Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute must
The ultimate reference for snorkeling and diving the Caribbean. Weights an absolute ton but allowed us to name everything (contrary to some of the others diver's guide books!) It is well organized in sections that regroup fishes with similar features or behavior (bottom dwellers vs swimmers, odd shaped vs oval, lips, color etc) so it is very easy to narrow down ID. The...
Published on Aug. 27 2010 by Stéphanie

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR MARINE AQUARIUM HOBBYIST
As a marine aquarium hobbyist I was disappointed with this set of books. It doesn't tell you much on the behaviour and characteristic of the fishes, invertebrates and corals. The most disappointed and surprised was the book on reef fish, such a thick book but only a few species were introduce.
Published on Feb. 5 2003 by VINCENT TAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute must, Aug. 27 2010
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
The ultimate reference for snorkeling and diving the Caribbean. Weights an absolute ton but allowed us to name everything (contrary to some of the others diver's guide books!) It is well organized in sections that regroup fishes with similar features or behavior (bottom dwellers vs swimmers, odd shaped vs oval, lips, color etc) so it is very easy to narrow down ID. The schematic drawings that points out specific distinguishing features to look for are great, if you cannot come to a positive identification from memory, at least you know what to look for on your next dive! All the information you want is there : expected depth, size, behavior, reaction to divers as well as description and pictures of juveniles. Coral and Creature books offer the same perfect balance between easy use and rigorous information. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reef Set, Feb. 5 2010
By 
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
This set of books has already proven invaluable in identifying the fish I photographed on my first efforts with underwater photography. The layoout is very logical, progressing from the shape of fish to identifying features for the family and then details of different species and stages of growth. The pictures in the book are also helpful as well as colourful. I also used the coral and reef creatures volumes, although not as much and they were as much a joy and eddification as the reef fish volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Divers, April 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
Every dive shop in Caribbean has this reference set . Great pictures and descriptions . Takes the guess work out of identifying things in your own pictures . Love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Feb. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
I dive the caribbean a couple of times a year and have been looking for a comprehensive fish and creature identification book. This series goes way beyond my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for marine life, Jan. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
I purchased this box set before a dive trip to Barbados. After each dive, I would compare the pictures I took of the fish, coral and 'creatures' to the pictures and descriptions in the book. The information was clear, the descriptions were accurate and the pictures were beautiful. Great value for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin!, Oct. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
I'm sorry that Vincent in Singapore didn't find these books useful, but they don't pretend to be books for those wanting to keep fish in small tanks - they are terrific field identification guides (as per the titles), with excellent photos and details of colour variations, locations, etc. Beautifully presented, and very comprehensive. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best set available, April 21 2002
By 
Harold McFarland (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
If there is one set of reef identification books to own then this one is it. A set of three of the best books available, it contains Reef Fish Identification, Reef Creature Identification and Reef Coral Identification. Throughout the Florida, Caribbean and Bahamas areas there are no better books available. Each fish, creature, coral, grass or algae has it's own full color picture along with a line drawing that points out the defining characteristics of that particular species. With a plastic cover and the pages treated to resist water, it can be taken to the beach or onto the boat without much concern about the water damaging the book.
Each entry has complete information on the fish, creature or coral from size, depth, range and habitat to the level of concern that a diver should have for their safety around it. If you snorkel, dive or just have an interest in identification of the various things that you find on a reef then this set will give you everything you need to identify anything you find. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Reef Set, Feb. 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas (Hardcover)
We have used the Reef Identification series for years and this new update is a great addition -- many more fish are identified. The writeups about each fish are very detailed and explain behaviours and various color shadings well. The photos are excellent, and we have always been impressed by the amount of work and care that have gone into the series. This is the first time we have had the Reef Coral book and are as pleased with it as with the quality of the other two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You must have this book!, Dec 9 2001
By 
J. Christensen (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you need information on Carribean Reef Creatures/Fish/Coral, this is the only book you need.
As an underwater photographer, I am constantly using my set to identify fish and corals. There is no other set of books like this. Now, Paul, when are you doing a Pacific Set????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly complete; a diver's encyclopedia., June 11 1999
By 
cmfmd@aol.com (Salisbury, N.C. USA) - See all my reviews
We met the trilogy in Little Cayman this year. We could identify everything we saw: coral, fish and creatures. It was our #1 priority for our next dive trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas
The Reef Set: Florida Caribbean Bahamas by Ned DeLoach (Hardcover - Oct. 1 2002)
CDN$ 139.52 CDN$ 79.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews