Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the Love You're Giving What Your Child Is Receiving?
Chapman, with co-writer Ross Campbell, M.D., have written The Five Love Languages Of Children, which applies the love language theory to children. How can you tell your child's main love language? Chapman offers these suggestions:
1. Observe how your child expresses love to you.
Chapman and Campbell: Watch your child; he may well be speaking his own language...
Published on Oct. 7 2003 by Janet Boyer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good child-rearing material
After his wonderful book,The Five Love Languages Dr. Chapman wrote this book with children in mind. With this book parents can learn how to express to their children how much they love them in a way that the children will understand. Overall, it is a pretty good book, an easy read, and with some good lessons.
Published on Aug. 16 2000 by A. J. Valasek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good concepts..., July 7 2001
By 
Kim "Truth Seeker" (Alpharetta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Overall good book. Repetitive style somewhat difficult to get through in spots. The "love language" concepts and how to apply them make sense and plenty of examples are given; unfortunately, the examples don't always translate well from one "language" to another. I also didn't like the "Anger and Love" chapter: the "Anger Ladder" was as clear as mud and seemed to be simply a pitch for the co-author's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent review for the audio version of this book, Aug. 5 1999
By A Customer
Listening to the audio version of this excellent book is a great use of your time while driving to work. The five love languages concepts and how to apply them in raising and loving your children and even improving your marriage are eye-opening and thought-provoking. I believe I will listen to this tape again and again over the years as I raise my young daughter. I highly recommend the audio version for all young, busy families!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good child-rearing material, Aug. 16 2000
By 
A. J. Valasek (Clemmons, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After his wonderful book,The Five Love Languages Dr. Chapman wrote this book with children in mind. With this book parents can learn how to express to their children how much they love them in a way that the children will understand. Overall, it is a pretty good book, an easy read, and with some good lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very insightfull, Jan. 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Five Love Languages Of Children Audio Cassette, The (Audio Cassette)
Excellent book and opens your eyes not only to what you can do for your childeren, but what your parents did/didn't do for you. Very simple ideas and easy to read. A book to go back to many times over the course of your child's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pair with the children's book "A Perfect Pet for Peyton" also by Chapman, March 16 2014
By 
Laura Z (Kelowna, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Many good books have adaptations for different audiences/circumstances. This adaptation about children is a must read. I know extrapolating ideas from the original piece works but you would miss the examples in this this book that are about children specifically rather than romance. How you relate with your children affects how they relate to you and others. If your child is going through rough changes, this book can help. Audible.com (an amazon company for audio books) at the time of this review is also selling the audio book for under $4 CAD. Many reviews detail the content, so I'm not going to waste time covering it but I do have a companion suggestion:

"A Perfect Pet for Peyton" is Chapman's children's book that uses examples how different animals relate to children demonstrate the love languages to children. Each child's love language is related to their multiple loving actions and how their perfect pet expresses love. The examples include a helping border collie dog for acts of service, a giving monkey for gifts, a cuddly bunny for touch, a cat that loves following and spending time with people for quality time, and a sweet parrot for words of affirmation. Why each pet is paired with that child is explained in a way for kids to grasp the concept. This book not only was enjoyable time spent with my kids, it ended up giving me a strong visual of the 5 love languages. My children (3.5 and 5 years old) loved it and enjoyed discussing it as we read. They also liked the mini activities on each page (simple seek and finds). I have read this book off of my iphone, ipad and computer (the only issue was the insects were to small to find on the iphone).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true asset for parents with children., Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Understanding and opening a deeper understanding of how to incorporate the five love languages. And opening understanding of how things can be misinterpreted or the message we desire to express to our children and by understanding their major way of receiving that love create a deeper lasting bond accomplishing what parents desired all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 5 Love Languages of Children, Oct. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this book for my daughter as she has two very active boys who give her a run for her money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Outlook on how Children "feel" loved, Oct. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow, I have a newfound outlook and respect on how love is felt by each individual child. And it is so individual it's unbelievable! Worked wonders for my 2 year old (she's even a bit young but I still find their advice to work). If she is cranky, I usually reflect on how the day has gone and more often than not I can track it to the fact that she didn't have enough of her love language that day. Then, I can work on fixing it so that we have a better rest of the day/evening. Will read again and again as she grows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all parents!, March 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book helped me gain so much understanding into my children and how they need and want to be loved. I understand their behaviour so much more now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Sept. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very informative it will help build stronger relationships and guide a person how to better communicate with others. A wonderful book to share with all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Love Languages Of Children Audio Cassette, The
Five Love Languages Of Children Audio Cassette, The by Gary Chapman (Audio Cassette - Aug. 1997)
CDN$ 17.25 CDN$ 13.80
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews