Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGO Winner, beat out David Brin's "Earth"
The year that this book was nominated, I attended my first
WorldCon, in Chicago. As I would be voting for the Hugo Awards, I actually read all of the nominated novels. This was my favorite. Later, I spoke with another nominated author(who was sitting near David Brin at the Hugo Award Ceremony), told me that David Brin had already written his acceptance speech, and...
Published on April 2 1997

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not very thought provoting
A Hugo? I find it hard to believe.. This was no Ender's Game. I think my expectations were too high for this work.. It was the first Ive read from Lois McMaster Bujold.. Like others have said -- no problem jumping right into the book without prior knowledge or reading the others in the series.. It is typical of a lot of the science fiction television out there, just...
Published on Oct. 25 2001 by mrbelanger@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGO Winner, beat out David Brin's "Earth", April 2 1997
By A Customer
The year that this book was nominated, I attended my first
WorldCon, in Chicago. As I would be voting for the Hugo Awards, I actually read all of the nominated novels. This was my favorite. Later, I spoke with another nominated author(who was sitting near David Brin at the Hugo Award Ceremony), told me that David Brin had already written his acceptance speech, and was quite surprised when someone elso won...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strength of characters carries through a coincidental plot, Dec 8 2001
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
The Vor Game is the second book in the "Young Miles" collection, and it is the weaker of the two. It did manage to win the Hugo though, so it must have something going for it.
That something is the characters. Miles and the rest of them shine off the page. Miles gets into bad situation after bad situation, but his intelligence and quick thinking manage to get him out of it all the time. He starts out being assigned to a weather station in the arctic north of Barrayar. There, his independent streak rears its head again and moves him on to something else. More misadventures happen until Miles is going all over the sector of space dealing with crisis after crisis, each one usually being caused by his solution to the previous crisis.
What makes this the weaker book of the two is the huge number of coincidences that are required to move the plot forward. Miles gets lucky more than anything else, and some of the people he runs into he only does because the plot requires it. It's too bad, too, because I think the story would have been very strong even without all of them. When Miles meets one of the main villains, it strains credulity to the maximum. The person is somebody from Miles' past who happens to pop up again. It would have been different if this person would have been directly after Miles, because at least then the person would have a reason to show up. Unfortunately, that's not the case.
That being said, though, there is more great humour, more drama, and more space action to cover all of it the coincidences. It is a fun book to read, and it is a page-turner. You'll never be bored, and you'll never want to put it down. It's certainly worth a read, especially if you're going to be reading the whole series. It's not necessarily important to, though, as most of the books seem to be pretty self-contained (at least that's the idea I get).
If you can deal with the coincidences, then this is a great book to read. I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Miles survive? Will his commanding officers?, Aug. 23 2000
By 
Ivy (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
In The Vor Game, Miles has graduated from the Imperial Academy, and has been rewarded with a choice posting indeed. Well, okay, it's one of the worst postings on record. He wanted ship duty. He's been sent to Kyril Island, lovingly called Camp Permafrost, to predict the weather. From almost his first moments on the island, he's on a collision course with the commanding officer, which leads to a snowy showdown that Miles both wins and loses.
Back at home (well, at least his hometown), Miles is recruited into Imperial Security - the infamous ImpSec - and sent off on a mission involving Admiral Naismith. Unfortunately, things go wrong, and soon he's wrapped up in an Imperial problem, flying by the seat of his pants and breaking rules and orders with practiced elan. (Well, after all, this is a familiar position for him.)
The Vor Game is one of my favorite of the Vorkosigan series; it is, really, the last book of Miles' youth. It is an award-winner, and deservingly so; the characters continue to develop, which is quite the challenge in the fourth book of a series, and the plot is fun. Bujold writes SF with a light hand, and interjects a great deal of humor. It's rare to find an SF writer who knows how to make us laugh.
Read the Warrior's Apprentice, at minimum, before you read this - but read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars also found as the third tale in young miles, July 19 2000
*grin* i can't seem to stop praising Ms bujold because the vorkosigan series is truly one of the best series on earth!
the vor game is the second major tale in the miles vorkosigan series following the warrior's apprentice and the short story mountains of mourning.
again, we have a really funny miles novel. after graduating from the academy, he is sent to kyril island (cold hell on barrayar!) as a weatheman for the military base. again he gets into trouble (this is afterall, miles *grin*) and then we slip into the more substantial part of the book where he begins his impsec career and saves the day (and the emperor) with the dendarii. yes, miles is reunited with the dendarii in this book!
great book, wicked humour, smart plot, engaging chracters. do try the vorkosigan series if you have never before. start with shards of honour (about miles' parents) or jump right in with miles in the warrior's aprpentice or young miles(a collection encompassing the vor game). get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles is at it again, May 31 2000
This book won Bujold yet another Hugo award (She has the second most in history but yet few people have heard of her). As always Miles seems to be able to do the work of five people, but it takes him the work of ten to get into the military, his dream career on army mad Barrayar. His amazing wit, insight into the mind of his comrades and enemies (supplied by Bujold of course), and amazing intellect are as always seemingly eclipsed by his father's and grandfather's achievements. The characters may seem young and whiney to some but it actually shows them rather believably in my opinion. Gregor's world image was just subtly but still utterly shattered and forcibly rearranged. Miles has just had his resolve and self confidence weakened by problems on Kryil Island and with his superior officers throughout the service, his idea of his dream career in the military not quite working our right; but by the end he became the pushy self-confident force he becomes in the persona of Admiral Naismith. An all around great read, how can it be out of stock all ready?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superbly characterized story,a very different aristocrat, July 24 1997
By A Customer
Miles Vorkosigan was not yet born when the machinations of Barrayaran politics struck him down. In an attempt to destroy his father, then
Lord Regent, enemies spew deadly Soltoxin gas into
the Vorkosigan home. The only casualty is the unborn Miles, whose developing skeleton is permanetly deformed. In a world where past nuclear warfare has left its people with a horror of mutants, Miles must try to find a place for himself among the militaristic, power and status conscious Vor while handicapped by a tiny body and
brittle bones which break too easily.
But Miles refuses to be limited to what his frail body can accomplish. Instead, he applies his mind to achieving bloodless victories for him in the ordinary and extra-ordinary battles of life.
Lois McMaster Bujold has created in Miles Vorkosigan a character both gentle and fierce, with a wit and warmth and wiley perspicacity far beyond the norm. Miles Vorkosigan stories are a LOT like a certain kind of potato chip - I DARE you to read just one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read Me!, Aug. 3 2002
By 
A. Trotter (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This isn't the first book. Have you read the first book? If not, you should immediately drop everything and order it. Now. Immediately. Right away. Read the whole series.
Ok, ok. Here's the series:
Shards of Honor
Barayar
(these two books are also combined into "Cordelia's Honor")
The Warrior's Apprentice
Short Story: The Mountains of Mourning
(all short stories are contained in "Borders of Infinity")
The Vor Game
Cetaganda
Ethan of Athos
Short Story: Labyrinth
Short Story: The Borders of Infinity
Brothers in Arms
The Borders of Infinity
Mirror Dance
Memory
Komarr
A Civil Campaign
Diplomatic Immunity
Now, go start this series at the begining and read it through to the end. No Excuses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Space Opera at its Best, March 4 2001
The Vor Game is a cliff-hanging adventure in the world of Miles Vorkosigan, one of the most intriguing scifi characters I have ever encountered. This is the first of Bujold's books I've read, but I still found the story easy to follow, with no prior knowlege of the plot. Expertly written, the impressive cast of characters' dialogue is witty, even hilairious at times. However, the Vor Game has a few setbacks. The politics of the story become confusing at times, and I found myself having to backtrack. The book also switches moods, going from light-hearted to serious in a matter of paragraphs, making the overall flow of the book a little choppy. But for any fan of non-serious science fiction, I highly recommend this action-packed adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles Graduates, Jan. 5 2000
By A Customer
Miles spent more energy getting into the military than any other ten people -- so he should get a lot out of it, right? Right. Miles's finds himself not on board a battleship, but assigned as weatherman in the Barrayar equivalent of Siberia -- not exactly the start of a brilliant military career. Trust Miles to make a bad situation worse, and trust Bujold to keep him hopping. This book has it all, action, pain, humor and Miles succeeding beyond anyone's wildest dreams. Bujold has managed to create a character who convinces me that he is indeed a genius as well as more human than most. Bravo. If you are new to the series, this is probably not the best book to begin with -- try Shards of Honor or The Warrior's Apprentice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can Miles survive being a weather officer?, June 28 1999
This story in the Miles Vorkosigan series takes place about three years after the events described in "The Warrior's Apprentice" (1986). The book won the 1991 Hugo Award for best science fiction novel of the year. {It has been only eight years since this novel won the Hugo Award. How could the publisher be out of stock??} Miles has just graduated from military college and gets his first assignment: as a meteorology officer stationed on an isolated weather station on Barrayar! After a few adventures, he has to regain control of his mercenary troops, save his emperor, and avert an invasion. This series is very popular with fans of space opera, with novels of space battles, and with tales of palace intrigues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vor Game
The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold (Audio Cassette - April 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 45.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews