this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of 1998 F1 technology., Feb. 17 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Formula 1 Technology (Paperback)
Excellent informative color photos throughout. First chapter on chassis engineering highly enlightening. Provides insight into forces behind continuing car design advancements and rules changes. Very easy reading. Prefer greater engineering aspects yet the book is still informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1247c24)

This product

Formula 1 Technology
Formula 1 Technology by Nigel McKnight (Paperback - April 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews