Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sock Book Out There...
...or at least in the top five! This book is an indispensable addition to any knitter's library. The socks included are beautiful, with the patterns inspired from places all over the world. It's a great book to use to expand your abilities--I'd especially recommend it for the intermediate knitter. There are several single-color socks with interesting patterns, along with...
Published on March 22 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been executed better
I was somewhat disappointed in this book. Some of the patterns are nice, but she uses yarns (dark colored and varigated) that don't show off the texture work very well. Hard to check whether you're doing the pattern correctly or not. I mean, if you're going to work a complicated pattern, you might want to be able to see it.
Also, there is a lot of blank space in the...
Published on Sept. 30 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sock Book Out There..., March 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
...or at least in the top five! This book is an indispensable addition to any knitter's library. The socks included are beautiful, with the patterns inspired from places all over the world. It's a great book to use to expand your abilities--I'd especially recommend it for the intermediate knitter. There are several single-color socks with interesting patterns, along with a few color patterns and one *great*-looking Christmas stocking. The directions are perfectly clear, and the introduction at the front is fabulous--several different cast-on methods, etc, and the instructions actually make sense! One of the best little extras, and one that's indicative of the book's quality, is the listing of good sock yarns that are interchangeable with the yarns used for the example socks. This book was written with expertise, a sense of humor, and joy, and it really comes out in the anecdotes and the patterns. I can't say enough about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars variety of patterns, never boring, clear instructions, Nov. 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
Nancy Bush has compiled sock patterns inspired by her various travelling experiences. The patterns are not based on one particular style, and this variety is pleasing. However (and this is no problem, simply an observation), Estonian traditional influence is very strong.
There are uni-coloured socks, two-coloured socks, striped socks, lace socks, cabled socks...Some are knit in worsted or DK weight, others in fingering. She specifies what yarn she used for the model socks but also gives generic weights and measurements. She also brings in some new knitting techniques like the Latvian twist and some decorative Estonian braids that I'd never heard of (but later discovered them in her previous book Folk Knitting in Estonia).
One of my complaints echoes that of another review: the photographs were often badly lit, and why make complex patterns in dark yarn that shows off the design very poorly? To remedy this deficiency, Interweave Press has put out some new photos (I think they're on the Interweave errata page) so you can get a better idea of how the finished socks look. I have also seen some of the multi-coloured socks done in different colourways, which are also very effective.
Sometimes the sock (like the Whidby and New England patterns) has a design on its instep, but it is only photographed from the side. This means that you will have to rely on the graphs to figure out how the finished sock will look in its entirety.
All in all, I like this book a lot. If nothing else, it's eye candy. I'm not sure if I'd recommend it to a truly beginning sock knitter but it will definitely inspire you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a Trip with Socks, Oct. 7 2003
By 
T. Dunlap "tweezle" (PA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
I borrowed this book from the library and fell in love with it! This is one I HAVE to add to my knitting library. The book is a nice hardbound with spiral binding inside to allow you to keep your book flat while using it. A very nice plus!
So where did the title come from? I had assumed that it was a book writing to be able to use while traveling, but not so. There are 17 patterns that were inspired while the author traveled from country to country - using patterns or techniques relative from that country.
At the beginning is a nice section on techniques and throughout are tips or addition illustrations for you to complete the featured sock. These socks are very classic looking and won't go out of style! A very nice book that will be used again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sock it to me, Nancy..., July 5 2001
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
Until this book arrived, I used to recommend Nancy Bush's "Folk Socks" as a must-have book to all aspiring sock knitters. Nancy Bush knows socks and writes excellent instructions for different kinds of heels, toes, fit, finish and folk design. Now, Nancy has written helpful knitting tips as well as some cute patterns in a ready-to-go book that is a real winner.
For those of you who don't knit socks, these can be an addiction. Socks are a small, portable knitting project with many interesting design tasks (heels, toes, cuffs) that lend themselves to much creativity. And you end up with warm, comfy, custom fit footwear. ALL my socks are hand-knit because they are so wonderful to wear.
There's even a sock knitter's mail list, where members exchange patterns and helpful information on techniques and materials.
So whether if you fall into the "sock besotted" category, or aspire to knit socks, you won't go wrong with this book. It's specifically designed to fit into most handbags along with a sock project, has helpful tips, and is written by one of the BEST sock authorities, Nancy Bush. DON'T MISS IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been executed better, Sept. 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
I was somewhat disappointed in this book. Some of the patterns are nice, but she uses yarns (dark colored and varigated) that don't show off the texture work very well. Hard to check whether you're doing the pattern correctly or not. I mean, if you're going to work a complicated pattern, you might want to be able to see it.
Also, there is a lot of blank space in the book, which means you are turning pages to get all of the instructions. The spiral binding is nice so that it will lie flat, but because of the hard spine, you can't fold it to just see one page, which would have been nice for a "travelling" book.
Overall, the book is okay, and I will probably use the patterns, but I am glad I didn't pay full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for on the go knitters, Feb. 7 2002
By 
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
One of the reasons I knit socks is their portability. This book is easy to use on the go and sturdy enough to stand up to travel. I was particularly impressed with the chart of yarns in the front of the book. I started with the first pair and although I changed the color scheme, I have gotten many complements on the socks. The one drawback I found was that it seemed to assume a certain size sock and only after I realized that was I able to get the correct size. I see a long journey for this book as I travel this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic instructions, unclear pictures, Jan. 24 2003
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
This book is so good that I went from scarves straight to socks on its instructions alone! Some of the socks shown in the pictures inside were done in yarns that make it hard to see the patterns though. Beautiful socks, great instructions on finding substitute yarns, even the tricky stitches are explained clearly. I would recommend it even if you've never done decreases/increases before. It's just that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars socks to pass down from generation to generation............, Dec 24 2001
By 
Betsy Blueberry (Douglas, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
Beautiful book full of socks from around the world. Different yarns-excellent directions. Great book to curl up with your yarn stash and start knitting. These projects will be passed down from generation to generation and everyone will marvel at them, truly a history lesson as well. Great book as all of hers are - thanks =:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sock-o-rama!!, Nov. 10 2001
This review is from: Knitting on the Road (Spiral-bound)
I love socks, I love knitting socks, this book helps to keep up
my obsession for handsewn socks!!!
Lovely patterns for beginning to experienced knitters and wonderful stories behind each socks' existence.
If you like to knit socks this is the book for you!
Happy Knitting,
Nanette of Fruitland, ID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting on the Road
Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush (Spiral-bound - June 1 2001)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews