Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leopard Gecko Manual
This is a very informative book and should be required reading prior to purchasing a gecko. The authors have covered topics on: selecton, housing, feeding, breeding & raising geckos,and problems and diseases that an owner may encounter. The gecko photographs in this book are excellent. If you only read one book on this subject this would be your best overall choice.
Published on Aug. 12 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars needed better genetic information
Very little to be learned about how leopard gecko genetics work and the different morphs available. It mentions some of the basics but leaves out information about the genes being recessive, co dom, or dominant. Very few morphs were mentioned, just basic one gene mutations. There was a lot of good info in the book tho and would recommend it strongly for people who need...
Published 11 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Leopard Gecko Manual, Aug. 12 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
This is a very informative book and should be required reading prior to purchasing a gecko. The authors have covered topics on: selecton, housing, feeding, breeding & raising geckos,and problems and diseases that an owner may encounter. The gecko photographs in this book are excellent. If you only read one book on this subject this would be your best overall choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential guide to owning Leopard Geckos., Nov. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
In terms of printed text on Leopard Geckos, this book sets the standard. The information is brief and comprehensive. It's a must own for Leo keepers. I spend a lot of my time giving advice to people about these guys and the first thing I always tell new owners is: Get the Leopard Gecko Manual, read it cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a must have!, Aug. 4 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
i've seen books on leopard geckos but this one takes the cake! this not only has up to date information and is from one of the top and most well known reptile authors, but also has parts that the other books just don't have. it has many colour photos of some of the most popular colour mutations of not only leopard geckos, but of one of its cousins, also a popular pet, the african fat-tailed gecko. this book also includes some studies done on the leopard gecko and some short introductions to some of its other close relatives fron around the world. if you have leopard geckos, have had them for years, or are planning on getting some, this is a must have! it is worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for gecko lovers everywhere (even Watford !), Nov. 30 1999
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
As a self-taught gecko-keeper, over the past years I have a number of times wished I had had to hand a book such as this for all my different species of charges. While it is both interesting and informative on the background and origin of these creatures, more importantly it is remarkably focussed on the must-knows of keeping leopard geckos safely and healthily and deals with essentials from diet to breeding. The author should be commended for his close attention to detail. I truly believe that ownership of this book shall increase the chance of more of these beautiful creatures living to full term in captivity rather than dying suddenly and without explanation in the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Leopard Gecko Manual is right on target!, Aug. 21 2000
By 
Alexandra Mironov (South San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
This is a wonderful and informative book for both the Leopard Gecko beginner and expert breeder. It covers the basics of Leopard and Fat Tailed Gecko care, terrarium setup, health, feeding, and breeding. It has glorious pictures of Leopard and Fat Tailed Geckos, plus some other species as well. In addition this book has an expanded section on breeding, the effects of incubation temperature on the sex ratio of the hatchlings as well as the effects of incubation temperature on the coloration of your Geckos. If you're going to buy one book on the care of Leopard and Fat Tailed Geckos, this one is by far my favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need Guide To Taking Care of These Awesome Pets, Aug. 9 2001
By 
Stuart Levine (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
This Book is all you need to owning and maintaining a Leopard Gecko or a African Fat-Tailed Gecko. It Explains everything from obtaining a Leopard Gecko, the setup of the cage, feeding, breeding, and even Many explanations of some problems (AKA diseases and parasites) and how to solve them. This is a Great Book to read if you are at all interested in owning one of these beautiful creatures as well as a Great book to have around as a reference. My Two new Hatchling Leos can rest assured they will get the love and care they need now that I own this book :) In Other words, no other book compares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need Guide To Taking Care of These Awesome Pets, Aug. 9 2001
By 
Stuart Levine (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
This Book is all you need to owning and maintaining a Leopard Gecko or a African Fat-Tailed Gecko. It Explains everything from obtaining a Leopard Gecko, the setup of the cage, feeding, breeding, and even Many explanations of some problems (AKA diseases and parasites) and how to solve them. This is a Great Book to read if you are at all interested in owning one of these beautiful creatures as well as a Great book to have around as a reference. My Two new Hatchling Leos can rest assured they will get the love and care they need now that I own this book :) In Other words, no other book compares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Book, July 2 2003
By 
Bernie & Loretta Stolarz (Creswell, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
this is a great book it tells you allot about leopard geckos I could have done without the part about the african fat tail gecko but it is a good read buy now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leopard Geckos, Nov. 16 2000
This review is from: Leopard Gecko Manual (Paperback)
I am a beginner to the leopard gecko scene. So of course I needed some info on the creature before I bought one. This book was very informative and I learned a lot. But I believe too much of it was devoted to breeding. Which is cool but that was not what i was looking for. There needed to be more basic iformation. But it definitaly answered almost all my questions and then some. I would recomend it to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars needed better genetic information, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very little to be learned about how leopard gecko genetics work and the different morphs available. It mentions some of the basics but leaves out information about the genes being recessive, co dom, or dominant. Very few morphs were mentioned, just basic one gene mutations. There was a lot of good info in the book tho and would recommend it strongly for people who need to learn how to properly take care of this animals and also people who want to know how to breed. Actually the book has lots of info and the writers are great I was just expecting more genetic info especially with Ron Tremper being one of the writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leopard Gecko Manual
Leopard Gecko Manual by Philippe De Vosjoli (Paperback - Aug. 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews