Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (281)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short yet powerful
THE FOUR AGREEMENTS (see also Section 11) by don Miguel
Ruiz is a short yet powerful book that contains useful advice
about how to recognize self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and
create needless suffering . . . based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the
agreements seem to be so basic to apply--but in reality they
are much more difficult to...
Published on Jan. 30 2004 by Blaine Greenfield

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give me a break!
As usual, I used the Amazon customer reviews to help me decide whether to buy this book.
This is the first time that I found those reviews to be sooooo far off target!
This book is such a disappointment. OK, there are 4 interesting & true messages - read the table of contents and save your money. You won't get much more out of buying the book and reading all...
Published on July 6 2003 by omigod


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short yet powerful, Jan. 30 2004
By 
Blaine Greenfield "eclectic reader" (Belle Meade, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
THE FOUR AGREEMENTS (see also Section 11) by don Miguel
Ruiz is a short yet powerful book that contains useful advice
about how to recognize self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and
create needless suffering . . . based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the
agreements seem to be so basic to apply--but in reality they
are much more difficult to implement.
Nevertheless, I still find myself thinking about them and how
to relate what they say to my daily life . . . should you want
to join me in the task, consider how you can:
BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the
word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power
of your word in the direction of truth and love.
DON'T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a
projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are
immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won't be the
victim of endless suffering.
DON'T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really
want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid
misunderstandings, sadness and drama. With just this one
agreement, you can completely transform your life.
ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST
Your best is going to change from moment to moment, it will be different
when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance,
simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse
and regret.
Also, I very much liked this one other passage:
Making assumptions in our relationships is really asking for problems.
Often we make the assumption that our partners know what we
think and that we don't have to say what we want. We assume they
are going to do what we want, because they know us so well. If
they don't do what we assume they should do, we feel so hurt and
say, "You should have known."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas..remedial delivery..., July 9 2004
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book, but it was very repetitive and a little simplistic. Lots nifty ideas with a few interesting metaphors and insights... The book doesn't provide many revelations (if any). It mostly serves to re-enforce what we already know is right and true. We've all heard a million versions of the ideas delivered in this book. Stuff like:
"Say what you mean. Mean what you say"
"Assuming makes an ASS out of U and ME"
You get the idea... Read this book as a reminder. Read it to gain an alternate perspective. I would recommend it to anyone who is on a path to self-discovery. Remedial or not, the toltec perspective referenced in this book is a valuable one...
One thing I've noticed about most of the negative reviews. They all seem a little bit angry. Perhaps too angry to be receptive to a book with such a positive spin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give me a break!, July 6 2003
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
As usual, I used the Amazon customer reviews to help me decide whether to buy this book.
This is the first time that I found those reviews to be sooooo far off target!
This book is such a disappointment. OK, there are 4 interesting & true messages - read the table of contents and save your money. You won't get much more out of buying the book and reading all of the author's bla bla bla.
The prose really made me think that the author had just sat down and wrote the book in one sitting; or maybe just spoke it into his dictaphone in one day and had his secretary type it up.
There is nothing new or earth-shattering here. I would certainly not dare to call it a "self help" book.
Save your money & buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, enlightening, and inspires a truly wonderful way of living., Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this book and the words within it. I read it over and over again. I strive to live by the four agreements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, April 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
Regardless of who you are, this is an beautiful and amazing book that everyone should take the time to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Basic Text on spiritual development foundation work, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
It's the way it's written - accessible
It's the contents - simple and challenging
(all simple things are not easy!)
It's the right intention - as it comes through with spirit, energy, intelligence and wit.
Great book for a new comer to spiritual development, great book for a seasoned metaphysician as it's challenging work to clear our blockages, and purify our hearts and minds.

Arrived on time for a trip to Brazil where the book was mandatory reading. Read it on the 39 hours flight/waits/all nightlong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, Jan. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
I think I have bought at least six copies of this book to give to my children and grandchildren. A day rarely goes by that I don't think about something I read in it and say to myself, "If I had just remembered this agreement, (for instance, 'Don't assume anything,')
I would not be in this predicament! This book contains all I need to stay out of trouble and live a good life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beginner's book, Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
If you've done any reading on the new age power of abundance, don't waste your money. The whole book could be summed up in 4 clearly understood sentences. You could probably get the jist of the whole book by reading reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
this small book will be a lifelong go-to book; simple yet powerful lessons which make huge difference to your relationships with others as well as bringing personal peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful words, Jan. 1 2014
By 
Kim - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (Paperback)
The Four Agreements is a lesson in life. I love the wisdom and anyone would be able to comprehend what the messages are. I am actually reading it to see if my grandniece would be able to understand it. She is 11 and I am going to read it with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5227cfc)

This product

The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom
The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom by Don Miguel Ruiz (Paperback - Nov. 1 1997)
CDN$ 16.95 CDN$ 12.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews