Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reference for corn snake keepers, Aug. 29 2001
By 
Jonathan Crowe (Shawville, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
This is the best and most comprehensive care guide for corn snakes on the shelves, from a couple who breed them by the thousand each year. Each section covers its subject thoroughly and with authority: a lengthy treatise on brumation; a thoughtful couple of pages on stress; even a serious investigation of commercial snake sausages (ick!) under feeding. That thoroughness also carries over to the lavishly illustrated section covering color and pattern morphs: we not only get a picture and a brief description, but also the history of how that given morph came about (and by whom). So we discover, for example, that a pewter corn is a combination of bloodred and charcoal (anerythristic B), that butter is an amelanistic caramel, that a milk snake phase is a selectively bred Miami phase, and so on. With so much useful and interesting information in this book, every hobbyist with corn snakes simply has to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for corn owners, May 13 2004
By 
"midorikatt" (Roanoke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
I recently bought my first pet Corn, and picked this guide up as a reference for my new baby snake. This book is considered the bible of corn snake ownership, and for good reason. It's massively thorough, covering every topic a new snake owner needs to know about, as well as some other interesting stuff. I particularly enjoyed the section on genetics and the history of the different morphs.
My only nitpick is that the authors state a lot of their personal opinions about the value of different colors and patterns as if they're universal--they actually call dark colors "ugly" at one point, whereas I find them the most appealing. It would be better if they could remain objective, and simply present the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Handy to Have Around!, Jan. 23 2004
By 
Rachel (Bored in Bend) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
I Bought this book the day I got my corn snake, Sayuri. It has been very handy to have around:) Most of the information can be found online for free, but it's very convenient to have all in one place at a moments notice. When I got my snakes (I also have a milk snake) they were living with no heat or light source in their own filth, and scummy nyquil caps used for "water bowls." I figured that even though I'm a beginner, I couldn't do any worse. My snakes now have CLEAN cages, CLEAN water dishes large enough for them to soak in, proper lighting and under cage heat sources, fresh clean substrate, and they are very active and (I assume) happy ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!, April 24 2002
By 
Steve Kovalick (Barnesville, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
Wow, I was really impressed with the way this book tells you how to care for your Corn snakes. It has everything covered, this is the book to get if your going to own a Corn snake. It tells you everything from what to put your snake in to what kind of parasites your snake could get.This book even tells you how to know when your snakes are getting ready to breed! There are a few really good books out there for Corn snakes but this one is my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good information, Jan. 4 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
Without a doubt, this is the best corn snake book available. It's loaded with useful infomation regarding the care and breeding of these beautiful snakes. I highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of getting one or more of these snakes. The authors' write straight to the point and tell the reader everything they need to know without getting overly technical. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be titled The Corn Snake Bible, Dec 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
The best of books written by the professionals for anybody. Any experienced keeper will value this, but even the newcomer should get this book. With every possible piece of info. you could know about a cornsnake, there isn't a topic that isn't covered. If you have a cornsake, then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Corn Snake Manual, March 24 2000
By 
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
This one of the best books on corn snakes I have read. It covers anything anyone interested would need from history to selection to breeding. The color pictures are great.
This book is a must for anyone interested in keeping, breeding or just learning about Corn Snakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Book, Jan. 13 2002
By 
sarah lackey (cameron park, california United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corn Snake Manual (Paperback)
Well written book on the care of cornsnakes. Everything you wanted to know complete with a few great colored pictures. Although with a little searching you can find all the info they provided in the book on the internet it's still handy to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great info!, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book to have as a corn snake owner. Everything I need to know is in here. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of getting a corn snake?, July 21 2012
By 
Matthew West "progjam" (Atlantic Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are thinking of getting a corn snake, then you MUST read this book first! It contains ALL of the information that you need to care for a corn snake, including choosing a snake, getting the right terrarium, feeding it, and keeping it healthy. It is also a great guidebook to the species. There are lots of great photos of all of the variations in domestic corn snakes.

Corn snakes make an excellent first snake because they don't grow very big and they are fairly easy to keep alive and healthy.

Snakes aren't like mammals--they require a lot more care and consideration. This book will help you get the most out of your corn snake and ensure that you enjoy it for many years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corn Snake Manual
Corn Snake Manual by Bill Love (Paperback - March 1 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews